We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best self catering apts ive stayed at yet A+”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Great apartments,big clean rooms.Cleaned daily.Free wifi.Restaurant not great so only ate here once.Staff excellant only real fault was that our rooms werent ready when we arrived and it was a good walk from beach/strip.There is a dirt track which brings you close to strip but not very buggy friendly.I will def be back.
Room tip:ask for 1st floor apt balconys are HUGE!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denash17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Lovely hotel with big clean rooms, free wifi, clean pool and pool area. The staff was very nice and helpful. Cannot fault it at all. And it was very very cheap as well, so definately good value for money.
Yes, there was football on at the near by pitch quite often, but it just added to the Portuguese charm.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
1  Thank mettedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have just got back from Plaza Real , I don't normally contribute reviews but was amazed how this holiday exceeded our expectations. We booked through low cost holidays and expected the accommodation to be fairly basic, however the quality and space was amazing. Our self catering apartment was a large 2 bedroom duplex, spread across the two upper floors of block D, this included four sets of patio doors to the front of the building with access to balconies with distant sea views.

We had excellent wifi included throughout the apartment, air conditioning and the kitchen was well equipped for cooking meals. The bathroom included both a shower and a bath, plus there was an additional wc in addition to the one in the bathroom, making it ideal for families with young children. What struck us was how quiet it was in the apartment, although families where staying I the neighbouring apartments we did not hear them at all.

The pools where both clean and uncrowded, and there was sufficient sun loungers, the main pool having a sectioned off shallow end, again great for children. We where self catering but opted for breakfast on a couple of days and an evening meal in the on site bar / restaurant, the limited menu and cafe style decor really hides that the food and service where excellent.

Both the apartment, and all round the complex was immaculately clean and the gardens well kept. Our only slight criticism, and this is being rather picky, is that the play equipment in the playground is a bit tired and the path round to it is rather uneven and easy to trip on the paving.

We had a hire car, the cost of hiring it was less than the cost of transfers! As a result we went all over the algarve and found the location to be a great base for getting around to other beaches, attractions and towns. The beaches in the resort are great and there are big supermarkets only a couple of minutes away in the car.

The site has fairly recently changed ownership to Atlantic Choice, a smaller local company that seem to be very keen to offer great service and value.

We are already planning to return, and intend to ask for the same apartment in the same block!

Would add that Zoo Marine makes for an excellent full day out, not cheap but lots included, also the west coast beaches beyond Sagres have loads of surf schools to have a go on the waves!

Room Tip: There are about 70 apartments in four blocks. Block D is the 2 bed duplex apartments and blocks A-C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BoltonPete_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The apartment was very big and well equipped - kitchen had all you could need. staff were helpful and the apartment was serviced every day with clean towels alternate days. The pool area well maintained and roomy. 10 mins walk to the beach and restaurants and 20 mins to the town area.The beach is great and a good variety of restaurants but equally there are 2 huge supermarkets 10 / 15 mins away along the main road. We hired a car from the airport so could explore the area and the parking at the appt was free and plentiful. Great for families and couples.

Room Tip: Ground floor great for families as they have big enclosed terraces. The block on the reception side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Have just returned today from a wonderful weeks stay in this fabulous aparthotel in praia da rocha and couldn't be happier. This place is just fabulous, extremely clean and spacious apartments, very well equipped. The people who work here could not be nicer from cleaners right up. Extremely friendly and helpful, nothing is a problem. I have to give a very special mention to Gaspro in the restaurant and of course the Chef who provided us with wonderful meals each night. There is a limited choice but the quality us first class. Breakfast is more of a continental affair but really all I needed was fruit, toast or pastries and tea and coffee, they also supplied ham, cheese and cereals. I would definitely return to these apartments in a heart beat.
It's approximately 20 mins walk from the beach but this is easily strolled, my mum whose 78 did it every day! One again a big
thank you to every one at the Plaza Real for making my holiday so memorable. Ps and no one put their towels on the loungers early in the morning, that's a first ever!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beverley a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Spent 1 week here and I have to say I can't fault it..really wanted a chill out holiday on a budget and we got that! ! We just went for self catering as we wanted an option on where to go..The beach is a short walk and lots of different ways to get there. .yes there is a short cut but wear trainers as there isn't really a path as such its the quickest way to the beach. We didn't use it at night got a taxi for €4. The apartment itself was huge so much space and I have to mention how lovely and helpful all the staff are here really went out of their way to help in any way they could and always made conversation! We ate here one day just lunch it was lovely..coffee is good too!! So if you are looking for a budget friendly clean spacious place. .book here!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Rukemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Went away for a 3 night break to just relax and unwind. The airport transfer was unorganised, waiting over an hour in the airport before we were shown to a taxi which my daughter and I had to share with another couple. The hotel was actually self catering apartments with a small restaurant to cater for half or full board guests. Therefore the apartment was spacious, clean and comfortable but the restaurant was a little basic with about 15 tables in total and a very limited menu choice. I stayed half board and the breakfast was continental serving a few cereals, fruit and toast/croissants. The evening meal consisted of soup of the day which was vegetable everyday, lettuce salad - just lettuce, tomato salad - just tomatoes or mixed salad - lettuce & tomato. Main meal was 1 meat choice and 1 fish dish. All served with chips and veg no choice. Dessert was cake or milk pudding. Despite the lack of choice the food served tasted wonderful and I never felt hungry. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the waiter Casper could not do enough for you. The hotel was a 5 min walk from the seafront but you had to cut through an alley. The hotel staff all said it was safe but my daughter and I felt very nervous at night as it was quiet and no lights. The seafront had a lovely promenade with lots of bars and restaurants full of entertainment and the beach was clean and beautiful. There was a large perfect hypermarket 15min walk from the hotel that had everything you need. Great getaway for the price I paid and would definitely be happy to go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Annette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
299 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,094 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
0.3 mi away
Smartline Club Amarilis
Smartline Club Amarilis
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flamingo Residence
Flamingo Residence
#14 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Real Atlantichotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Real Atlantichotels

Address: Rotunda do Vau | Sitio dos 3 Castelos, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-310, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range: £13 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Real Atlantichotels 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Real is a complex of 63 apartments, self-catering and equipped. The apartments are divided into three types: Studio, T1 and T2 in Duplex, some apartments have a generous balcony. (See the description of the apartments) The Plaza Real has an excellent pool for adults, a pool for children, a playground and a mini tennis court. This accommodation is about 10 minutes walk from the beach. The center of Portimao, Marina de Portimao and Praia da Rocha are 3 minutes. Portimao Railway Station is 3 km from the Plaza Real. This accommodation is recommended by the good price / quality ratio in Portimao. Great place to spend your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plaza Real Atlantichotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Plaza Real Praia Da Rocha
Plaza Real Atlantichotels Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing