We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location with friendly,helpful staff. We'll be going back next year!”
Review of Hotel Luar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Luar
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is our third visit to Hotel Luar in September time and we still love it! If you're looking for clean, comfortable accommodation then you've got it! This isn't five star luxury, but it's clean and in a brilliant location. A two minute walk and you're into the bustling centre of Praia Da Rocha, come out of the hotel gate, walk down the steps of the cliff and you're on the beach, which expands as far as the eye can see left and right!

The staff are helpful and friendly, the breakfast is a buffet style, very basic range of food but it works! Although this year the jams had been replaced with a nasty synthetic jam do we bought our own in the local supermarket, as did a few others I saw!!!!

There is a small fridge in the room, but no kettle so I would advise taking a travel kettle and some mugs if you like tea in your room!

For basic accommodation in a superb, quiet location, I could reccomend nothing better!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karend1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2012

The Hotel Luar looks like a 4 star hotel from the exterior and much of the interior (particularly the reception area) compliments that view. The pool area is lovely, yes the bar is expensive but with the beach on your doorstep and with an abundance of bars to cater for most tastes, it is an option as opposed to a necessity to use it. The rooms are large with TV, free air-con, fridge and clean comfortable beds.The furniture is dated but we didn't spend too much time looking at it tbh as we were out enjoying the amazing weather and fantastic resort
The beach can be reached via a steep decline of steps and although the incline maybe challenging for some, it is well worth the effort as the beautiful golden sandy beach with clear blue sea conjures a feeling of paradise and enabled us a welcome and complete relaxation. The resort caters for all tastes and the Luar is perfectly located to explore it. The location is 2 minutes from some lovely restaurants and quiet bars, a further 10 minute walk will take you the lively centre of the resort which is frequented by young locals with hard dance music booming loudly into the small hours, and a further 20 minute walk will take you to the Portimao Marina with it's relaxing peaceful charm complimented by a fantastic classy beach bar club which comes to life in the later hours.
This was our first trip to Portugal and we loved it. We will return and would look out for deals to the Luar.

Room Tip: Ask for a side sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leedmo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Firstly would highly recommend pre booking a side sea view you will not be disappointed the views are amazing. While I can agree slightly with some previous reviews that rooms are not modern they are large, the beds are very comfortable and everything works, including the air con, fridge, shower etc, nice balcony and great views. Staff are friendly and very helpful. The pool and garden area are absolutely lovely, everything clean and of a high standard. 2 small complaints, firstly the breakfast..not great, if they added a bit of fresh fruit or some drinkable fruit juice and either make the scrambled eggs hot or replace with boiled eggs would be a lot better. 2nd not nearly enough sun beds around the pool to go round also should maybe adopt the rule of no putting towels on them at 5 in the morning and only using them for an hour a day. Sort this out and I will return year after year, cannot recommend this hotel in this part of the Algarve enough. Suitable for couples, families and singles alike.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smacb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Good points.
Fantastic location in a great resort. Friendly hardworking staff. Lovely pool area and bar.

Bad points.
Only about sixty sunbeds around the pool so loads of people lying on the grass. Hotel was not anywhere near full so must be chaotic when it is. All the sunbeds were 'reserved' by 9 am.
Room ok but the fridge really is noisy. Resorted to turning it off overnight. Decent sized balcony but nothing to hang towels and swim wear on.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PPP74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Just back from a long stay at Hotel Luar. I chose to stay at Luar after reading numerous good reviews on trip advisor. I was not disappointed.

We were given a room on the main road side. Our room was large and bright, with a small fridge and wall mounted air con. There was also a small TV, but it was never switched on.. Who goes on holiday to watch TV? Despite comments about road noise, fridge noise etc we had no trouble sleeping from noise whatsoever. This was not a noisy room. Great service from the maids who cleaned the room daily and regularly refreshed bed lined and towels.

The decor was maybe a bit dated, but that really doesn't matter to me a bit. The hotel has a large reception and lobby area that leads to the bar, pool, downstairs games room and the breakfast room. Staff at reception spoke excellent English, were very polite and friendly and very helpful, helping to organise our boat trip to Silves. Great service from the staff.

Breakfast included cereal, bread that you could toast, croissants and brioche with the usual butter and jams etc, and there was bacon and eggs and a selection of ham, cheese and salami. Fruit juice, water, milk, tea and coffee also available. It was the same selection every day, but there is so much to choose from I didn't really get bored of it until the last couple of days. Some of the wonderful local fresh fruit would be a nice addition.

For me the best bit was the pool. We were down before 9am to reserve a lounger and parasol. The atmosphere was fun and relaxed. Overly boisterous behaviour and diving in the pool led to a polite word from the staff to keep things chilled. A lovely change from the busy and noisy beach, which I didn't find particulalry relaxing.

The hotel also has a good location. It is a couple of hundred metres away from the quieter end of the main drag so it is a lot more peaceful than central hotel and within easy walking distance of all the shops, restaurants and bars. There are steps down to the beach just outside the hotel also.

The only downside I could find was that the bed was not the most comfortable, but it didn't stop me getting a good sleep. If I was to go back to Praia da Rocha I'd definitely consider a return to Luar.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the pool side and higher up, you will be rewarded with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john-cash63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 10 days in August right in the middle of high season. I cannot understand gripes regarding the decor or style of the hotel...you get what you pay for at the end of the day!

The hotel is very clean and the staff are all very helpful with excellent english. Our towels and bed linen were changed regularly and the maid did a great job of cleaning our room. The hotel itself is very clean although I do agree it is a bit dated and perhaps a little basic. The pool is lovely and was again kept very clean and neat.

Our room was basic and the beds were a little hard. Our room was on the roadside but to be honest the road noise did not bother us that much. The air con was not the coldest but it was fine for us and we never found it too hot.

Breakfast was the same every day which did get a little old after a few days. However what was provided was decent (eggs/bacon/cheese/croissants/sweet breads etc). As the hotel was busy it was quite full at times but the kitchen staff did a great job of ensuring that there were quick turnarounds on the tables.

The hotel is located at the top (quiet) end of the strip. Just to the rear of the hotel is the beach which you can get to via some steps. You are only a short walk into town but away from the hustle and bustle.

We really enjoyed our stay and this hotel is an excellent venue for a budget holiday to this part of the world.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pimmscass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I came here for a few days with my sister. We stayed at this hotel for a short break at the beginning of August. About an hour from the airport, this hotel is well located and quite nice. The hotel reception is large with seating and a water feature and the staff are friendly. The hotel has a reasonable sized pool which has deep and shallow areas and a small children's pool. There are a fair amount of sunbeds, although we were downstairs with our towels at 8am before breakfast. If you miss a sunbed spot there is a large grassy area where you can put your towels and sunbathe instead. The breakfast is adequate: bread rolls, croissants and bread to toast, a coffee machine, some basic cereal, cheese and ham. Enough to start the day, nothing fancy. The rooms themselves are nice enough, cleaned every day and towels changed. The rooms do have a fridge - ours was right next to the bed and was really noisy. I can't sleep with noise, I boot my husband at the slightest hint of a snore, so it kept me awake on the first night, the rest I shoved cotton wool in my ears. We also had a room on the road side of the hotel, which is busy and noisy, and didn't help. I would request a room on the pool side of the hotel - without a fridge! We were only there a few days and didn't feel the need to request a room change. The hotel is well situated - literally at the other side of the pool wall there is a pathway and some steps that lead directly onto the stunning beach. There are sunbeds to hire and a number of beach bar/restaurants. One we went to for lunch sold fresh fish and cooked your selected fish to order. I went to praia da rocha around 8 years ago with my husband (then boyfriend) and went to the same restaurant each day for lunch. The hotel is also close to restaurants and bars, being on the end of the 'strip', but is quiet enough not to be affected by the noise. A restaurant you might like to try is 'Casa da Praia' which is one of the closest restaurants to the hotel. On the cliff top overlooking the beach, the restaurant has lovely little tables, not too close to each other, on the veranda. The food is nice, the staff are friendly, the atmosphere is pleasant, but best of all is the view. Fab just to sit there and have a drink and some pizza at lunchtime, or a nice glass of wine in the evening. When we were there, they had a lunchtime deal on - 3 courses for 7.80 euros. I chose soup to start (which my sister had as her main as she doesn't like to eat much during sunshine sunbathing hours) seabass for main and we shared the chocolate cake for desert. What a bargain, and it was lovely. Served with a basket of bread. All in all we enjoyed this holiday. It wasn't a wild party resort, but nice enough for a chilled sunshine break with some nice food and lots of sun. Big groups of English tourists you will not find here, but if you're after a break from that, then this could be the place :)

Room Tip: Nice for a chilled out break, for a more lively break - go to Albufeira!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigBeatle88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,065 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,083 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Tur...
#10 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luar

Address: Avenida V3 St Tres Castelos, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-801, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Price Range: £37 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luar 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Luar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luar Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Hotel Luar Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing