We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tiz wot it tiz”
Review of Hotel Luar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Luar
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“tiz wot it tiz”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Just come back from a few nights at the Luar
It's a good three star hotel..it was very quiet of course in Feb and the weather was not good..but better than the UK!
The heater in the room made it comfortable!
Location is fab..sea view from the rooms overlooking the beach was fab
Breakfast was ok for a few days..but the same everyday which could get quite boring if you had 2 weeks there..no fresh juice and no fresh fruit as mentioned by many..and the coffee from the machine is pants!
Hotel and room very clean and all the staff are friendly and helpful..would imagine the sound proofing between the rooms and the floors would not be up to much if the hotel was busy
It is what it is...a good 3 star Hotel..you pay for what you get..and it is good value

Room Tip: Obviously a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigeron2wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    158
    102
    24
    8
See reviews for
80
180
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 11 nights and June and had an enjoyable stay. As others have mentioned you do get what you pay for, but for a cheap holiday in the sun it is ideal.

Staff were friendly and attentive and I was even able to check in straight away, even though I arrived a few hours early.

The hotel is at the end of the resort with fantastic sea views and its just a few steps away from the beach and the start of the main strip.

The room was basic and was in definite need of an update, and the bathroom could have been a bit cleaner, but I spent most of my time by the pool or exploring so it didn't really matter.

Breakfast was good and everything was topped up regularly, which was definitely needed at the busiest times.

If you're looking for luxury go elsewhere, but for a cheap and cheerful holiday then this is ideal. I would recommend it and would stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleighcummings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Having read some of the negatives,feel I have to respond about the luar,it is 3star but has 5star views, over the Atlantic,breakfast was perfectly adequate for a snack in the morning,could get a subbed anytime of the day,beach 5mins away,and what a beach,shops,bars 5mins away,and no problems with the room,beds changed daily and no the fridge didn't keep us awake, people get real £380 for a week in the sun from a local airport fantastic value,will be back next year

Room Tip: 505 good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Just returned home on Sunday from a week staying at the Luar Hotel with a friend. The best bit about this hotel is, without doubt, it's fantastic location. It's only a two min walk from the strip (close but not too close!!) and only a set of steps away from the beach. We went just off-season and so it was probably a lot quieter than the previous few weeks so there was always a spot by the pool after brekkie - no need at all to get up early to throw a towel on a bed!. The rooms are spotless and spacious, the minibar is great value if you need to use it at any stage (water/mineral/beer are all approx 1euro) and the staff were always very friendly and helpful.

The only tip I'd have is that you bring earplugs as there is quite a bit of noise at night time- my room was facing the road so you will clearly hear all night time traffic, the minibar buzzes all night (this gets extremely annoying) and the walls are quite thin (you'll hear the shower going in the next rm). This is only something small though and earplugs will easily sort it out - but definitely don't forget them or choose another hotel solely because of this as again, it's easily rectified.

Room Tip: If you don't want to spend money on a sea view room, would recommend rooms 102, 202, 302 etc as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serena047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Great location away from the buzz of P.De.Rocha surrounded by a great variety of restaurants.The choice of hotel pool or beach is effortless due to the close proximity of the latter,2mins away.The standards within the hotel are extremely high particularly cleanliness.Public transport to other parts of the Algarve can be accessed minutes from the front door of the hotel and staff are so helpful in making sure timetables and information are available for you.With regard to the steep access to the beach I would doubt if the hotel or the staff can change that.( for those that want a nice flat entrance to the beach........Magaluf is calling) t
Have been coming to the Algarve for twenty odd years ,normally self catering.This hotel experience has been so positive due mainly to the staff , and particularly the management and reception staff, who have been excellent in responding to requests and enquiries in general.
No hesitation in recommending this accommodation.

Room Tip: Choose a room which gives you access to the front terraces which are on most floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I have just returned from a wonderful week staying at The Luar, my friend and I had a lovely stay. No complaints about this hotel, the staff were curtious and friendly . The breakfast was very good ,orange juice, cereals, 4 different breads, scrambled eggs and bacon, The dining room was spotless and staff were on hand clearing off tables as soon as they were vacated . The bedroom was spacious and towels were changed daily and room tidied which was brilliant to come back in evening to have beds made up. The air conditioning worked perfectly and the room was lovely and cool throughout the day. The Hotel is perfectly situated near beach and resteraunts. The Titanic and All Beef are definitely worth a visit for that special meal. But 2 little gems are Mike and Chris who offer a full irish for 5 euros, and VINHOS + COMIDAS where you will get a 2 course dinner for 9.50 euros, both are within walking distance of hotel and on the way to beach . Overall a lovely Hotel. Eileen and Grace, Cork Ireland.

Room Tip: Our room was facing street and there is very little traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My partner & I wanted a 'budget, just us' holiday, which is never really that during the August school holidays, but having been skiing in April with the kids didn't want to overdo the budget.
For a 3* hotel, it was great. Couldn't fault the cleanliness, reception were extremely helpful when asking about buses etc, and also very efficient in getting the maintenance man to fix a wobbly toilet seat within half an hour of arriving at the hotel.
The rooms are basic, don't get me wrong, but clean and comfy, and the maids are in every day. Wi-fi available in reception, which is a large area with plenty of comfy seating, and being on the first floor, almost above reception, I had limited wi-fi on our balcony too. Aircon is a bonus too, as not all hotels have it.
Breakfast is basic, and doesn't change through the week, but ok. The pool area is good, enough sunbeds & grass area for those who wanted it, and only a 2 minute walk out the back gate to the beach. Had already seen others comments about the steep steps down to the beach, yes, they are, but by no means anything to put you off staying here. In fact, having look at the Santa Catarina and the Avenida (which we nearly booked) we were extremely pleased to have picked the Luar. The other two are on the strip!! Which is not at all clear from any reviews. The Luar is a couple of minutes walk from the Strip, so close enough for popping to Spar for lunch provisions, and to choose which restaurant to eat at in the evenings. A little further walk, but well worth it, is the Marina at Portimao. Fantastic! A good choice of eating places. The NoSoloAgua restaurant is a must, an amazing place to eat. They also hosted beach parties during the day/evening on a couple of nights we were there, fantastic. The beach is as it looks in the photos, well worth a trip. We did a bus trip into Alvor one day, which also has a massive beach, and a quaint town area.
So, in summary, I'd recommend the Luar.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jules_312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.6 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,004 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,004 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
622 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Made Inn
Hotel Made Inn
#19 of 75 in Portimao
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luar

Property: Hotel Luar
Address: Avenida V3 St Tres Castelos, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-801, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luar 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Luar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luar Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Hotel Luar Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing