We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sun holliday”
Review of Hotel Luar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Luar
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I stayed for ten nights in june 2014, while the hotel itself was good the staff left a lot to be desired, particularly the bar staff and some of the reception staff. Were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary (the hotel staff did not know this) we got a room with two single beds. When I asked about various tours or sight seeing trips I was told to get a brochure.Iwill not be recomending this hotel to anyone visiting the Algarve and asked my travel agent not to either. We left the Algarve very dissapointed

Room Tip: another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 575Declan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel luar is in an excellent location, it's on the doorstep to the beach and minutes away from the praia da rocha strip. The hotel staff are very friendly n helpful, the hotel is kept clean and tidy however in need of some updating. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Visited Hotel Luar with my boyfriend for a week. Very clean hotel, maids came every morning. One of the best, cleanest pools we have ever been to, with a pool bar! We paid £20 extra for a sea view. Was definitely worth the money but it was a shame the sun never really reached our balcony (room 508). Breakfast very average, cereal/toast/eggs and bacon/cheese/hams. Amazing location, a minutes walk to the best part of the beach.. definitely worth a walk to the other end of the beach where there are beach activities and a blow up play area in the sea. Lively strip with endless restaurants and bars to choose from. Got the train to Lagos for the day (only 2 euros) which is definitely worth a visit. Many boat trips are done from here. The Dolphin trip we went on is definitely worth a visit (25euros each - days of adventure) Would happily go back to Hotel Luar!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank lucy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hotel Luar is a good clean hotel in a great location, rooms are a bit tired looking but are very clean with a small mini bar that is stocked daily. The pool area is lovely with pleanty of sunbeds free at all times of the day. Lovely big reception area, free wifi in bar and reception.

Location is 2 mins walk to strip to bars/restaurants but still set far enough away so that you don't have any nighttime noise in hotel. Staff are very helpful, I even left an electronic device at hotel & they posted on to me right away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank locat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

For the first time ever, we have stayed at the same hotel two years running and it was just as nice as the first time. The only thing that was not as nice, but still lovely, was our apartment position, this time we were in 218 and our balcony looked over the pool, ocean and all other lower inner balconies, which meant we were overlooked by others too..but, saying that, we only had to come out of our door and we had the large communal balcony, which was lovely..

The breakfast was the same as last year, help yourself, so it is up to you if you want to vary it a bit..nothing special but nothing bad about it either.

The pool was just as lovely as we remembered, and there were always plenty of sunloungers to go around.

Location lovely,easy walking distant to all shops and bars and food joints but the steps down to beach are ok really, but take your time walking up , they can be knackering.

Overall, the hotel Luar is very good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Excellent value. Spacious rooms. Very clean and though a little dated did not detract from the overall feel of the hotel. Very helpful with my ironing problem and snack bar staff by the pool were lovely! No loud music or games - fab. Perfect for the beach and excellent restaurants within two minutes walk. Do not be put off by the €8.90 for three courses. Delicious and well presented. Went with a mate for a few days away - Wednesday to Sunday - and was perfect. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 512Ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We found the Hotel Luar, extremley good value, it was spotless, cleaned throughout everyday, the pool area was great, plenty of sunbeds, snack bar and staff very good, we had a lovely seaview from our balcony, room was dated but ok, firm bed, fridge, tv and air conditoning which we needed, close to the bars, restaurants and shops, breakfast was ok, bacon, scrambled eggs, cereals. breads, meats, plenty to choose from, (but not full English) but it suited us.

We will definately return, weather was good and Prai De Rocha beaches and views are first class

Room Tip: Ask for side sea view (304) great views and a cool balcony in the afternoon which we needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parklands_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
0.6 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
581 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santa Catarina
Santa Catarina
#9 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
225 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jardim do Vau
Jardim do Vau
#5 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luar

Address: Avenida V3 St Tres Castelos, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-801, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Price Range: £43 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luar 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Luar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luar Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Hotel Luar Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing