We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Luar
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Smartline Club Amarilis(Praia da Rocha)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Residencial Sol(Portimao)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
      Reviews (397)
      Filter reviews
      397 results
      Traveller rating
      79
      164
      114
      26
      14
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      79
      164
      114
      26
      14
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsnoisy fridgenice reception areapool areasteep stepsscrambled eggs and baconexcellent locationbit datedyogurtside sea viewshort walk from the hotelsnack bargood sizebreakfast roomshort breakquiet endhotel barstunning beach
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      203 - 208 of 397 reviews
      Reviewed 4 August 2010

      The hotel itself is not the reason to stay here. There are probably hotels with better rooms, but I think this hotel was good enough, especially when considered the price you pay. I think payed 45 euros a night. The hotel has a nice pool outside where you could have a swim before you go down to the beach which is about 200 meters from the hotel. The hotel is close to the shopping street and nice restaurants. Bed and bathroom was ok, and the space of a single room was good enough. They have no free wifi.

      • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank perretto
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 1 July 2010

      Rooms have no hairdryer,tea/coffee makers,tv useless,musty smell,but clean,pool nice and snack bar ok food/drinks expensive .Breakfast was fine a good choice,theres no evening meals here.The location is fab,near to beach and night life ,shops,bars it was a very quiet resort older couples and young familys younger people go elsewere!aviod claires bar food rotton and place dirty,did the lisbon trip pick up at six took 14hrs all roun trip had 3hrs in lisbon!food and drink on par with uk,went to turkey last year and was a much better hol,will not go back to portugal again not enough going on.

      • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank TINAGBradford_uk
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 1 July 2010

      This hotel lacks soul and atmosphere. The location close to the sea couldn't be better; but the hotel itself is in bad shape, worn out, bad taste everywhere, the rooms are tiny and smell bad; but then again - its cheap. I've tried to describe what I mean in the pictures ...

      • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank MariaT-DK
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 28 June 2010

      We have just returned from a 4-night stay at the Hotel Luar.

      The location of this hotel is fantastic - the beach is literally a 2 min walk away....however it is down some steep steps (65 to be precise!) and would not be easy with a pushchair!.

      I have no complaints about the hotel - the room was clean and spacious, with a well stocked mini-bar at very good prices that was re-stocked daily! The pool area is nice and very well maintained, breakfasts are simple continental style - breads, ham, cheeses however it is the same every day.
      The only thing that slightly let the room down was the aircon- it seemed to make very little difference and with the heat reaching the 30's it made sleeping at night slightly uncomfortable.

      There is a great choice of bars and resturants all within easy walking distance - I would definately recommend the upstairs american steakhouse about half-way along the strip....great food and great to view the sunset!

      This hotel is great value for money and I would definately return.

      • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank shozz11
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 3 April 2010

      Arriving at the hotel: The hotel is approx an hours drive away from Faro airport which wasn't a problem since we got to see the beautiful scenery on the way. I pre-booked my shuttle cab from 'bookalgarvetransfer.com' who offered efficient and hassle-free competitive priced service for our transfer. The hotel does offer a airport/hotel shuttle but the hotel never answered my calls therefore I couldn't arrange for this shuttle. Arriving at the hotel we were welcomed by a large entrance to the door and a open spaced reception with a fountain. Everything seemed slightly dated but was in perfect condition and was good for the price we paid. We arrived slightly earlier than check-in time but were happily checked-in straight away in to our rooms.

      Rooms: The room was large with plenty of space for 2. We requested for double rooms but were all given twin rooms which was fine for us since we just pushed the beds together. Balcony, large wardrobe, ensuite, desk, fridge & tv offered in each room. There is a safe but it was was not functional since it does not have any padlock or lock (just a hole) so we didn't use it. There was maid service everyday to clean the sheets/beds and bathroom. Balcony is large with outdoor chairs and table to sit outside and enjoy the sun and scenery in the late afternoons. Some balcony faces the sea but we were offered the front hotel view rooms which were nice also.

      Bathroom: Large bathroom with towels & basic amenities offered. Only note is that there isn't enough hot water most times for the 2nd person to shower after the 1st person. The shower gradually becomes colder and colder so the 2nd person has to have a very quick shower before the hot water runs out. All my other 4 friends had this problem with their room too so it may be a problem with all rooms in the hotel.

      Hotel/pool: The breakfast service was very basic offering only 2 hot options of scrambled eggs and bacon. There was other cold options such as cheese, hams, bread, cereal etc but definately a small variety, but the food offered did taste alright so no complaints about it except its very basic. The hotel offers a 'games room' in the basement which was completely empty except for 2 pool tables and table tennis in an extremely large space which was very creepy so we didn't stay to use that.
      The pool was right next to the hotel reception and restaurant. It was beautiful with many sunbeds surrounding the pool. At night it was very nicely lit up and well maintained. Next to the pool was a small garden with a path leading the the beach through the back gate.

      Beach/Restaurants: Literally a minute walk away from the hotel and you're facing a beautiful beach from high above (hotel located at the top of the hill of the beach). We had to walk down lots of very steep steps to get down the beach which seems slightly dangerous so we all had to go
      slowly. Beach is absolutely gorgeous with large rocks surrounding the area. It was very refreshing to be on such a nice quiet wonderful scenery.
      The hotel is down the road from many bars/clubs/restaurants (5-15mins walk) with plenty to choose from and to buy. If you walk further you reach another beach which is flatter and alot bigger, most people were there instead of the one next to the hotel. Great place to sunbathe and relax in the sun.

      Overall: The hotel was basic but great for the price! It's so convenient to get to the beach which is perfect for those who just want to relax at the beach all day. Food around the area is relatively cheap and nice with plenty to choose from. The staff were great and helped me with restaurant recommendations, phone calls etc
      It's a great hotel and scenery and I would definately consider returning in the summer or next year! Although it would have been alot better if the temperature was slightly higher because it was still quite chilly during late March/early Apr. But in the summer, the beach and hotel would definately be very popular!

      • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank klkh1
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews