We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sea view!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Jardim do Vau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jardim do Vau
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Clifden, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sea view!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

On arrival we were told we had been upgraded to 2 bed apt yes it was a spacious apt. But as we had paid a supplement for sea view we were expecting a full sea view, but alas no, just the roof of a building and a tiny patch of sea to the right through trees!! Day 4 of our 7 day hol. We were finally offered a room with a better view but at that stage it was too late. There were no extras in the apts. Just 2 small bars of soap in bathroom and bed was very small for 2 people. There were sun loungers on balcony that looked as if they were 20 years old and could have done with a good wash and sterilisation, the cushions should just have been thrown out as they were beyond redemption. I would consider these apts. as 3 star and certainly would not pay supplement of 86 euro without being guaranteed full sea view. Don't understand why we couldn't have been given a 1 bed apt. With sea view as paid for as this hol had been booked in April for Sept. So it wasn't as if they hadn't enough notice!!!

Room Tip: Specify full unobstructed sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Deirdre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    120
    31
    5
    3
See reviews for
128
90
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Me and my partner have just returned and honestly cannot complain about this place - we had a fantastic holiday. The hotel/apartment was great and spacious and had lovely views of the sea. The pool is large and quiet to relax around and has a nice little bar which is cheap enough. The best thing about this hotel is that it is only a few steps down to the most amazing beach. There are three or four little bar/restaurants on their so you can pop up for a superbock and a bit of lunch in between swimming and sunbathing. Also take a walk down the beach towards praia de rocha or the opposite direction, along the cliff tops in the alvor direction. You can get on a path from the hotel and the views are something else, with lots of hidden beaches. The staff at the hotel were great and really friendly, and were always there to help. The hotel is well placed in between alvor and praia de rocha, so in the evenings you have a choice of where to go to eat. We walked each night to either alvor or praia de rocha, and got a taxi home (only 5 euros) so its not far at all from some great restaurants. Would also reccommend that you pay a visit to o,canico restaurant on priahana beach (about 20 mins walk from the hotel in the alvor direction - located in the priahana resort) The place is located in a little cove and built into the rocks, the sunset will be worth it and the food is something else. We would reccommend this place with no hesitation, and will be rebooking for next year.

Room Tip: B Block where we stayed was ideal with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markatron1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

I've spend 7 nights at Jardim do Vau with my family. We were 6 adults and a 2-year old baby and we stayed in a three-room (one suite) apartment with kitchen.
The kitchen is fairly good equipped (fridge, oven, washing machine, dryer) so you can easily prepare some meals so that you can save some euros at lunch or dinner.
Within the hotel you also have a small grocery that can be used to solve any sudden need.
The pool are very good and has 1 jacuzzi, 1 childrens pool and the main pool. It is a nice place to be after coming from the beach, just to have a sweet water dive to clean th beach sand and salt. Additionally, also inside the hotel premisses you have a children playground.
The hotel is on the beach first line, with direct access to Praia do Vau, one of the most beautiful beaches in the Algarve (when the tide is up, it may get a bit overcrowed because the sand area is reduced to a minimum. Although, when the tide is down you can have long walks on the beach, inclusively you can reach Praia da Rocha (Portimao's most "active" area)
The hotel staff is very nice and effective.
In my opinion there are two things that could be improved: price (I think it is a bit overpriced) and cleanness (sometimes the rooms where cleaned very late (around 15:00) and it was visible that it wasn't very thourough, so it wsa common to have sand on the living room)
In spite of this I'll probably be back or at least consider it if I plan to go again to the Algarve.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RPereira2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

I recently returned from a 5 night stay at the jardim do vau with my parents and 2 siblings (all 3 of us in our 20s). We had an apartment style room with 2 bedrooms and a pullout couch and we found it very spacious and comfortable for 5 adults. My sister and I shared a room with 2 twin beds which was nice. The kitchen was great, full sized fridge, toaster and dishwasher. There was no dish soap or soap to wash the dishes by hand so you have to buy that at the mini mercado. We were able to eat breakfast and lunch in the room which saved a ton of money. There was a large balcony with a beautiful view and since we were on the fourth floor we actually had access to our own private rooftop patio which had lawn chairs on it to lie out and tan.

The pool was nice. Lots of lawn chairs but overrun with children. We weren't able to lie by the pool without listening to screaming kids and getting splashed. This was definitely a place for families with kids!

The beach was gorgeous and pretty crowded but if you walk a little bit towards Praia de rocha it gets less crowded.

The staff at the hotel was very accommodating and knowledgable, especially Anna. She recommended amazing restaurants for us every night and would call and make the reservation for us and explain how to get there.

Overall, we had a great experience at jardim do vau but I would recommend this hotel more to families with young children than adults.

Room Tip: Building B is quieter than the buildings close to the pool but still a very short walk to the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AsiaBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed at Jardim do Vau for three nights. There were definitely some issues and I doubt that I would pick this property again. Firstly, upon arrival we were "upgraded" to a suite at the front of the building that overlooked the pool. This building did not have air conditioning nor a washer and dryer. We had purposely NOT booked this building for these reasons. The staff really didn't seem to care too much and only after considerable requests were we given some minor $ compensation. Also it has kind of a cheesy feel - they charge 1E for 30 min of their lobby computers - their computers are slow and much of the time is used up waiting or trying to reconnect. When this complaint was brought to the attention of the front desk, we were accused of doing something wrong and they wanted another euro. Wifi is only available in the lobby - which is a huge pain. The apts lack some basic things; no dish soap or dish cloth, empty salt and pepper, no soap , maybe leave a few coffee filters? Of course all of these things are available at the handy Mercado attached to the hotel - nice little business. Its a euro to play pool etc... All this just made it feel cheap and not at all like a 4 star resort - more like a clean motel....Also the pool closes at 8 p.m huh? It's still 30 degrees at 8 o'clock in the Algarve - an evening swim would've been nice. The beach is gorgeous and it is close to Praia de Rocha, which is probably where I would stay the next time. This is for sure a family "camp" feel kind of hotel.

Room Tip: back buildings are newer with a/c and ask for an upper floor and you'll still have a bit of a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scarlettbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We recently returned from a ten day stay in Jardim do Vau. We are a family of four, two children aged 3 and 5. With only a few steps down to the beach and away from the hustle and bustle of Praia da Rocha (twenty minute walk away). The beaches are amazing and very clean. There is a nice beach bar and cafe a few steps down. The children loved the kids swimming pool, it was perfect for them. There is a decent enough playground, we didn't avail of the kid's club. I don't know if many used the kids club to be honest. The food at the pool bar was great. Food at the restaurant was good, but we mostly went to Praia Da Rocha for dinner. There didn't seem to be an atmosphere in the bar so we only went there once.

The complex is spotless, the cleaning staff were all very nice, linen changed and towels changed most days.

Downsides: We paid extra for a sea view, we arrived at night and were given an apt on the ground floor, we couldn't see the sea at night so we said we would wait until morning, technically you could see the sea through a small gap. As we paid the extra we complained and we were upgraded to a two bedroom apt we a sea view. We were located in a block facing the road, I'm a light sleeper and found it extremely difficult to sleep with the noise of the main road. Also the beds are extremely hard.
There is no entertainment apart from a bbq which is scheduled every Monday. We tried to book it however it was fully booked up. This was a disappointment that there was no entertainment in the evenings for kids and adults.

However we might go back if we were guaranteed an apartment in Block A where the noise from the main road may not be heard as the proximity to the beach and cleanliness of complex was fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deebeedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tralee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Great venue great location. All the staff from the management to cleaning are a credit to the hotel except for the head bar man ,No wonder there is no one socializing in the bar at night ,a couple we met left two nights early on of account of his behaviour ,I hope the management takes note as many of our friends stay there throughout the year and it is a constant discussion with us about his behaviour

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank harleyhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
1.2 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardim do Vau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardim do Vau

Property: Jardim do Vau
Address: Praia do Vau, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-820, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#7 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jardim do Vau 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in Praia do Vau beach, 3.5km from Portimão centre and 2km from the entertainment area of Praia da Rocha. Jardim do Vau consists of 131 elegantly furnished apartments, which are composed of one and two bedrooms, equipped with kitchen (kitchenette in the one bedroom units) and balconies with sun beds. Facilities include 24 hour Reception, Outdoor Swimming Pools, Restaurant, Cocktail Bar, Pool Bar (summer), Mini Market, Junior Club (from May to September), Conference Rooms, Atlantic Club with Indoor Heated Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna, Changing Rooms and Natural Solarium. Free Parking available. Additional services: Restaurant Pool bar Cocktail Bar Mini-Market Hairdresser Fitness Room, Sauna and steam room Snooker Babysitting Ping Pong Volleyball Junior Club Playgroung Meeting Rooms Library Indoor heated swimming pool Outdoor swimming pools Wi-fi in public areas The two bedroom apartments, with a big furnished balcony, have one double bed in one bedroom and two single beds in the other bedroom. It features two bathrooms, separated and fully equipped kitchen, living and dining room. It has satellite tv, safe (€), telephone, hair dryer, iron and board. The one bedroom apartments have a furnished balcony, two single beds in the bedroom, dining and living room, fully equipped kitchenette, bathroom satellite tv, safe (€), telephone, hair dryer, iron and iron board. All apartments are daily cleaned. The sheets and towels are changed twice a week or according to client's request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jardim do Vau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardim Do Vau Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Jardim Vau
Jardim Do Vau Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing