We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place yet!”
Review of Jardim do Vau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jardim do Vau
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2012

This hotel is the best we have stayed in on the Algarve: it is right on the beach - a beautiful one that can be walked all the way to Praia da Rocha at low tide. It is convenient for visiting Portimao, Alvor, Lagos etc. The facilities are good - a service wash (laundry) availabe for 5euros. I bedroom apt (sea view) had a full cooker with oven. Some restaurants nearby on the beach, but supermarkets are in Portimao (taxi ride or hotel courtesy bus). We were in B block - the bedrooms are on the road side: not much traffic in October, but I wonder if there would be more noise from the road in high season. The indoor pool is large - only open October to May - swim hats (or shower caps) must be worn. Recommended.

Room Tip: B block upper floors sea view are best. A block seems to be Timeshare - overlooks pool (noisy if lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oap2_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 6 days (half board) and i must say i cannot fault this hotel at all, the service was outstanding.
we were a group of 5 age between 23-34yrs, we stayed in a two bedroom apartment which was sea view. one bedroom was on en suite, one bedroom had two single beds and a sofa bed in the lounge and their was another bathroom, you are able to request a bed if you do not want to sleep on the sofa bed. The apartment was very specious. The kitchen was fully equipped.
The balcony was big enough for two sun lounges and a table with four chairs.

At this time of year many of the guests were people that return every year and and off an older age, which did not bother as at all. the hotel is very relaxed
There is also an indoor pool and Jacuzzi, sauna room and steam room have to be booked in morning for afternoon. You have to purchase a swim hat for indoor swimming which costs 4 euros. kids entertainment in seasonal only

We took a taxi to Alvor which was 8 minutes away and cost 6 euros good value for money. Alvor is full of fish restaurants, There are many walks you can go on in this area, if you go to the information tourist they will give details on where u can walk and places to visit.

The beach is right opposite the hotel and i must say its one of the best ones i have been on, this hotel is a great location if you like your beaches and a relaxing holiday

breakfast in very basic help your self buffet, however the dinners are excellent, there were two vegetarians in our group and staff cooked what we asked for each day. the pool side bar is great and good value for money. praia da rocha is a fifteen minute walk, there are many shops, bars and restaurants here.

we shall be diffinately going back to this hotel

Room Tip: request sea view when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slimsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I stayed here with my family for a two weeks in June 2012 and it was excellent. We have two small children and they loved it. It is just on the beach and there are lots of swimming pools. There is a kids club which gives the adults a break. You can walk into Pria de Rocha and there are lots of places to eat. Alvor, a ten minute bus journey, is very close and has some excellent restaurants. The food in the hotel itself wasn't great so we ate out at nighttime and have lunch in the apartment during the day. Another feature was that we did not have to rent a car. Arranged a transfer from the airport which was cost effective. We met a large number of people who had been there for a number of years and had returned each year. Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Love this accommodation, brilliant, love the staff, we go back every year. the location is fantastic! The staff are so helpful, the accommodation is fantastic, and lovely people stay there each year, and we have met same people time and time again...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank corkpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

On arrival we were told we had been upgraded to 2 bed apt yes it was a spacious apt. But as we had paid a supplement for sea view we were expecting a full sea view, but alas no, just the roof of a building and a tiny patch of sea to the right through trees!! Day 4 of our 7 day hol. We were finally offered a room with a better view but at that stage it was too late. There were no extras in the apts. Just 2 small bars of soap in bathroom and bed was very small for 2 people. There were sun loungers on balcony that looked as if they were 20 years old and could have done with a good wash and sterilisation, the cushions should just have been thrown out as they were beyond redemption. I would consider these apts. as 3 star and certainly would not pay supplement of 86 euro without being guaranteed full sea view. Don't understand why we couldn't have been given a 1 bed apt. With sea view as paid for as this hol had been booked in April for Sept. So it wasn't as if they hadn't enough notice!!!

Room Tip: Specify full unobstructed sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1Deirdre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Me and my partner have just returned and honestly cannot complain about this place - we had a fantastic holiday. The hotel/apartment was great and spacious and had lovely views of the sea. The pool is large and quiet to relax around and has a nice little bar which is cheap enough. The best thing about this hotel is that it is only a few steps down to the most amazing beach. There are three or four little bar/restaurants on their so you can pop up for a superbock and a bit of lunch in between swimming and sunbathing. Also take a walk down the beach towards praia de rocha or the opposite direction, along the cliff tops in the alvor direction. You can get on a path from the hotel and the views are something else, with lots of hidden beaches. The staff at the hotel were great and really friendly, and were always there to help. The hotel is well placed in between alvor and praia de rocha, so in the evenings you have a choice of where to go to eat. We walked each night to either alvor or praia de rocha, and got a taxi home (only 5 euros) so its not far at all from some great restaurants. Would also reccommend that you pay a visit to o,canico restaurant on priahana beach (about 20 mins walk from the hotel in the alvor direction - located in the priahana resort) The place is located in a little cove and built into the rocks, the sunset will be worth it and the food is something else. We would reccommend this place with no hesitation, and will be rebooking for next year.

Room Tip: B Block where we stayed was ideal with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markatron1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I've spend 7 nights at Jardim do Vau with my family. We were 6 adults and a 2-year old baby and we stayed in a three-room (one suite) apartment with kitchen.
The kitchen is fairly good equipped (fridge, oven, washing machine, dryer) so you can easily prepare some meals so that you can save some euros at lunch or dinner.
Within the hotel you also have a small grocery that can be used to solve any sudden need.
The pool are very good and has 1 jacuzzi, 1 childrens pool and the main pool. It is a nice place to be after coming from the beach, just to have a sweet water dive to clean th beach sand and salt. Additionally, also inside the hotel premisses you have a children playground.
The hotel is on the beach first line, with direct access to Praia do Vau, one of the most beautiful beaches in the Algarve (when the tide is up, it may get a bit overcrowed because the sand area is reduced to a minimum. Although, when the tide is down you can have long walks on the beach, inclusively you can reach Praia da Rocha (Portimao's most "active" area)
The hotel staff is very nice and effective.
In my opinion there are two things that could be improved: price (I think it is a bit overpriced) and cleanness (sometimes the rooms where cleaned very late (around 15:00) and it was visible that it wasn't very thourough, so it wsa common to have sand on the living room)
In spite of this I'll probably be back or at least consider it if I plan to go again to the Algarve.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RPereira2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
298 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,121 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Santa Catarina
Santa Catarina
#9 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
225 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
1.5 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardim do Vau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardim do Vau

Address: Praia do Vau, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-820, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#7 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range: £33 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jardim do Vau 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in Praia do Vau beach, 3.5km from Portimão centre and 2km from the entertainment area of Praia da Rocha. Jardim do Vau consists of 131 elegantly furnished apartments, which are composed of one and two bedrooms, equipped with kitchen (kitchenette in the one bedroom units) and balconies with sun beds. Facilities include 24 hour Reception, Outdoor Swimming Pools, Restaurant, Cocktail Bar, Pool Bar (summer), Mini Market, Junior Club (from May to September), Conference Rooms, Atlantic Club with Indoor Heated Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna, Changing Rooms and Natural Solarium. Free Parking available. Additional services: Restaurant Pool bar Cocktail Bar Mini-Market Hairdresser Fitness Room, Sauna and steam room Snooker Babysitting Ping Pong Volleyball Junior Club Playgroung Meeting Rooms Library Indoor heated swimming pool Outdoor swimming pools Wi-fi in public areas The two bedroom apartments, with a big furnished balcony, have one double bed in one bedroom and two single beds in the other bedroom. It features two bathrooms, separated and fully equipped kitchen, living and dining room. It has satellite tv, safe (€), telephone, hair dryer, iron and board. The one bedroom apartments have a furnished balcony, two single beds in the bedroom, dining and living room, fully equipped kitchenette, bathroom satellite tv, safe (€), telephone, hair dryer, iron and iron board. All apartments are daily cleaned. The sheets and towels are changed twice a week or according to client's request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Jardim do Vau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardim Do Vau Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Jardim Vau
Jardim Do Vau Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing