We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location - great for a family with children”
Review of Jardim do Vau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jardim do Vau
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Amazing location - great for a family with children”
Reviewed 7 May 2010

We took a two bed penthouse apt in the front building for a week. It was very spacious, clean (one double, one room with twin beds) and had large balcony as well as roof terrace. The views were amazing and overlooked the pool and the sea. The room was cleaned every day and the reception staff were very helpful with queries about restaurants etc. The location is second to none, you can walk to Praia da Rocha, enjoy the beach just feet away (Praia do Vau) and Alvor or Portimao are just a short taxi ride away.

Would return and stay in the same apartment/block however, the nightly emptying of the recycling facilities at the end of a nearby street (not connected to the hotel) at approx 2 am each night made the sleep quality a little disturbed!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CubsFan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    132
    34
    7
    3
See reviews for
148
100
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2010

a little basic and slightly dated, but you cant fault the location. directly on the shore front.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandIrishfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

I stayed in Jardim Do Vau for 2 weeks. We had a 2 bedroom apartment, which was big but old fashioned. It was very clean. 1 Twin and 1 Double with ensuite. Huge baloncy with table and chairs plus 4 sun longers. We were staying in block B. The staff were not friendly but helpful. The food in the restaurant was excellent. The pool side snack bar food was horrible. Both resonable prices. I recommend the home made pizza in the restaurant. Very nice at 5 euro. The mini-market was very over priced. You pay around 3 euro for a tub of butter. There is a super market (Continente) which is huge and very reasonable! a 5min taxi ride which will cost 5 euro. The pool is deep all round and i am 5'7 so my feet just touched the bottom but there is a kiddies pool. About 10 steps and your right on the beach. Private access for residents. Theres a few restaurants on the beach but food was terrible. If your going to be going into praia da rocha or alvor every day, it may work out cheaper to rent a car, as we were there 2 weeks, it put a pinch on the wallet. The rep at the hotel is useless and i would recommend booking your tours in any tourist information place. We found out that we could have saved alot of money if we didnt book with thomas cook. there is no internet and they charge 1 euro for 10mins at reception. All in all, i loved my stay at the jardim do vau, very quiet, clean and just steps away from the beach. No problems!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IrishGalwayLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

Mum, Dad, 2 kids aged nearly 5 and 18 months. We had a 2 bedroomed apt. Very roomy, 2 bedrooms, 1 with double bed, with 2 singles. 2 bathrooms, very large lounge, Terrace balcony and kitchen with dishwasher, washer dryer and microwave and all equipment. Cot for toddler made up already and in room on arrival. High chair and hairdryer on request. There are some apts that have been modernised (not ours) and we were in B block which is the "Thomas Cook" block. Great welcome from Diana on reception. All staff fantastic. Kids club open Mon-Fri, 2 hrs in morning, 2 in afternoon at a cost of €2.50 per hour for 3-12 yr olds. It is not used much though and sometimes our 5 yr old was the only one there. She didn't seem to mind though as she got to do lots of arts and crafts with Tatiana. Clientele about one third Irish, 1 third British and remainder a mix of Portuguese, German, Dutch and onther nationalities. Mostly younger families and retired couples, which was a great mix. 3 pools, one adult (deep all round pool, not for standing), 1 kiddie and 1 which is technically a jacuzzi but is now used as a baby pool. Pool towels on deposit. Pool Bar, snack bar, mini market on site which is not outragegeoulsy priced. Location is midway between Praia da Rocha and Alvor. Taxis approx €5 to either, including a large "Continente" hypermarket which is great for a large shop at the start of your holiday. Hotel calls taxis on request. Didn't dine in hotel main restauarant as restaurants in Alvor so nice. Also dined in Atlantis in Praia Da Rocha once which was great. Lots of families at the hotel were on repeat visits, for some it was their 3rd trip to the hotel, which is testament to how good it is. The Beach is just below the pool area. There are a few restaurants and bars around the hotel, inlcluding a few beach ones. Praia do Vau is a quiet resort with no wild nightlife. The beach is fantastic with great sandcastle making sand, toilets and showers available. We have never returned to the same holiday venue twice in a row but are seriously considering a return here next year.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macclesfield
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2008

Apartment for 7days very reasonable price at this time of the year.Not luxury but everything satisfactory clean and comfortable..Booked penthouse front building facing the pool and sea best position I think from location of other apartments.The reception staff very helpful with any plans for excursions in the area .Dianna tried very hard to advise us on where to visit as we didnt hire a car.Best Day tours we found excellent for airport transfers and excursions to other areas.The Hotel Casino have a show on til the end of Nov Paris Paris first class entertainment.Tickets for show 10 euros each person this includes wine.Meal could be included for 40euros bit we preffered to dine elsewhere so cant comment on the menu .If you want 5 star Hotel and prices with good internet access try the Hotel Casino Prai da Rocha.We were satisfied with the Jardin Do Vau.Only complaint was the Sauna had to be booked in advance to be switched on so we didnt bother using it.The weather was sunny every day but cold in the evenings

  • Liked — Position for the beach
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ritie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2008

This apartment hotel has all the basics one would expect, but the building is very very old and not well maintained. Lower your expectations ... this is no Westin or even Embassy Suite ... and you'll be alright. We had a one bedroom unit and the layout was good, adequate space for the 2 of us.

Also be prepared that there's no internet access from your room. There is wireless internet access in the lobby area only, or you can use one of the 2 pay-as-you-go internet stations at the lobby.

Lovely 10 min walk to Priar da Rocha along the water front. Short drives to Portimao, Alvor and Lagos, which are all worthwhile visiting.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mokspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESHIRE
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2008

we have been to Jardim du vau nine times.
looks very average from the main road. as soon as you walk in the entrance ~lovely. staff very friendly all round. the rooms are very well decorated, very impressive. the food and service in the restaurant are 5 star!! we have two boys and had to go back so many times and they loved the friendliness of the staff and the pools in door and outdoor. the view from the brochure says it all. cannot recommend it enough. ten minute walk into praia do rocha. not over keen on restaurants next door. but beach restaurants are lovely. enjoy yourselves.
Denise~cheshire.

  • Liked — friendliness , lovely views and food indoor and outdoor pool,
  • Disliked — could do with a lick of paint on the road side of the buildings.
  • Stayed February 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DENISECHESHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,004 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
283 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
622 reviews
0.8 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
453 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardim do Vau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardim do Vau

Property: Jardim do Vau
Address: Praia do Vau, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-820, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#7 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jardim do Vau 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in Praia do Vau beach, 3.5km from Portimão centre and 2km from the entertainment area of Praia da Rocha. Jardim do Vau consists of 131 elegantly furnished apartments, which are composed of one and two bedrooms, equipped with kitchen (kitchenette in the one bedroom units) and balconies with sun beds. Facilities include 24 hour Reception, Outdoor Swimming Pools, Restaurant, Cocktail Bar, Pool Bar (summer), Mini Market, Junior Club (from May to September), Conference Rooms, Atlantic Club with Indoor Heated Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna, Changing Rooms and Natural Solarium. Free Parking available. Additional services: Restaurant Pool bar Cocktail Bar Mini-Market Hairdresser Fitness Room, Sauna and steam room Snooker Babysitting Ping Pong Volleyball Junior Club Playgroung Meeting Rooms Library Indoor heated swimming pool Outdoor swimming pools Wi-fi in public areas The two bedroom apartments, with a big furnished balcony, have one double bed in one bedroom and two single beds in the other bedroom. It features two bathrooms, separated and fully equipped kitchen, living and dining room. It has satellite tv, safe (€), telephone, hair dryer, iron and board. The one bedroom apartments have a furnished balcony, two single beds in the bedroom, dining and living room, fully equipped kitchenette, bathroom satellite tv, safe (€), telephone, hair dryer, iron and iron board. All apartments are daily cleaned. The sheets and towels are changed twice a week or according to client's request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jardim do Vau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardim Do Vau Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Jardim Vau
Jardim Do Vau Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing