We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience”
Review of Jardim do Vau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jardim do Vau
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We spent the first two weeks of August here and couldn't have been happier. The apartment was very large and had a/c. The beach is so close that it was easy to pop back and forth. We found the local people (cleaners, taxi drivers, shop asistants) very friendly and helpful. The restaurant on the beach was unexpectedly good. We really enjoyed Lagos too. Probably the best of many great holidays we've had.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruno52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    121
    31
    5
    3
See reviews for
132
92
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Stayed in the Jardim Du Vau for a week in the middle of May 2010. It was our first sun holiday so we were a bit apprehensive as to where to go and where to stay. But we were delighted with our choice. The apartments were beautiful and well furnished. The balcony was massive with two sun longers a table and 4 chairs and a nice sea view. The apartments were very clean and very comfortable. Cleaners were in everyday to wash the floors and make the bed. Don’t be expecting a double bed either most rooms have twin beds but the cleaners put them together the next day. The couch also folds out into quiet a comfortable double bed.
The staff at reception are nice but not very helpful. The restaurant is quiet nice although we only ate here on the first night. Word of warning stay away from the entertainment night it was a joke the Portuguese guy is very annoying and can’t sing. When he names a song he is going to sing he sings a completely different song. The barman is quiet overbearing too.
The pool was gorgeous we had no trouble getting a sun lounger everyday the only fault I did have was that the pool closed everyday at 7. Pool was very deep couldn’t stand in any part of it. On the second last day we discovered 3 restaurants out the gate by the pool serving English breakfasts for only €3 and pints of beer for a €1 (if we knew sooner we would have been there everyday). Usually we went down to the beach in the evenings, which is only a few steps away and was reasonable quiet also. The walk along the beach to Praia de Rocha is gorgeous and only takes about 12 – 15mins. At the start of the week we went to the huge food market Continente and got food, water etc and this did us for the week. We ate in two restaurants Squash (this place was not nice at all, food was cold and undercooked) and the Titanic. We couldn’t talk highly enough of the Titanic restaurant it was so good we went here twice!!!! Do try the Chateaubriand, the price is not cheap but for the 2 it’s a marvellous dish with all the accompaniments works out at less than £15 each. The crepes Suzettes were amazing too ... which the waiters flambé in front of you. Only 4 Euros away is the charming and quaint fishing village of Alvor. Wonderful restaurants to suit all taste’s serving excellent food (especially if you like fish).
We went to slide and splash which is a great day out with loads of slides. We loved the one where two sat into a blow up ring and the surfboard. The Zoomarine is also great day with loads of animals to see. They also have a small few slides. On the Saturday we went to the market it’s a long drive and I’m not sure it was really worth it. We were told the market on a Wednesday is way better. You really have to haggle to get a good bargain on bags etc. If you are going to book trips they can be very expensive with Thomas Cook.
Overall a wonderful holiday would love to go back!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank elryan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Just spent 8 nights in Block A (ground floor, closest to pool) and had a great relaxing time.

We had a one bedroom apartment which had a good size lounge area, twin bedroom, medium sized bathroom with bidet and a well stocked kitchen ie microwave, kettle, toaster, iron etc. The apartment was cleaned every day apart from Sunday (the maids day off) and we were given fresh towels for the bathroom and kitchen each day. Being in one of these apartments, you get your own sunbeds and although you pay 10% extra, its worth having everything on your doorstep

The location is around 1km from Praia d Rocha and about 4 km from Alvor. A path leads from the pool down some steps onto the public beach which is a good size. The pool is clean but as soon as you go down the steps into it, it drops to about 5'10" and basically gets deeper all the way around .There is a ledge to rest your feet on in places but it isnt ideal if you arent a confident swimmer and just want to go into the pool and "cool down".
When the tide is out on the beach you can walk around the rocks and beach to Praia da Rocha and the scenery is fantastic.

We went from 22nd May-1st June and it was busy the last few days in terms of kids/families etc - it was noticeable that the sunbeds by the pool were pretty full by 9:30am with towels reserving beds etc. Its not a massive area so could be an issue when the hotel is full

The hotel shop has the very basics to ge tthrough the day but you would need to shop elsewhere if you were cooking yourselves everyday. We ate in Alvor every night and didnt have a bad meal. There is a variety of places dependant on your budget - the most we spent was 76 euro and the cheapest 55 inc wine/drinks etc. Fish is a speciality and they cook it on BBQ grills outside - you pick which fish you want from the daily catch that each place has. There are other places eg italian/chinese/mexican/indian etc in Alvor as well

We hired car as we knew that it was 100 euro for a return taxi to Faro and that a taxi each day to/from Alvor for a meal was around 10euro. It worked out cheaper and it was good that we could use the car to nip around to shops etc when needed. Obvious downside was that i couldnt drink too much in the evenings!! It would have been to have some decent palces within walking distance to eat but we didnt really spot any.

Pros - really quiet location, clean apartment, great scenery
Cons - no restaurants to eat within walking distance, could be busy by the pool in high season, wouldnt want to be in the main hotel ie not Block A as this backs onto the main road

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derbyjap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

My wife and I spent six nights at this hotel. We paid about 10% extra to get in the building nearest the water. The room was adaquate but the bathroom and bedroom were both small and very tight on space. Our room was a one bedroom apartment with kitchen, bedroom, living room and bath/shower.

The hotel pool was about 30 yards from our patio and the view of the ocean was awesome. Everything was clean and the service was impeccable. I was concerned because the room we got had no air conditioning but we were comfortable all week and didn't really need it. If I were going to be there in June, July or August, I would specify a room with air conditioning. We didn't realize we needed to make such a request but it worked out.

All of the employees at the reception desk spoke several languages and were eager to help.

Internet service was somewhat of a pain but it was, afterall, a vacation. There was no internet available in the room. Near the reception desk, the hotel has two computers that require coins. You get 10 minutes for 1 Euro. Alternatively, you can bring your own notebook computer and access the internet wirelessly. The cost is 4 Euros per hour. Note that it is not for one hour of internet but rather one hour of time. When the hour expires, so does your access.

Portamao is a beautiful area of the Algarve. In my opinion, a rental car is a must if you want to enjoy all that this region has to offer and driving is very easy. My wife and I flew into Lisbon, picked up our rental car from Hertz (we specified with automatic transmission and air conditioning and were glad we did.), and drove down to the Algarve. The A2 road is like a turnpike in the U.S. and we were in the Algarve in 2 1/2 hours. The cost for the toll road was 18 Euros and well worth it. There were a lot of rest and fuel stations along the highway.

All in all, I would stay in this area again and would probably stay in this hotel again. We played golf 3 times while here. One of the courses was at a resort called Boa Vista. I would highly recommend it for golf and would also consider staying there next time. It's not right on the water but does have a great view.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2010

We took a two bed penthouse apt in the front building for a week. It was very spacious, clean (one double, one room with twin beds) and had large balcony as well as roof terrace. The views were amazing and overlooked the pool and the sea. The room was cleaned every day and the reception staff were very helpful with queries about restaurants etc. The location is second to none, you can walk to Praia da Rocha, enjoy the beach just feet away (Praia do Vau) and Alvor or Portimao are just a short taxi ride away.

Would return and stay in the same apartment/block however, the nightly emptying of the recycling facilities at the end of a nearby street (not connected to the hotel) at approx 2 am each night made the sleep quality a little disturbed!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CubsFan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2010

a little basic and slightly dated, but you cant fault the location. directly on the shore front.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandIrishfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

I stayed in Jardim Do Vau for 2 weeks. We had a 2 bedroom apartment, which was big but old fashioned. It was very clean. 1 Twin and 1 Double with ensuite. Huge baloncy with table and chairs plus 4 sun longers. We were staying in block B. The staff were not friendly but helpful. The food in the restaurant was excellent. The pool side snack bar food was horrible. Both resonable prices. I recommend the home made pizza in the restaurant. Very nice at 5 euro. The mini-market was very over priced. You pay around 3 euro for a tub of butter. There is a super market (Continente) which is huge and very reasonable! a 5min taxi ride which will cost 5 euro. The pool is deep all round and i am 5'7 so my feet just touched the bottom but there is a kiddies pool. About 10 steps and your right on the beach. Private access for residents. Theres a few restaurants on the beach but food was terrible. If your going to be going into praia da rocha or alvor every day, it may work out cheaper to rent a car, as we were there 2 weeks, it put a pinch on the wallet. The rep at the hotel is useless and i would recommend booking your tours in any tourist information place. We found out that we could have saved alot of money if we didnt book with thomas cook. there is no internet and they charge 1 euro for 10mins at reception. All in all, i loved my stay at the jardim do vau, very quiet, clean and just steps away from the beach. No problems!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IrishGalwayLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
1.2 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardim do Vau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardim do Vau

Property: Jardim do Vau
Address: Praia do Vau, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-820, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#4 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#7 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jardim do Vau 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in Praia do Vau beach, 3.5km from Portimão centre and 2km from the entertainment area of Praia da Rocha. Jardim do Vau consists of 131 elegantly furnished apartments, which are composed of one and two bedrooms, equipped with kitchen (kitchenette in the one bedroom units) and balconies with sun beds. Facilities include 24 hour Reception, Outdoor Swimming Pools, Restaurant, Cocktail Bar, Pool Bar (summer), Mini Market, Junior Club (from May to September), Conference Rooms, Atlantic Club with Indoor Heated Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, Sauna, Changing Rooms and Natural Solarium. Free Parking available. Additional services: Restaurant Pool bar Cocktail Bar Mini-Market Hairdresser Fitness Room, Sauna and steam room Snooker Babysitting Ping Pong Volleyball Junior Club Playgroung Meeting Rooms Library Indoor heated swimming pool Outdoor swimming pools Wi-fi in public areas The two bedroom apartments, with a big furnished balcony, have one double bed in one bedroom and two single beds in the other bedroom. It features two bathrooms, separated and fully equipped kitchen, living and dining room. It has satellite tv, safe (€), telephone, hair dryer, iron and board. The one bedroom apartments have a furnished balcony, two single beds in the bedroom, dining and living room, fully equipped kitchenette, bathroom satellite tv, safe (€), telephone, hair dryer, iron and iron board. All apartments are daily cleaned. The sheets and towels are changed twice a week or according to client's request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jardim do Vau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardim Do Vau Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Jardim Vau
Jardim Do Vau Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing