We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apartamentos Clube dos Arcos
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Clube Arcos is no five star hotel. But we didn't pay for one. The location is absolutely perfect and for the price, you could not find better. Yes the rooms are dated. Yes the kitchen isn't that well equipped. But I paid less than €100 for six nights in the off season so you won't hear a word of complaint from me.

On the plus side, the sheets and towels were clean. The room itself was very large but we didn't really spend very much time there. Our balcony was also massive with a table and chairs, nice to have a quiet drink in the evening. The pool was perfectly fine - not dirty like others have said. Again - for the price you are very lucky to have a pool! We had a drink with some locals at the bar one late night which was lots of fun and they were very welcoming.

The thought of complaining about dated furniture at this price is laughable. If you want five stars there are plenty of places, you just have to dig deeper in your pockets. Praia De Roach itself is very affordable and a great little town to have a fun time, eat some amazing (and cheap) food and lay on some stunning beaches.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank londontraveller5AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for Apartamentos Clube dos Arcos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed here for one week.
We had a one bed apartment which was huge. Yes it was dated and some of the furniture could do with replacing but we didn't go with the intention of spending much time in the room.
The staff were friendly and helpful, there was no kettle or toaster in the room so we asked at reception and were given both at no extra cost.
Some of the wiring was dodgy but I've not been in a foreign hotel were it wasn't!
Towels were changed once during the week and beds not at all (but do you change your sheets every two days at home?).
All in all you get what you pay for and this was good value for the price we paid. Would go again.
The pool was disappointing as there was no shade at all but it's only a 5min walk to the fantastic beach where you can hire 2 sunbeds and a shade for 10euros a day.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Calbo44_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

i was very wary after reading some of the reviews but was pleasantly surprised when we arrived,yes,it could do with a refurb,but when you pay £80 for 2 for a week,you dont expect the hilton! the one bedroom apartment was spacious and clean with all the facilities you would need for self catering.staff were very friendly and made you very welcome.would definitely return

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank anneforbes121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

dirty disgusting apartments, bed filthy, bathroom filthy infact every thing filthy.
stay away you have been warned.....

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bernie1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Like most people i was a bit unsure about this hotel after reading the previous reviews and i suppose some of them did put us off a bit, yes it does need a wee bit spent on it but we found that the outside needed a face lift and new beds around the pool area although i can say that the pool itself was cleaned every morning at 7am prompt and even if it is a bit tired it was perfectly clean. The apartments themselves were perfectly adequate with towel changed 3 times a week and bedding changed once a week, We were in a one bedroom apartment with a good size bedroom . We had two balconies which was great as we always had a choice of sun or shade. The living room / kitchen area was of a good size as well with a fridge / freezer a 4 ring hob and plenty pots & pans we also asked for a kettle and toaster and cork screw which we got with no bother so all in all the only real problem with the apartments is that time has caught up with them a bit which i think is reflected in the price
The location is perfect with all shops bars and beech within 3/4 Min's walk .and the prices are reasonable in the bars and cafes, We also found that there were only small supermarkets around the area which were a bit dearer so we walked to the large Continente shopping centre (20 min walk) and done a big shop had a coffee and a pastry and a Taxi back(5 euro) and filled the large fridge . So remember what you are paying for these apartments and you wont be disappointed , we had a good two week holiday at a very good price and would have no worries if we were to go back at a future date.P.S look out for Bar Tac'a 1euro a pint or a glass of wine and a great snack menu at very good prices

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jimmy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I chose this hotel because it was cheap it cost me £71 for two for 4 nights sc. I read the reviews before booking and the only bad things I found was that the hotel was dated and had a dodgy lift.

When we arrived the hallways did look a bit like something from the shining but the dated factor doesn't bother me in the slightest, at the end of the day its a place to stay and I don't go on holiday to spend my time looking at hotel decor.

Staff were polite, checked us in easily. Room consisted of 3 seperate rooms, bathroom, which was decent but if more than one of you wanting a shower in the evening water tends to cool down and then go cold during second shower, bedroom had two single beds and plenty of wardrobe space, beds aren't too comfy but think I only noticed as I'm pregnant, and seperate room with kitchen facilites (fridge, hob, sink and kettle? - basically a metal jug you heat on the stove), there was sofa/bench but sunk a bit when you sat down and didn't feel too steady and dining table with chairs.

Balcony was huge and overlooked pool, pool itself was clean but very cold. After reading reviews on the lift I was a bit wary due to being preganant so only used it to go up and used stairs on way down, did look a bit dodgy but it is an old lift, only thing that put me off was previous reviews and the abrupt bounce when the lift actually stops.



Shops, bars and restaurants are literally 5 minutes walk away, not an awful lot to do though as mainly one strip which after you've walked up and down a few times gets a bit boring, luckily I was only going for a short break in the sunshine but think even a week would have been too long. Beach is gorgeous just down some steps at the front, you can hire deck chairs with a parasol and wind break at 10 euros for two for the whole day.

Food wise I would recomment cathys cafe, its cheap and breakfast is good also there was a place called annes which had a special offer of starter, main, desert and coffee after for about 7 euros pp, nice staff too.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank W00DLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Large two bed apt big entrance hall, big b/rooms, 2 large balconies, good sized bathroom and living area with large fridge and cooker top not used so cannot comment on that - cleaned ever day but Sunday.
Breakfast included - big mug tea coffee toast cereal jam butter ham and cheese as much as you want.
Staff bril if need anything just ask will provide quickly
position the best resort is fab
down side dated, some mold in bathroom
if you are looking to stay here my advice would be to book direct with hotel as only £50 per night for 2 bed apt.
advice for swimming pool use one at sister hotel were breakfast is served much nicer

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sallymouland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Tur...
#10 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,034 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Clube dos Arcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Clube dos Arcos

Address: Av. V3, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8400, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Price Range: £13 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apartamentos Clube dos Arcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Clube Dos Arcos Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Apartamentos Clube Dos Arcos Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing