We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apartamentos Clube dos Arcos
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Just got back ad really nice stay here staff are very friendly food is excellent quality and value for money for the cost of the holaday most people I spoke to it cost them £250 pp al inclusive the people who have left bad reviews obviously forget what they have paid if you want 5 star hotel go pay for it but this hotel is excellent value for money.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Iceycold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is not a hotel but rather apartments. The 1 bedroom with living room open plan dining room and kitchenette was more than I expected. It does look tired but at these prices who complains right. It was a one night stopover and met requirements. AT 32 Euro for the night with a powerful blazing hot shower it was all we needed. The TV didn't work but all we wanted was weather and news so no big deal. I am sure if we had asked for it to be sorted the staff would have accommodated. Loads of places to eat in the area and a couple of shops right next door. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nestor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed here in late July (large apartment - 5 people).
We had two balconies, both of which overlooked roads - these roads seemed to be a main route for drunken revellers in the early hours of every morning, so if a good night's sleep is important to you then find somewhere else !
Expected the kitchen to be basic but surely a toaster would not have been too much to ask. A kettle was provided, but there were no plug sockets above the kitchen worktops so had to place kettle on the floor in order to boil it.
Beds were uncomfortable and all bedroom furniture had loose handles or no handles. The sofa bed in the main living room had a large water stain (or at least we hoped it was water !).
Cleaning seemed to be done sporadically rather than routinely, and then it was a token gesture rather than a serious clean.
Half of all sunbeds around the pool were broken - this meant that people had to sunbathe on towels on the grass unless you were one of the lucky ones !
In conclusion, it could have been made a lot better for a small investment.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I'd read previous reviews and for a couple of quid a night to be honest wasn't expecting great things, but I don't think you can expect better for what I paid.

I had a studio room which was a good size - no bed as such - one of those wooden sofa beds that are common in the med, fine for a couple of days but after that I was almost begging for my bed back home. Kitchen is in 70's mode, and considering its self catering you would find it difficult to cook in there with the equipment provided, but it has a fridge with freezer box, microwave, kettle and an electric hob.

Bathroom was clean, constant hot water and the shower was quite powerful.

My balcony had really nice views however there I was in the corner room and no-one was in the room next to me for the majority of the week - once they were however I realised they could see right into my room from their balcony -so no walking round naked!

I visited first week in October and the place was all but deserted - aside from one shop all the others were closed and I often had the pool to myself until mid afternoon which was lovely :)
I didn't think the pool was particularly clean so didnt use it.

Cleaners put loo rolls and towels in the room twice during my week long stay - but only emptied the bin once in a week -so the bin wasnt emptied for 5 days - in a self catering apartment that isnt great - when they did clean it was literally a brush and a mop, no sheet change, no cleaned bathroom or kitchen.

Reception staff were friendly and were really kind to me as i had an early morning flight they let me keep my room for the extra night free of charge which I really appreciated.

Praia da Rocha itself was as other writers have said a bit on the dilapidated side, I was disappointed t first as there is a lot of graffiti everywhere, along the beach, on the sides of the roads, its really awful and I was surprised by how much there was. The beach however is beautiful, really clean, sea was clear (tho cold!) really nice to walk along - this apartment (and the beach itself) wouldnt be suitable for anyone who struggles with hills or steps, it was uphill from the apartment to get to the beach and the beach can only be got to via steps down - getting back up when its hot was a killer.

The main strip and marina was really nice, as always with the euro, meals aren't cheap - around 7 euros for an omelette, upwards of 9 euros for a main meal usually. Most places are around 5-7 euros for a cooked breakfast. I would recommend Taffys for their pick your own breakfast which was really good value and also Tokyo all you can eat Japanese buffet for 13.95 euros, the sashimi was unbelievable!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank evoluptua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Expected more ... Booked a double room ... Ended up with single beds ... Had to ask for fresh towels and toilet roll as cleaners never came (we stayed 14 days) shops at the hotel hardly open. Staff were rude and had no customer service skills expect the one women at reception!!! No hair dryer ,no toaster , not a great a deal of TV .. Filthy pool !!!!!!! Never seen it be cleaned .... Doors and windows did not lock !! Lifts barely worked !! Bath water was yellow !!!! To sum up 1 star 80's hotel .. At best ! We would never stay here again !!!!

Praia da rocha town and beach was great .. Hotel and service really let this down though!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zoemarie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

apartments simple but large you get what u pay for.stayed for a week in october 2013 & the weather was great.me & my husband stayed here & was plenty of room for 2 people.First time in portugal & it was a little peice of paradise & cant wait to go back again.The beach is superb & the sea is so clear & lovely & clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smew62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This apartment block is very run down. However Praia Do Rocha in general has become quite dilapidated in general.There are a small number of really nice hotels and apartments and a higher ratio of dubious 2-3 star apartments/hotels. The official star of Clube dos Arcos is 3 star. There is nothing 3 star about it. However you get you pay for!

The apartments are very old and the decor reflects this. We were on the 1st floor. Both the patio doors would not lock. One of the shutters on the outside did not come down fully so potentially someone could squeeze through the gap. Also the lock on the bathroom window did not work so again this was a security issue.

On a positive note there was plenty of hot water, we had a large fully sized fridge and the location is a couple minutes walk to the beach. If you have young children, be advised there are a number of steps down to the beach. If you have buggies/strollers you have to walk for about 10 mins to the middle of the beach where there is a steep road down. Also there is someone on reception 24 hrs a day. On the whole the reception staff are friendly and helpful. One guy in particular (the smoker), was particularly helpful and nice. Apologies but he wasn't wearing a name badge. There are adequate lifts and they come quickly but they are small inside.

We didn't eat or drink in the hotel so can't comment on the quality. There is a very small shop selling milk, water and other items. This is very expensive so use only for large drums of water. Our apartment had a hob cooker. It takes a while to heat up, but works OK for fried foods or pasta/soups. There was not a lot of cutlery supplied. There were no cleaning utensils or cleaning products. The "cleaners" never actually cleaned the apartment. They come every two days and give you clean towels and toilet paper on a sparing basis. They don't change the bed sheets, rather they simply turn them down if you are not in the apartment. However there is a brush and mop left in the bathroom to use to clean the apartment by yourself.

There is a small TV in the room but it only has local channels, except for BBC news. Also you can ask at reception for a toaster. We were not charged for this. There was a kettle provided in the apartment. There is a security box you can rent at reception. It is not the most secure box in the world but better to be safe than sorry. Its a deposit of €15 and €3 rental per day.

There is a swimming pool, but I never once in 10 days saw it being cleaned. As a result I would not get in it. Also there are only single beds in the bedrooms. The beds are not comfortable.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the first floor. All the balconies back onto one another so they are an incr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleMissWitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,046 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
467 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
0.1 mi away
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Tur...
#10 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Clube dos Arcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Clube dos Arcos

Address: Av. V3, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8400, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Price Range: £14 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and Expedia so you can book your Apartamentos Clube dos Arcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Clube Dos Arcos Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Apartamentos Clube Dos Arcos Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing