We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartamentos Clube dos Arcos
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Basic but value”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Third time so no complaints.Value for money budget accomodation in good location.Staff helpful,beach /restaurants,bus stop,shops & Portamao all with in walking distance Average meal out less than 10 euros.!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
6 Thank Deirdre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    42
    57
    26
    45
See reviews for
51
73
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We have just returned from a week at Clube dos Arcos, the staff are so helpful & friendly, you can't fault them, nothing is to much trouble. The apartments are tired and not very well equipped but apparently we needed to ask at reception to get a toaster, kettle etc. The apartments need a major upgrade and could have been a bit cleaner but overall the beds were clean & comfy but very noisy. Air-con would have been nice but we had to leave the balcony doors open which let in the traffic noise.

We need to say thank you very much to the 2 Liverpool girls who kept us and many others awake most nights with there screaming & shouting !

Room Tip: Higher up so you don't hear so much road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davemo4891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

don't listen to the bad reviews these people must only go out of their way to find fault,if we all look close enough im sure we all could find fault even in our own place.we are a couple in are 40,s and if like us you want somewhere clean, cosy, good food. entertainment, a bit of music around the pool and no limit of how many drinks you can ask for at one time.staff friendly if you are friendly to them.this place is a good cheap place to go not the ritz but defo not the pitz.we would defo go back.

Room Tip: pool view rooms get sun all day long
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank marina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Just got back ad really nice stay here staff are very friendly food is excellent quality and value for money for the cost of the holaday most people I spoke to it cost them £250 pp al inclusive the people who have left bad reviews obviously forget what they have paid if you want 5 star hotel go pay for it but this hotel is excellent value for money.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Iceycold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fundao, Portugal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is not a hotel but rather apartments. The 1 bedroom with living room open plan dining room and kitchenette was more than I expected. It does look tired but at these prices who complains right. It was a one night stopover and met requirements. AT 32 Euro for the night with a powerful blazing hot shower it was all we needed. The TV didn't work but all we wanted was weather and news so no big deal. I am sure if we had asked for it to be sorted the staff would have accommodated. Loads of places to eat in the area and a couple of shops right next door. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nestor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed here in late July (large apartment - 5 people).
We had two balconies, both of which overlooked roads - these roads seemed to be a main route for drunken revellers in the early hours of every morning, so if a good night's sleep is important to you then find somewhere else !
Expected the kitchen to be basic but surely a toaster would not have been too much to ask. A kettle was provided, but there were no plug sockets above the kitchen worktops so had to place kettle on the floor in order to boil it.
Beds were uncomfortable and all bedroom furniture had loose handles or no handles. The sofa bed in the main living room had a large water stain (or at least we hoped it was water !).
Cleaning seemed to be done sporadically rather than routinely, and then it was a token gesture rather than a serious clean.
Half of all sunbeds around the pool were broken - this meant that people had to sunbathe on towels on the grass unless you were one of the lucky ones !
In conclusion, it could have been made a lot better for a small investment.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Praia da Rocha hotels

UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I'd read previous reviews and for a couple of quid a night to be honest wasn't expecting great things, but I don't think you can expect better for what I paid.

I had a studio room which was a good size - no bed as such - one of those wooden sofa beds that are common in the med, fine for a couple of days but after that I was almost begging for my bed back home. Kitchen is in 70's mode, and considering its self catering you would find it difficult to cook in there with the equipment provided, but it has a fridge with freezer box, microwave, kettle and an electric hob.

Bathroom was clean, constant hot water and the shower was quite powerful.

My balcony had really nice views however there I was in the corner room and no-one was in the room next to me for the majority of the week - once they were however I realised they could see right into my room from their balcony -so no walking round naked!

I visited first week in October and the place was all but deserted - aside from one shop all the others were closed and I often had the pool to myself until mid afternoon which was lovely :)
I didn't think the pool was particularly clean so didnt use it.

Cleaners put loo rolls and towels in the room twice during my week long stay - but only emptied the bin once in a week -so the bin wasnt emptied for 5 days - in a self catering apartment that isnt great - when they did clean it was literally a brush and a mop, no sheet change, no cleaned bathroom or kitchen.

Reception staff were friendly and were really kind to me as i had an early morning flight they let me keep my room for the extra night free of charge which I really appreciated.

Praia da Rocha itself was as other writers have said a bit on the dilapidated side, I was disappointed t first as there is a lot of graffiti everywhere, along the beach, on the sides of the roads, its really awful and I was surprised by how much there was. The beach however is beautiful, really clean, sea was clear (tho cold!) really nice to walk along - this apartment (and the beach itself) wouldnt be suitable for anyone who struggles with hills or steps, it was uphill from the apartment to get to the beach and the beach can only be got to via steps down - getting back up when its hot was a killer.

The main strip and marina was really nice, as always with the euro, meals aren't cheap - around 7 euros for an omelette, upwards of 9 euros for a main meal usually. Most places are around 5-7 euros for a cooked breakfast. I would recommend Taffys for their pick your own breakfast which was really good value and also Tokyo all you can eat Japanese buffet for 13.95 euros, the sashimi was unbelievable!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank evoluptua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
0.3 mi away
Clube Praia da Rocha
Clube Praia da Rocha
#18 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
2.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Avenida Praia
Hotel Avenida Praia
#17 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Clube dos Arcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Clube dos Arcos

Property: Apartamentos Clube dos Arcos
Address: Av. V3, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8400 , Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and LoveHolidays so you can book your Apartamentos Clube dos Arcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Clube Dos Arcos Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Apartamentos Clube Dos Arcos Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing