We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awfully old-fashioned..needs refurbishment ASAP!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartamentos Clube dos Arcos
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awfully old-fashioned..needs refurbishment ASAP!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

Me and my partner stayed in Club Arcos for a week. The ONLY things we liked about the hotel is that it's only couple of minutes walk from the beach and the staff were very helpful.
The room was clean, but very out dated. The beds (2 singles that we couldn't even put together because of the big wooden frames) were extremely uncomfortable and loudly squeaky. We stayed on a self-catering basis, so had a stove which was very slow and an aluminium jar that was meant to be a kettle and it took ages for water to boil in it. The bathroom didn't have enough light, the shower head was leaking and honestly it wasn't pleasant having a shower there.
All in all, we would definitely not come back there again, but really we got what we paid for which wasn't much, but hopefully the review would help someone who is paying a lot more for the hotel than us.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vuvuzela_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    42
    57
    26
    44
See reviews for
51
72
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

Before we went to stay in club arcos we were a bit weiry with some of the bad reviews, but when we got there we were suprised it was nt as bad as made out!!

it was clean which was good,, def out of fashion but we did nt care as we did nt go on holiday to sit in the hotel.. bed s aren t comfortable but bearable, pool was fine but we spent alot of time at the beach!!!

staff were very helpful but if u want to book a trip go to travel agents on the strip as it works out cheaper!!

location is excellent beside everything u ll need , 5 mins from strip and beach!!

the resort was beautiful, beach was best i seen so far...

went to the markets on wed brillant for handbags and jewellery...

enjoy ur holiday!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joy1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyrone
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

we went for the week the rooms were alrite despite to single beds for a couple. The receptionists wern't very helpful and one stole my ball, the bar was small ten people would have filled it. the main strip of shops, bars, and restaurants was nice and lively, the local were friendly apart from afew drug dealers sellin smoke or charlie every few 100 yards. we had a good time tho the local travel agent was very helpful they booked and organised buses to the nearby waterparks an activities i would recomend slide and splash we had a great day there and it was cheap. we had a good time it was a great atmosphere and would recomend it

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smokesmokecharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

i have just returned from an 8night stay at these apartments. i went with my partner & 2 teenage sons. the holiday, all in cost £500 ( i booked flights, transfers & apartment all seperately ) this was our 1st ever self catering holiday. i booked it, because the reviews i read said great location & clean. then i read other, not so nice reviews & i was definately apprehensive about them.....i'm still not altogether sure if i would go back to them. they ARE basic, cleanliness wise...? well it's hard to tell if they were not as clean as they should be or it's just because they're in dire need of refurbishment. the staff however were all courteous & helpful...we asked for a kettle & toaster & they appeared within 10mins, we asked for loo roll, again, appeared within 10mins.the apartments ARE on a noisy road, but none of us lost any sleep ( window open ) the location is EXCELLENT!! if you walk out of reception & turn left, walk up the little hill ahead of you, that's you on the main strip, turn right for some good value bars / restaurants ( Taca bar is highly recommended, the owner Jones is charming, attentive, chatty & he sells beer, wine, coke, sangria all day long for 1Euro, his meals are small portions, but perfect for snacks or lunches & at no more than 3Euros, a bargain....the Real American steak house is great, so is the Tandoori house...we had fish & chips for 5Euros 1 lunchtime ( can't remember the name but it's next door to an Irish bar down the left hand side of the strip, but right hand side of the road, without a doubt the best fish n chips ever!....there's menus / meals in Praia da Rocha to suit all budgets..the beaches are beautiful!! there's plenty to do as well, we went to Aqualand, Zoomarine ( both have curtiousy coaches ), boat trip on the Santa Bernarda, jet skiing & kayaking on the beach, all great! we ate out all the time & for that reason, Club Arcos was fine as a base....( & 4 of us always went in the lift together, no problems, )

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marydoll11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

Well i have never done this before, but before i went to Club Arcos, i was on this side trying to know where i was going, and i was kind off stressed to go there for 2 weeks because of the reviews.

The first thing came up to my mind when i got in to our room was ; u its very old and old and not what i expected. After 1 night i liked it, every thing worked, we had a kitchen where we could cook a meal, there was a refrigerator so we could keep food there very good, we had a big living room with sofa, tv, cabinet, table and chairs.And then bathroom with bath and wc and mirror and stuff, and the bedroom was big with big bed and very large wardrobe.And the balcony was very big and had table and chairs also. It was good enough for us two.
And the pool was very nice also everybody who i meet at the hotel was always there and was very happy about they rooms :)

The staff was very nice and if there was something wrong they always help us with anything. Like our flight was cancel.. and we had to find hotel and flight on ourselves, and they just had no problem with it and let us stay for less money.

This holiday was the best of all time. Everybody was happy and good.
But if your a bad customer then of course they don't like you. And if you are a snoop don't go there its good but it not a fancy hotel..
But if you want to stay at a hotel that have everything and its ok, cheap, and save then go, you got nothing to lose.. you are just going to stay there for eating in morning, for changing clothes and sleep and yes drinking before you go out ;) well i just want it to tell you this because its very amazing plays if you are a normal person :)
And the beach and the streets are amazing its so nice and so good food for so small money !! and free shots all over the place at night. Amazing nightlife!! :D
And so much you can do there, go on a cruise and surfing, and slide and splash everything is so fun :D
but ok i just want it to tell you this and don't be scared to go because of the review it not that bad as you think it is :)
i wanna go there again and at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inga53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

We booked a package deal with global late deals for £700.That was flights,coach transfers and apartment for 1 week.It was for me, my wife and 3yr old. We wanted somewehere close to the airport (2nd drop off and 2nd last pick up) 1hr max, close to the beach(10 min walk) and close to shops and restaurants (10 mins walk). The apartment had 2 bedrooms one double bed, one twin bedroom.A very small kitchen area (only 4 rings to cook on) a fridge.Sitting room with balcony.We stayed in room 305 which over looked a roundabout and had a noisy street at night outside the double bedroom.However the noise did not wake up my child once,and we hardly noticed it.The apartment was very dated but clean,and it was cleaned every two days with fresh towels.The beaches were lovely and went for miles in both directions,some places were stoney others were lovely and sandy.Loved the beaches. The apartment was a lovely walk to some very good restaurants at night and even though the main town centre was only 15mins away you never heard anything,but you did see all the cars heading off in that direction.The drink was very cheapin the local off licience and cafe bars and you could get a very cheap 3 course dinner for less that 9euro or eat somewhere better.Our averge meals no alcohol,for 3 mains and desert 40-45 euro.the most we paid for a dinner with extra on the sides,and deserts ,water,soft drinks and 16 euro bottle of wine was 61 euro.The food in all the restaurants was top.Did not have one bad meal and we ate out 7 nights. The only down side was on weekend in our block Fri/Sat night the bar downstairs, played very very loud music till 3am both nights. Went down to complain the second night but was told the bar was owned by someone else and they were unable to get him to turn it down.So if you do decide to stay here get a room at the back and high up and you will see and hear nothing. They do have two pools one for kids and one for adults. Only that nothing else.Would i go back to the same apartment block? Yes but only for a week and if i was only sleeping and eating breakfast there,otherwise i would pay more and stay at a better block and there seemed to be loads all around us. Loved the place but only for a week.After 1 week unless u had a car ,it can get boring.Plenty theme parks, but all 50mins away and was too hot on bus with 3yr old.For what we paid in school hol term week(31st may 7th june 2010) it was its money. If you can get it for less your on a winner but I would not pay anymore than £700.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabslondonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

Stayed here for a week Apartment was a good size with two balconies where we sat every night, good views of sea. Good points are: really friendly and helpful reception staff, clean apartment, good close access to beach and strip. Beach is fantastic and bars and resaurants are good, you can get cheap beer and food, Superbok and Sagres are lovely. Go up to the strip and turn right for good cheap restaurants, La Gioconda Pizzaria is brill, but avoid Fagins fish and chip shop, Chicken Piri Piri is delicious and Borba wine is local and reasonable and very drinkable. Small supermarket close by which always seemed to be open. Bad points: lumpy matress and pillows, put a blanket under my sheet and this was more comfy. had to ask for kettle, No mugs only tiny cups, tiny cutlery, no dishcloth or teatowel. Electricity kept tripping, my husband had to push trip switch back in. Shower head kept tilting downwards while having shower, my husband fixed this. Toilet cistern kept filling, my husband fixed this too. The apartments are very noisy with doors banging and you can hear everything from the room above including squeaky mattress! Situated on very busy road and roundabout unable to have window open at night,and no air con. Apartments a little tired, shabby and basic but good base. Walked to Portinao and got bus back, bus system very easy and cheap. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable time and would love to go back but maybe to a quieter hotel. Good value if you don't mind the noise.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joopwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
0.3 mi away
Clube Praia da Rocha
Clube Praia da Rocha
#18 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
2.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Avenida Praia
Hotel Avenida Praia
#17 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Clube dos Arcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Clube dos Arcos

Property: Apartamentos Clube dos Arcos
Address: Av. V3, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8400 , Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apartamentos Clube dos Arcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Clube Dos Arcos Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Apartamentos Clube Dos Arcos Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing