We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seagulls and dogs but clean”
Review of Vila Rosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vila Rosa Hotel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Let me say we read the previous reviews. The Seagulls are noisy and dogs bark but hey! we knew it so please take note. Dogs are from the surrounding houses not the hotel and 2 Alsations at Ponderosa a house opposite the hotel entrance are really noisy. The seagulls start at about 5.45am but quieten once the sun is up and as its near a fishing port you have to accept that. Now the hotel is clean and perfectly functional ; bit miffed that we were told rooms had dishwasher and AC perhaps should be noted that some rooms have these NOT ALL, same with cooker we had a 4 plate electric hob but NO oven, decent size fridge with small freezer. Advise you to take or buy a EUROPEAN bar plug our room only had one socket in kitchen to operate a toaster, kettle and microwave so some juggling required without a bar plug. 3 x Pool areas were clean and sunbeds available from 9am ish I was down 8.40am most days and never had a problem although sunbeds were a little uncomfortable and they do need a few more as when busy people had to spread towels on grass areas to sit/lie down. Oh and watch your head on parasols they're a bit low and I'm no giant
All in all its not bad and for what we paid at short notice its accceptable. As is the bar food, we spent €38 for 4 people and that included a round of drinks on the last night as packing needed completing, snacks during day are well priced burger €4 with salad & chips, a plate of chips €2, beer €2,5 happy hour 3 for 2 between 4 and 6 on beer, Strongbow €3 per 500ml can, so good value too.
Lidl is €5 each way by taxi for cheap shopping we spent €100 for 2 weeks shopping which lasted right till the end of our 2 weeks and included loads of fluids ( H2O & pop) and fesh fruits, ice creams, etc. for 4 people
Would we go again YES its value for money and if you want a low cost clean relaxing break, bearing in mind noise of seagulls and dogs its worth a visit.

Room Tip: Phone ahead or get your rep to do it
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Vila Rosa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed here for 2 weeks (July/Aug) and had a fantastic time! Yes, the room was basic but we cooked most evenings and the apartments were very quiet despite it being a very busy time at the complex. The sports/entertainment laid on by the Vila was good fun and appropriate for the many Portugese and British/Irish/French families that were there. Our whole family felt well-catered for and had a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chilloutLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I will no return here, my little dog, 1 Kg and sooooo cute, not admitted!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

just enjoyed 10days at club villa rosa, everything was there for a family holiday with 2 children, pool activities bar and walking distance to the main town. the apartment was clean and pratical, air con would of been good, as could not leave windows open at night as the seagulls were very noisy!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annholiday_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

we have stayed at this hotel every year since 2006. we absoloutley love it here! and we have travelled, we have been to the likes of vegas and stayed in 5* plus hotels, but we just love villa rosa. we always stay for a week in july with our family. the staff always remember us and can't do enough to help us. the whole place is so pretty and totally immaculate! we now book direct with the hotel which means we get great rates and villa rosa sort all our transfers. we brought my dad this year and he is intending to book again. next year we are taking friends of ours and i am certain they will fall in love with villa rosa too!

there are seagulls, but as said in a previous review, praia da rocha, it's a beach resort, of course there's seagulls!!

Praia da Rocha is a fab resort, we recommend Claires restraunt, Bacchus Bar with the parrott, Nichos for a boogie, although very expensive drinks and Zoomarine for a day out. Also, Quateira gypsie markets are a good trip and they also call at Vilamoura, lovely place!!

Looking forward to next july!!!

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel and ask for a superior apartment
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsGriffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Ok, so we checked out the reviews before we came and to be honest we thought, only couple bad so must be great as ratings excellent, ..... On arrival we were shown to our room , a 1 bedroom apt to sleep 4, we are a family of four two adults , 1 teenager and one 10 yrs , , there was a sofa bed as stated but the actual bed was a matress type thing on wheels under Neath a very uncomfortable sofa with wooden arms each end ! So the people on the "sofabed" would be tiered so to speak, and the person on top on the sofa part has to make do with wooden arms each end! We complained and the head cleaner showed us other rooms , and in her own words told us they were even worse rooms than previous! , one room actually looked onto an area of hotel with black bin bags , broken glass windows and rubble, awful, hardly the pool view we thought we had, we said we weren't happy so the only option was the manager told us to pay an extra 250 .00 and upgrade to a 2 bed apt, we felt we had no choice but tp do this so we paid the extra.the new apt is very spacious but really really dated like, from 80s and so were the other rooms we looked at , the maids do come everyday, but only to make your bed and sweep they don't clean anything,cobwebs , mould especially in bathroom and 2nd bedroom , and cracked bathroom tiles, also stained mouldy lampshades, we were really disappointed. The staff really helpful and try their best to accommodate you but even they appreciate that the hotel is in need of major updating, as they agreed with us, we were also told by the MANAGER that THOMAS COOK only buy 10 rooms out of the approx 400 in this hotel and she said that Thomas cook only pay a small amount for rooms , hence the English get given the last worse rooms! We were told this also by other members of staff! So to sum it up the staff helpful but I wouldn't recommend this hotel sorry

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rockaholicyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We got a very reasonably priced stay, self catering in vila rosa. The accomodation was clean, spacious and well maintained. The staff were friendly and helpful. On arrival we got a key card for entry to the pool area. The pool was great and we ended up staying there 6 out the 7 days!

The apartments were a 5-10 minute walk to the beach and main strip in praiha da rocha. Amazing!!!

Its also a 5 minute drive to portimao which was great for dinners and evening walks.

We had hired a car and parking was made available for us free of charge. Can't really speak highly enough of the place. We're a couple in out mid-20's and vila rosa was ideal. We could chill if we wanted and party when the mood took us. Tremendous holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonas227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.5 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,030 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,034 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Tur...
#10 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
288 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Rosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Rosa Hotel

Address: Urb Vila Rosa, Praia da Rocha, Portimao, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range: £33 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vila Rosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vila Rosa
Vila Rosa Hotel Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing