We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clube vila rosa prtugal”
Review of Vila Rosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vila Rosa Hotel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This is the second time i have stayed at this hotel and have had no problems eaither time the staff are fantastic very helpfull,freindly and welcoming the hotel is in a fantasic position and only a 10 minute stroll to the beach and main strip which is pretty much a straight walk. There are two bars a small one that is a bit out of sight so i sugest having a good walk around the complex when you get there and a bigger one which has entertainment on most nights and is located by the main pool area the bar staff are all very freindly and you can have a laugh with them. we went as quite a big group and celebrated two birthdays whilst there which they were really helpfull with. They let us store cakes in the restraunt fridge and brought them out at the time we asked .The local people are very welcoming and freindly and do their best to make you feel at home as most of the people speak english we found it quite easy to mix in with everybody. The reception staff are fantastic and very patient and easy to talk to we locked ourselves out a few times and they were always avilible to let us in any problems they will do there best to help you can also book tours through them wich are very good also the night reception staff are fantastic and really helpfull there is a computer in the front reception for anyone missing facebook or twitter .The rooms are basic but very clean we went to the Lidle and Aldi wich cost about 5Euro in a taxi but you could walk it in about 15 minutes ask the reception staff for direction and the locals along the way there very helpfull we bought quite a bit of shopping my only complaint would be there is only a hob microwave kettle and toaster in the room wich if your a bit fussy and like your own food like me you are a bit limited to what you eat althogh the resturant food is lovely i only like certain thing apart from the kitchen appliences its fine the maid are lovely and very helpfull we had clean linen and towels everyday .I read some of the reviews before i went and was a bit weary but had a fantastic holiday lots of fun some of it down to the hotel staff and locals .we read about barking dogs this was not a problem and certainly not as dramatic as some people have made out although i would request lote 4 or lote 5 as this is were we stayed and they are fantastic i really canot fault the staff or hotel .If you enjoy a laugh there is a Irish Bar called Daley,s which we went to most nights if you go and are up for a laugh you wont regret it its open till about 4 in the morning and usually gets busy about 10 at night .there is also a resturant not to far from Daley,s that serves a english roast dinner and breakfast i recomend this too the food is like homemade all in all i would recomed the hotel and will deffinetly be going back .

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

I had a lovely stay in one of the Superior apartments. The accomodation was clean and well equipped in my opinion. The resort was well maintained, the pools were lovely though when we were there there was a bit of pollen floating on the top of the pool from a nearby tree. Of the two pools on the resort the smaller one seemed more adult friendly. As we went out of season ( end of September) the pool bar on the smaller pool was never staffed but I assume in season this would be better staffed.

Personally I loved the fact that the main pool had free WIFI. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

My only criticism of the the place was on the last day we were promised that we could have our room for an extra 7 hours for 30 euros which they then said we couldn't have. but once my friend told them that wasn't on they relented and fulfilled their promise,

the supermarket is a 15 minute walk away or a euro cab ride (be careful to ask the cab driver how much it will be before you get in as they have a tendancy to add extra for baggage...) and the beach was a very manageable 10 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: choose a Superior apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JolieJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The room, pools, entertainment, food,staff,barbecue were all of high standard and we would return to the hotel again. Thank you for the time being there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

My boyfriend and I booked a one-bed apartment at the Vila Rosa complex for a week. Apartment was spacious clean and fresh. The kitchen was a little dated but was fully functional so we didn't mind. We had a lovely long balcony also.
The staff at this complex couldn't do enough - they were so helpful & obliging. We got fresh towels and our beds made every day. Reception staff were very informative and bar staff extremely friendly
What made this holiday for us was the green areas and the pool. They were so well kept and pretty, we never had any bother getting a sun lounger.
To be honest, we didn't love the resort of Praia da Rocha. Though the beach was fab, the strip itself was a little tacky for our liking and there was little to do in the evenings except frequent the numerous bars & clubs. The area could benefit from holding more entertainment shows, though we did see one 80's night in the Hotel Algarve Casino.
The nearby village of Alvor offered better quality restaurants than Praia da Rocha and we spent 3 evenings in here.
Overall, the hotel was beautiful and the fact that it was a ten minute walk to the strip was a good thing for us as it was more peaceful.
I would recommend this hotel 100% but perhaps not the area and in hindsight we should have rented a car.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anna2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Just spent 10 days in an apartment on the complex, it was really clean, fresh towels every other day, a little dated but more than adequate. The only thing missing for it to be perfect was a balcony, although the very friendly & helpful staff did offer us another apartment we decided to stay put. Pool area was great, apart from the other English/Welsh guests who felt it necessary to stake their claim on sun beds with towels!!! Tut tut. Plenty of beds available. Food/snacks were reasonably priced and tasty. Some people have mentioned the barking guard dogs but we didn't think it was too bad. Great area, best breakfast at the Irish Eye, ate there some evenings too and that was just as good. Excellent holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kaggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

This hotel had mixed reviews but we found the staff and general set-up very pleasing. On arrival LowCostHolidays booking was reported to have not been received by the staff but the found set us up with drinks at the bar whilst we worried about 10 days of sleeping rough and then within the hour we were in a lovely clean spacious 1 bedroom apartment.
The room, pools, entertainment, food,staff,barbecue were all of high standard and we would return to the hotel again.
The area of Praia Rocha is good for all ages and with a car Alvor, Lagos, Aquaparc etc all very easy to get to.

Room Tip: Be as pleasant as the Portugese and talk to them sensibly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hereward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Just returned from a family holiday staying at Vila Rosa Hotel. This is not an aparthotel as expected or that we have previously experienced. Rather a timeshare/permanent resident accomodation (with pets), out of which Thomas Cook rent about 10 apartments.
Apartment we had was clean, basic and spacious with air con! However, would strongly recommend that you try to get an apartment which fronts the pool area as the apartments which are on the 'residential' side are constantly disturbed day and night by barking dogs, (particularly the two alsations which belong to the Ponderosa Villa who roam freely and bark at everything and anything).
We stayed half board. The food in cafe/Restaurant was OK but not a wide choice, particularly a lack of fruit and vegatables. Walk into town was about 15 minutes with plenty of choice of restaurants. However, for us the walk was quite difficult to navigate with younger children as the road and flyover are very busy.
Pool area was clean, although there was a significant lack of sunbeds. That said, there are plenty of grass areas to lay a towel on. Care also needs to be taken with the parasols as they are lower than the norm as my 5 ft 9 inch husband would testify (repeatedly)!
Overall, an enjoyable time was had, however, we would not return or reccomend to anyone mainly due to the noise.

Room Tip: Pool side apartment a must unless you take earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4familyhol2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.5 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,050 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,068 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Tur...
#10 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
316 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#6 of 75 in Portimao
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Rosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Rosa Hotel

Address: Urb Vila Rosa, Praia da Rocha, Portimao, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range: £28 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vila Rosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vila Rosa
Vila Rosa Hotel Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing