We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“over rated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vila Rosa Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Vila Rosa Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“over rated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

just returned from villa rosa thank god... we took my mother in law who is disabled only to be given a room that was on the second floor (which was ok until lift broke) we were also placed very far from main pool in what i can only discribe as a block of flats the,, smaller pool was nearer which had a kiosk for drinks and snacks (closed all day every day ????) also room service was very irregular re times ..for example on returning for the afternoon nap we were on more than one occasion woke from our slumber so room could be cleaned in late afternoon and small shop on site is a rip off not fair ,they have a captive market and use this to their full advantage very poor and very overated

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chas989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    113
    49
    16
    10
See reviews for
132
76
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Just back from a 10 night stay late May 2012. Overall had a good experience here. Friendly and helpful staff, rooms were spotless (stayed in C block) although only a two-ring cooker and kettle provided for self-catering. Choice of two seperate pools. Nice quiet complex and well maintained. Bar food was fine particularily for midday lunch/snacks etc. Entertainment some evenings in bar/lounge. Small shop on-site for any essentials. Main resort area is only 5 or 6 minutes dander (really nice clean beach here). Transfer from Faro airport about 1hour. Would return again as ticked all the main boxes and was good value alround.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cody1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Firstly, before we go anywhere new we always check the details regarding check-in and check-out times. As with most hotels they are freely available and easy to find. If you arrive at 9am and it says 4pm check-in then don't expect a room to be ready - wherever you travel to.

VilaRosa is a lovely complex. It's not perfect but where is? The staff are always helpful and the gardens and pools are well kept. The pool is a little cold in October though.

The on site restaurant has always been good value and the bar area is great for families.

Regarding noise - yes some of the apartments back onto side roads and these can be a little noisy. I know there are a few problems with dogs barking at night but I've never heard seagulls after dusk.

If you go I would recommend upgrading to one of the superior rooms as these are actually part of the timeshare part of the complex. They are much better equipped and are quieter than the main area of the complex.

We go as a couple now but in the past we have taken our children with us and they have always loved it. I would recommend it for anyone with young children right up to late teens as there is something for all ages.

It's about a 10-15 min walk to the beach and the main 'strip'. This can get very busy in the summer months and is not for everyone. Young adults tend to love it but us oldies tend to give it a miss and find the quieter areas to drink and dine (there is plenty of choice).

All in all a lovely complex and as one of our friends said when the came with us for their first ever visit:

'It's an oasis in a concrete jungle' as Praia da Rocha has quite a few high rise apartment blocks.

One thing we did complain about last visit was the poor quality of the TV stations on offer. In October you expect a few wet days and a TV with some English channels is a must. However we were assured it would be sorted for our next visit.

Room Tip: If you go I would recommend upgrading to one of the superior rooms as these are actually part of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laserjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed in the vila rosa for a third time and it was a great stay, very quiet , the staff as usual were to pleased to help, the bars and resturants were all great. SHAME ABOUT THE GYPSIES THOUGH they spoilt our holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrismidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

very good would stay there again! only a short walk to main strip with shops, restaurants and bars, hotel staff were very nice and pleasant! room was very big and had plenty of room to put things away.

Room Tip: self catering in the seperate block overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charity p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I thought this was actually one of the worst places i ever stayed in as far as service goes. We had a booking from the 15th May and we arrived at the hotel at 9.45am in the morning to be told that there was no room available for us ( or anybody else in our party) and we were then told that there would be no rooms available until 4.00pm!!!! Unless we wanted to upgrade to a superior room for an extra 98 euro (con artists if i ever met any!!) 2 couples in our party took this option and got there rooms straight away!! We were offered the 'luggage room' to get a change of clothes etc.....!!! We made it clear to the hotel staff that we weren't happy about having to wait till 4 o'clock and asked could they speed up the process of getting the rooms ready ( though god knows what could possibly take that long to get ready in standard self catering apartments- and they certainly werent full as there was barely a sole in the place!) The receptionist gave each of us a complimentary drink voucher for the bar by way of apology so we all re-treated to the bar to use them - to be told that they could only be used for a small beer or a soft drink!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (argghhhhh- i was reaching boiling point by this stage) at about 2'Oclock another member of our party went back up to reception to see if there was any update on the rooms for ALL of us and came back to tell us that they had upgraded just her to a superior room but there was still no rooms for the rest of us!! so now they had charged two other couples for superior rooms and left 4 couples with still no rooms...yet one had got a free upgrae seemingly because she had been the nominated one to find out what was going on!! it was ridicolous!!!!!! The rest of us then had to wait till 5.00pm for our rooms ( not even the 4.00pm we had been promised it would be!) we were offered no apology or re-imbursment of the moneys paid for the room that day!! The food in the hotel was bad bad bad...and thats if what you ordered actually came out as the staff didnt seem to understand anything that was ordered!! overall i thought the staff were rude, un helpful...particuarly bad at there jobs...and i certainly would not reccomend staying there to anyone!! Also EVERYDAY the maids arrived at the room at 6.00pm ( you know the time people are going back to there rooms for a rest/het ready to go out) despite complaining about this they continued to arrive at 6.00pm!!!! DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL....ITS CRAP!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErinCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
offaly
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

just home from our stay in the villa rosa and i have to say we totally enjoyed our stay. we were a group of 14 women and not 1 of us could fault our stay in fact we would all return to these apartments again. staff were so helpful and friendly. food was fab and the apartments were so clean we had cleaners in every second day. the pool was also fab. cant see how anyone could give these apartments a bad review. they were in a nice location only a ten minute to beach shops and clubs.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deesha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#5 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clube Praia da Rocha by ITC Hotels & Resorts
Clube Praia da Rocha by ITC Hote...
#18 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Rosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Rosa Hotel

Property: Vila Rosa Hotel
Address: Urb Vila Rosa, Praia da Rocha, Portimao, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Rosa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Vila Rosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vila Rosa
Vila Rosa Hotel Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing