We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's hard to fault this place”
Review of Vila Rosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vila Rosa Hotel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's hard to fault this place”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I have just come back fom staying in Villa Rosa for one week with my three sisters and nephew. Each of us had a brilliant holiday and we are very sad to be home! As i said in the title it really is hard to fault Villa Rosa.

The complex caters for everyone including children, couples, single people (that want to relax, maybe not the young wild ones). In my opinion the facilites in Villa Rosa are what makes it. There are tennis courts, cheap and cheerful mini market and two swimming pool areas. One of the swimming pool area is smaller and quieter which is ideal when you want to relax away from children and music. It has a bar which serves food and drink. The bigger pool area has a bit more of an atmposhere and serves a bigger range of food. It has a lovely big resteraunt and bar area. There is also lovely grounds to the complex, nice grass areas to sunbath if you don't want to lie on the sun loungers.

We stayed in the two bed family room which was so spacious and homely. It had a lovely living area, fully equiped kitchen, backgarden with sun loungers and also a small little front garden. The room felt like our own little private villa.

The acutal location of the complex was perfect, 10 min walk to the strip and beach which meant we were not right on top of the hussle and bussle and not too far away at the same time!

Another touch this complex offers is the staff. There is a lovely friendly lady that works in the mini market and another polite happy young lady that works at the smaller pool area. They made us feel very weclome. The bar men and waiter were also excellent.

We liked this complex so much that we are hoping to come back next year for two weeks! The place has so much to offer we feel a week was far too shot.

Thank you Villa Rosa for making this stay so memorable :-)

Room Tip: We stayed in block A which had the villa like rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank supertres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    117
    51
    20
    11
See reviews for
135
84
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I have been coming to this hotel for the last 15 years and it never goes down hill. The staff are always friendly and easy to talk to. Was a shame that the pool bar was closed for our first few days when we were there but its understandable as they were training someone up. I do not know why there is some bad comments just ignore them as this is the place to go. Also if you wish to go out for a nice meal I recommend two place one is in Praia da Rocha the other in Alvor. The one in Praia da Rocha is the Titanic and the other in Alvor is Mister Alvor the owner of it used to work at Vila Rosa behind the bar and is very friendly just get a taxi there only costs 8 euros but there was only 6 of us. The reception at Vila Rosa were so helpful as we were celebrating my parents anniversary and supplied us with strawberries and sparkling wine which was lovely. Ignore the bad comments as this hotel is such a nice place to relax and enjoy yourself.

Room Tip: The apartments are probably the nicest rooms at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hayles21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budel, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This place is very good. Spacious rooms, clean and very friendly staff. Best in Portugal we met! And the kids liked the pools!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

just returned from villa rosa thank god... we took my mother in law who is disabled only to be given a room that was on the second floor (which was ok until lift broke) we were also placed very far from main pool in what i can only discribe as a block of flats the,, smaller pool was nearer which had a kiosk for drinks and snacks (closed all day every day ????) also room service was very irregular re times ..for example on returning for the afternoon nap we were on more than one occasion woke from our slumber so room could be cleaned in late afternoon and small shop on site is a rip off not fair ,they have a captive market and use this to their full advantage very poor and very overated

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chas989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Just back from a 10 night stay late May 2012. Overall had a good experience here. Friendly and helpful staff, rooms were spotless (stayed in C block) although only a two-ring cooker and kettle provided for self-catering. Choice of two seperate pools. Nice quiet complex and well maintained. Bar food was fine particularily for midday lunch/snacks etc. Entertainment some evenings in bar/lounge. Small shop on-site for any essentials. Main resort area is only 5 or 6 minutes dander (really nice clean beach here). Transfer from Faro airport about 1hour. Would return again as ticked all the main boxes and was good value alround.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cody1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Firstly, before we go anywhere new we always check the details regarding check-in and check-out times. As with most hotels they are freely available and easy to find. If you arrive at 9am and it says 4pm check-in then don't expect a room to be ready - wherever you travel to.

VilaRosa is a lovely complex. It's not perfect but where is? The staff are always helpful and the gardens and pools are well kept. The pool is a little cold in October though.

The on site restaurant has always been good value and the bar area is great for families.

Regarding noise - yes some of the apartments back onto side roads and these can be a little noisy. I know there are a few problems with dogs barking at night but I've never heard seagulls after dusk.

If you go I would recommend upgrading to one of the superior rooms as these are actually part of the timeshare part of the complex. They are much better equipped and are quieter than the main area of the complex.

We go as a couple now but in the past we have taken our children with us and they have always loved it. I would recommend it for anyone with young children right up to late teens as there is something for all ages.

It's about a 10-15 min walk to the beach and the main 'strip'. This can get very busy in the summer months and is not for everyone. Young adults tend to love it but us oldies tend to give it a miss and find the quieter areas to drink and dine (there is plenty of choice).

All in all a lovely complex and as one of our friends said when the came with us for their first ever visit:

'It's an oasis in a concrete jungle' as Praia da Rocha has quite a few high rise apartment blocks.

One thing we did complain about last visit was the poor quality of the TV stations on offer. In October you expect a few wet days and a TV with some English channels is a must. However we were assured it would be sorted for our next visit.

Room Tip: If you go I would recommend upgrading to one of the superior rooms as these are actually part of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laserjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed in the vila rosa for a third time and it was a great stay, very quiet , the staff as usual were to pleased to help, the bars and resturants were all great. SHAME ABOUT THE GYPSIES THOUGH they spoilt our holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrismidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
984 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Flor da Rocha
Flor da Rocha
#11 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Rosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Rosa Hotel

Property: Vila Rosa Hotel
Address: Urb Vila Rosa, Praia da Rocha, Portimao, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Rosa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Vila Rosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vila Rosa
Vila Rosa Hotel Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing