We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clube Vilarosa Hotel -Portugal September 2012” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vila Rosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vila Rosa Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clube Vilarosa Hotel -Portugal September 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Me and my girlfriend (both in early 20's) stayed here between 16/09/12 and 26/09/12 and really enjoyed it!! The hotel is great value for money, its obviously not really posh and modern but for a three star its very well kept, clean, tidy and the room we had was very nice.

The pool was very nice and clean and the pool bar was reasonably priced. The staff were very pleasant and friendly, as were all of the hotel reception staff who helped us with directions many times!

There is also a mini-market and a restaurant on the hotel complex along with tennis courts, and a smaller pool. The hotel was around a 5-10 minute walk from the beach and the strip where all the restaurants, bars and shops are, and its about 10-15 minute walk the other direction to the old town and a supermarket which is huge and very well priced if you are self catering.

Overall it was a brilliant hotel and a very nice place, lots to do for all ages, its not on the coast but that's why its well priced but its location is still very good.

The only negatives in our experience were that the corridors outside of our room were quite big and echoed a lot, when people came home early in the morning, or when the maids were cleaning rooms early then the shouts and bangs did wake us up and were a bit annoying.

Recommendation's:
We stayed in a "Superior Studio Apartment" which was a really good size and a nice room, we also requested a balcony for a pool view (as other reviews recommended because other views are mostly other buildings). For eating out we would also definatly recommend an Italian restaurant at the end of the strip called "Bulli & Pupe" we ate there a lot, and also a place called Hollywood.

We would definatly go back to this hotel. Hope it helps!!

Room Tip: Superior rooms are a better size and request a balcony with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    113
    49
    16
    10
See reviews for
132
76
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fife scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

just back from a 11 day holiday ,good clean, great pool area,hired a car for 3 days seen a lot of the area.about 10 min walk from the villa to the strip .couple of small things we were watching the big tv screen the grand prix was on but it was turned over for the football,8or 9 people where watching there was only 2 wanting the football .the pillows where a bit lumpy ,dogs barking at night and the seagulls where on the roof opp very noisy ,shut windows was the cure but it became very hot in room thats me just being a pain .The only bad bit is walking back from the strip after 12 a car stoped near the back entrance a guy got out the car tried to snatch the wifes bag there was a bit of a struggle ,he did not get the bag made off .contacted the night porter ,he phoned the police.just a wee warning to any body walking back at night beware ,get a taxi back,no wanting to put any body off this great villa rosa but we just feel the need for others to beware of this bag snatching from some idiots that could spoil a good holiday.i will come back to the villa rosa much enjoyed .john drummond.

Room Tip: pool veiw .corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

just got back from vilarosa, it was nice for a chill out, nice apartment, there was a nice resteraunt called safari food lovely, staff great. we had a superior room at vilarosa it was clean maids everyday, reception staff lovely, barman Eliat always happy and very helpful. you have to be fit as some of the apartments there is 33 steps to climb, steps everywhere even down to the beach, we won't be returning there as we found the steps exhausting, the view from our apartment was high rise apartments so that was a bit of a let down. we did overlook the pool so that was nice.

Room Tip: superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pauline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

The dogs are quiet. The location is superb, the rooms are always clean, the staff are always helpful, polite, friendly. Any problems are immediately smoothed. We had a faulty fridge and reported it in the morning. By lunchtime, a new fridge had replaced the old and our food placed into the new. We love it here and enjoy coming here again and again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazzapaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Curragh, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Just back from 8 nights in Clube Vila Rosa. We stayed in block A which was a duplex type unit as there was 7 of us rangeing in age from 24 to 81. The apartments were lovely. Ours had 3 bedrooms one of which was en suite, the other 2 bedrooms had lovely terraces, a main family bathroom with bath, living and dining area which had a fold down couch, a down stairs wc and storage area and a kitchen. Kitchen was fine we didnt use it much to be honest! the poor kettle got a bit of a bashing tho, since it was one of the ones that you put on the hob rather than electric - the nannys like their tea so was feeling a bit sorry for the kettle by the time they were finished!
the hotel has 2 pools, a small one which is very quiet and has a little bar beside it, and the main big pool which has the cluben bar beside it - we had no issue getting sun beds any of the days we were there. we ate in the cluben bar a few days and the food isnt expensive but very good. I'd recommend the pizzas. The staff here are the hotels shineing jewel. Fantastic - couldnt do enough for us and id highly recommend this hotel for the staff alone. Theres quite a few steps here as well so as another posted might be an issue for some. We used the tennis court one evening - 6.50 for an hour - was good fun. Theres a mini market as well for essentials but to be completely honest its very expensive, theres a spar shop at the top of the hill which isnt a long walk where you'll get your essentials a lot cheaper. All in all i would hightly recommend this hotel and its staff are to be praised highly. Hope you all enjoy! PS Its only about 10 minute walk to the beach - beautiful beautiful beach. feel free to contact me if any one has any questions. :)

Room Tip: Choose a superior room for AC. Ours was very close to the small pool - which was unit A7
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walshleona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

stayed at the vila rosa in august and had a great time, apartment very nice and had a maid service every day. the complex was very nice staff helpful and shop on site great for getting drinks and snacks especially the freshly baked rolls. the kids loved the swimming pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Club Vila Rosa Hotel for seven nights. We stayed in a superior studio in B Block, it was surprisingly large, clean and tidy, but in need of a little updating (for self catering hob and kettle not electric). There are two pool areas both lovely with plenty of sun loungers but not suitable for disabled people. We found the lady in reception very helpful when we arrived at 10pm and was escorted to our room, We did not eat within the complex as there are plenty of restaurants on the main strip 10 mins away in Praia Da Rocha (We'd recommend Dolce Vita near the Casino). Bad points are the cleaner visiting our room at around 8.00pm every night and the location would not be suitable for disabled people. Overall it was very relaxing holiday, hope you find this useful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#5 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.5 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Rosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Rosa Hotel

Property: Vila Rosa Hotel
Address: Urb Vila Rosa, Praia da Rocha, Portimao, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Rosa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Vila Rosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vila Rosa
Vila Rosa Hotel Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing