We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”
Review of Vila Rosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vila Rosa Hotel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never Again”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I have stayed here on two occasion in the past but I have to say my last experience was not good.
We were placed in a lot 20 which had no balcony and a disgusting view.

We asked to be moved and were told the apartments were fully booked.
I have two eyes and could see this was just an excuse to do nothing.
I persisted and was eventually moved to lot 21 which was not much better and were kept awake by a barking dogs.
The toilet cistern made a dripping sound which they failed to fix even after I complained.
They need to update the TV sets and a few more English channels would not go a miss.
I don't think I will return to Villarosa.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Lot 20 or 21
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    118
    51
    20
    13
See reviews for
138
84
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

A really good choice to stay. Lovely big room with separate bedroom. A nice breakfast which fills you up till the evening. Only a 15 walk to portimao which was a nicer resort than rocha. Always saw cleaners cleaning. Staff very helpful and knowledgable. Would return.

Room Tip: Block 4 very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cakes78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Just had lovely holiday here but have to agree about not doing half board as breakfast was very boring and rodeo bar served cold food even ten minutes after opening. Manager did not care when it was mentioned. On plus side rooms lovely and as always a beautiful place to visit .s k

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thumper23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We have just returned from a 10 night stay in clube vilarosa and have to say the hotel was excellent, staff were very helpful and friendly, the grounds and pool area was lovely and spotless. We stayed in a superior studio with balcony overlooking the pool, woul defiantly recommend requesting one with balcony as the others do not have one. The area itself is lovely with great resturants and bars all around, it's 10 minute walk down to the main strip. I would definitely recommend this hotel as I cannot fault it or it's staff, will defiantly be returning

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarr85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

do not go half board as the food was really poor cold and same menu every night in the rodeo restaurant .and the bar food was warm at least but 2 of us were bad after eating spag bol there but the hotel was really nice staff very friendly and the pools were great .the rooms were great and really big

Room Tip: lots of dogs barking in some rooms block 4 was fine though
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

What a lovely place, clean and well maintained close to the beach with lovely clean pools and an excellent restaurant. The very helpful and pleasant staff were tolerant and understanding of those of us who may be a little different. Thank You

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanklin
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2013

we stayed here 2 years ago and had such a good time we were happy to come again . we stayed at vila rosa from 19th - 29th july 13 with my 2 teenagers . we stayed in a town house with 2 bedrooms, 2 bath rooms, lounge ,dining room, large kitchen [ with oven and big fridge freezer ] and a our own back garden with table and chairs and sun loungers.the place was more than big enough for all of us and was spotlessly clean .
we discovered that for a 15 minute walk there was a massive super market where you could stock up with essentials for a lot less than nearby spas ,and a taxi back was only 4 euros . Opposite the super market was a lidl and a mcdonalds [ which always comes in handy !]
We find the pool excellent with different depths to suit everyone and we never had a problem getting loungers . The pool area was always very clean .
The staff at vila rosa are always very polite and helpful elias and rafael even remembered us from our last stay . My 16 year old son got on well with some portuguise guests and often played football with them, hes still intouch with them now .
Over all the vila rosa is our favorite place to stay, we always come back feeling totally relaxed , and weve met some wonderful people . Theres only one down side to staying at the vila rosa ... . you have to eventually come home :(

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne_wraxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.4 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,004 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,004 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Tur...
#11 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
283 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Rosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Rosa Hotel

Property: Vila Rosa Hotel
Address: Urb Vila Rosa, Praia da Rocha, Portimao, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Vila Rosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vila Rosa
Vila Rosa Hotel Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing