We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay - noisy night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vila Rosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vila Rosa Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice stay - noisy night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

We arrived at 22h and it was closed. We had to phone someone very helpful that gave us all keys and showed the car park for the car

The apartment was very big and the kitchen was separated from the room.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VPG23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    113
    49
    16
    10
See reviews for
132
76
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

We stayed in Vilarosa in September 2010. I agree with my fellow review writer from Ireland - I wish I had not read the negative reviews on Trip Advisor before we went as I also worried as we have a child aged 3.

I really want to write this positive review as we had a lovely time and were treated really well by the staff - a porter helped us to our apartment when we first arrived as we had buggy and three suitcases. There are little trolleys outside the main reception. The reception staff booked us in quickly and gave us our key. You have to pay a small deposit for the key, around 30 euro - but it aids security of the complex. Security is good there are gates which lock, you swipe your room key to enter after hours.

The pool area is fabulous with 3 pools in one, a children's pool which is long and shallow, a medium sized pool and a very deep pool. There is also a second pool area which is smaller but just as lovely. The gardens are beautiful and really well maintained. There is a little play area which has a slide and a swing - again really clean and tidy our daughter loved it. A beauty salon, I got a french manicure - it was only 8 euro and it was a fabulous job (I studied beauty and I am a fussy customer). The girl that runs the beauty salon is lovely and the salon itself is really gorgeous. The bar area is also great as others have mentioned they serve food and drinks and you can carry then out to your room - a real bonus when the kids are in bed and you fancy a snack or a beer/wine. Can I also just say the strawberry milkshakes are to die for !!!!!!!!! There is a small supermarket which sells essentials - we found to eat out was reasonable and it is a short walk down the hill, up a bridge over a busy road and you are in the main stretch 10 minute walk approximately.
The beach is fabulous, you can just bring towels and lie or you can hire sunbeds, pay around 10 euro for all day and eat lunch in one of the beach front bars/restaurants and go back to your lounger.
All the staff were so lovely to us at Vilarosa.
We did hear some dogs barking, but dogs bark in Northern Ireland also!
Seagulls (yes, some, but you are by the sea so it is inevitable)
Don't go thinking you are going to 5 star luxury resort because you are obviously not, but the maids came and cleaned our apartment every day, it was basic but it was clean. There were no bugs in the apartment.
We do plan to go back next year, it was a lovely place, lovely staff and there were other families staying there too.
I have attached some pictures, I am sorry there are not more but they have our daughter in them. These should give you a good idea.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesleymindbodyspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

We have just returned from a weeks break at Club Vilarosa. We were a bit apprehensive at first after reading some of the reviews but when we arrived (at 1 am), the reception guy was very helpful. In daylight the place is immaculate, the pool area and gardens are picture postcard quality, with plenty of sunbeds and shade if required. The self catering apartement was in block 23,no excessive noise, overlooking the pool. It was very well appointed, very clean and with a 4 ring hob,kettle, microwave, toaster and fridge all in perfect order plus all pans, tableware and cutlery The room was cleaned every day. The balcony was a bit on the small side, just enough room for a table and 2 chairs,although 4 chairs are provided. The walk to the 'town' is about half a mile and once there the shops aren't bad, the restaurants and bars are plentiful, the ones we tried served very good food at a reasonable price. The beach is about 1 kilometre long of perfect sand, and very clean as are the numerous cafes along it's length. The town of Portemau is 1.3 kilometres (walkable) and very good for shopping. Without a doubt we will return, the hotel and staff made it a very enjoyable break.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squoshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilsden, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

My partner and I have just returned from Vila Rosa today. We are in our 30's and have been fortunate to have experienced some wonderful holidays, so can be a tad fussy. As we had already spent a lot of money on our earlier summer holiday we were travelling on a budget and only chose to go away again due to the fact that this holiday was so cheap and also came highly recommended.

We paid just under £400 for flights and accommodation for one week - amazing!. We went not really expecting much due to the price we paid but we were pleasantly surprised. Firstly the weather was fabulous, hot with a lovely constant breeze. I am soft and feel the cold and thought it was freezing on an evening. Even my partner shivered a few times and we were well wrapped up. We have arrived back this evening, very sad to leave it all behind. I would definitely return, tomorrow if I could. This place is a wonderful find and would highly recommend it.

The hotel was recommend by my partners parents who travel 10+ times per year and have been there 4 times. Experienced travellers recommendation cant be far wrong.

We flew with Ryanair - what a performance that was - delays, terrible service and more delays. Once finally in Faro we queued for over two hours and had to wait in a mile long queue to be told where our transfer coach was. One man dealt with every passenger??? madness!!

Once finally on the coach, which was modern and air-conditioned the transfer took over an hour and we were the very last to get dropped off. It was 2.30am ( we arrived in Leeds airport at 3.30pm to fly at 4.30pm and the flight was only 21/2 hour long - so you can see we had a lot of waiting around) - we were waiting around for 8+ hours.

We were shown to our room by a mute man who I can only presume was very tired like us, and he never offered any help or even a smile. The room was really tired and dated and had a uncomfortable feel to it but we thought for the money we paid we will have to put up with it. Anyway the next day, it felt worst - it was small and dark so we asked to be moved as we could not bare to be in the room for any length of time. The reception staff were so friendly and helpful - particularly Tania and Sonia. We were offered a superior room for £150 for the remainder of the week. The superior rooms are so much nicer with a small garden over looking the pool but we did not want to spend that much so we asked for an alternative and we were given, for no extra, room 403, lotte 4 - it was so much better. Though very dated and basic it was fantastic compared to the other one and it has a huge balcony. The view was not that spectacular but with the sun and long distance views it was more than enough. The room was on the top floor next to the lift. The lobby area was lovely and light sensors were activated once you entered. The lift was perfect and did not disturb us as first thought.

The room was huge. Small kitchen (no oven) but everything else. Table and chairs. Sofa Bed and chair. The TV was a small naf portable and we could only get BBC1 but it had a perfect picture and was fit for purpose. The bathroom, only a tad tired was clean and always had hot water. Both a shower and a bath and clean fluffy towels were provided every day and the apartment was kept spotlessly clean daily.

The beds are not that comfy and no double beds, two singles. There are extra pillows and blankets. But again we soon got used to it (and I am a bit fussy) . A huge wardrobe and a patio door onto the balcony. It was bliss once you got past the dated decor. Light and airy and huge. 2 further patio doors in the lounge area.

You need to take a hair dryer and a iron if you are staying in the standard room - if you are lucky enough to get a superior room then I noticed that they provided an iron, ironing board and hairdryer - also the superior room has an oven. It was much more equipped and modern.

The pool area was lovely and compact and peaceful. The pool water was like ice and only the brave dare enter. It was so relaxing with only a few couples scattered around the pool. So tranquil. The majority of people staying they were over 50 with a odd few young couples with young children.

The hotel is in a great base and only 10 min walk to main strip and the glorious beach. The main strip is a bit tacky and very expensive. The Irish Bar on the corner did the most enjoyable breakfast and fresh orange. It was not cheap at 6 euros for the breakfast and 3 for the orange, not far off £20 for breakfast is a bit steep but it was nice and it over looks the sea and the service was second to none.

The beach was lovely, there is a charge 10 euros for two plastic sun beds so we decided to do what the locals do and lie on our towels and it was perfect. We even had a picnic which again, was surprisingly enjoyable. The walk along the beach is so lovely and if you follow the decked path to the end it brings you out to a more cosmopolitan marina and restaurant area. Sadly we only found this late on our last night.

There is a great bus service, surprisingly expensive but again you can over look this when travelling in comfort. We travelled to Alvor which was a 15 min bus ride and I am told you can walk there across the beach front but it was too far for me. The bus fare was for 7 euros for 2 one way - we ended up getting a cab back which was 9 euros. Alvor was a quaint village with some lovely restaurants and buildings. Well worth a visit, again more cosmopolitan. Lots of fresh fish for the fish lovers. A lovely place to stay. I had a curry, my partner did not fancy one - I thought it was a bit steep - ½ bottle of house white wine, 1 curry , rice and nan bread £26 and the restaurant was very tired and it was just ok - we were tricked in there by a very friendly Indian man who told us it had a lovely sea view - we actually saw a brick wall with graffiti on but it did amuse us.

Alberfuria was 1 hour bus ride, 17 euros return for two. Once a the bus station there is a 15 min walk to the beach front. This was the old town. This was just ok - the beach was not as nice and the shops were pretty much the same, expensive and tacky but slightly cheaper that Praira but I am told it is really nice so there must have been parts that we did not get to see. You can catch a funny looking blue bus that looks like a childs train to the new town and main strip which we were told is more for young people.

Portamao is a 30 minute walk from the hotel and it is a lovely walk along the marina and well worth a visit. Take the steps by the pink entrance and turn left, then left again and you can either bare left of continue straight on across the round about.

The main strip in Praira is a bit tacky and the restaurants weren’t that great - the best one being the Chinese call Asia - the service and food here was brilliant.

If you are still reading this, I will be surprised lol. If you have any questions feel free to ask. It was my first visit to Portugal and will definitely be returning for more adventures - it would have been even better if we had of hired a car and the roads look so easy to drive along. Well sign posted but you are fine on foot and on the bus. Enjoy!!!!

If you are going soon - we were told it stays warm/ hot, through the day up to November.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

Just returned from 10 days at vila rosa the weather was perfect the whole time we stayed in lote 4 our apartment was large for the 2 of us but was very clean well stocked kitchen ( pots and pans cutlery toaster 4 ring hob kettle microwave ) everything you need for quick meals table and chairs settee and chair tv with bbc no charge nice bathroom and seperate bedroom plenty of storage space large balcony with table and 2 chairs mixed view could have been better no air con but patio doors all have shutters that worked very well pulling them down ment you could keep the doors open even at night there are plenty of parking spaces under the apartments if you have a car vila rosa has 2 pools that are set amongst nice gardens both have pool bars one serves food all day at a good price it is about 10 mins walk to shops and the beach a little bit hilly but not to bad very nice clean beach looks very child friendy but it is down steps once down there are board walks and plenty of beach bars and shaded areas all in all had a good holiday and would go back

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

Just back from 10 days at villa rossa and it was absolutely fabulous. As I was approaching 6 mths pregnant coming up to trip, I made a request to have a 1st floor apartment, and when I arrived they had done this and given us one with extra space and air conditioning as I was pregnant....
it was near the small pool and overlooked the gorgeously maintained gardens...
the girls in reception, especially nadia and fatima were so helpful and gave me advice where to go where there was less steps to beach ect..
there was seagulls but as someone said its beside the sea. thats hardly a complaint!
we did hear dogs barking every now and then in the distance but never to the level to keep one awake where we were.
the cleaners came very day and did a fabulous job.
In fact, the whole place was kept amazingly spotless and security at night made sure one had a peaceful nights sleep.
the town is about 10mins walk downhill and then a small hill to reach the main stretch.
the food in the bar is really lovely and very reasonable, and takeaways to your apt can be got until 11.00pm at night.
For bigger shops, I would recommend Continente, 5 mins in cab but long walk in heat. Costs €4.00 in cab, which is well worth it.
We had a lovely relaxing peaceful holiday, which was based mainly on staying in this lovely hotel. Would recommend to all age groups.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

You get what you pay for and at the Vila Rosa, if you pay that weee bit extra, you get that.
We had no problems with dogs, seagulls(it is beside the sea, what do expect !!!) or anything else, in fact i would go as far to say, i never had such a relaxing holiday, ever and if i didn't relax, it was due to my 6 year old son who thought he was 16!!!, it wasn't down to the Hotel to look after him. I read everything on Trip Adviser before i went and now i wish i hadn't, cos all i did was worry for a fortnight before i went, FOR NOTHING!!!!
I cant wait to book it again for next year, thank you Vila Rosa xx

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morag26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clube Praia da Rocha by ITC Hotels & Resorts
Clube Praia da Rocha by ITC Hote...
#18 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Rosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Rosa Hotel

Property: Vila Rosa Hotel
Address: Urb Vila Rosa, Praia da Rocha, Portimao, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Rosa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Vila Rosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vila Rosa
Vila Rosa Hotel Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing