We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for holidays at the beach”
Review of Santa Catarina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Catarina
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Evora, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good hotel for holidays at the beach”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The first thing you need to know is if you have a car or rented a car the hotel does not provide park, or rather the park that has only fit 8 cars that require a lot of maneuvering and increases the risk of dents and scratches. And you do not have any parking spots near the hotel.
Nevertheless the hotel has a strong point in its favor, the location. On the main street of Praia da Rocha, close to the beach, close to restaurants, close to bars and nightclubs, and near shops.

The rooms are small but are cleaned every day, dated furniture and different kinds of wood, bar and safe. On the sea view rooms and the panoramic elevator note that in front between the sea and the hotel is the Algarve Casino complex that cuts 80% of sea view, so even if you get a room in front of the hotel you may not see the sea, only in rooms further west.

Breakfast is reasonable, lots of fresh fruit, but lack the bread options (only one type). And the eating room is to small.

All personnel is sympathetic and the reception is friendly.

But the main problem is the value, I paid well for a hotel with small rooms, dark hallways, parking ridiculous and dangerous to the cars that park there, and an average 3-star hotel service.

But if you spend the day at the beach and the night on bars and only use the hotel for sleep, its ok.

Room Tip: Sea view only the rooms on the west side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rigonar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    98
    34
    13
    5
See reviews for
38
106
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I have stayed in the Hotel Santa Caterina twice in two years. Each time I used it primarily to sleep in, which is a good thing because you would'nt want to stay there any longer than was absolutely necessary. The tiny rooms I booked which were, to be fair, cheap as chips, both had leaks in the vicinity of the toilet bowl, Ugh. No tea/coffee making gear. No slipmat in the bath. Shampoo/shower bottles not replenished. View of a wall 6 ft outside my window. Breakfast was ok. I checked the prices for December and they are horrendous. Only plus is location.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are much better but more expensive. Pick a room above the first floor or you will see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank edscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

great location , make sure you book sea view room , its the quite end of the strip , lovely to sit on the balcony before going out for dinner with a glass of wine over looking the beach.
Rooms average size, very clean , clean towels daily , beds changed 3 times when we stayed, all staff were extremely helpful.
breakfast was usual continental with plenty of it and lots of fresh fruit, , previous reviews said beds were hard but we found them perfect and had great nights sleep.

the hotel has a panoramic lift which is lovely and noone seemed to comment on before
would definetely book again without hesitation

Room Tip: book a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maisie1468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a week. On our arrival the reception staff was very helpful despite it being after midnight. We got a sea view room as booked through lowcostholidays.com from where the initial holiday experience started with quick efficient emails with no hassle experienced throughout the booking and flying experience.
Our card did not work on the door lock but this turned out to be batteries which the receptionist promptly changed and the bedroom was clean and tidy complete with en suite.
Yes the furniture is basic and dated but its just furniture at the end of the day. Beds were comfortable and we got good nights sleep every night even with windows open and being along main street from the "brit" area and opposite the Algarve casino.
The air con works, the safe works, the room was cleaned to a high standard and bedding and towels changed regularly and we had no complaints.
Staff were pleased to help and pleasant at all times. Breakfasts were nice, continental as we would expect when on the continent with plenty of fruit, breads, jams and the bacon, egg and beans for those who can't do without. Fruit juice is the powdered variety but we have found this seems to be standard abroad over last couple of years.
Panoramic lift was out of order for a couple of days but plenty of other lifts available.
Perfect location away form the Brit and Irish bars but only a short walk away, a lovely view from our room opposite the casino but could see plenty of the East end of the beach together with the inlet to the harbour, meaning we happily spent time on our balcony with a bottle of wine inbetween the day at the beach and getting ready to go out at night.
The best bars and cafes/restaurants (for us) were also at this quieter end of town if you are away to experience local life but generally overall in the entire resort the main courses consisted of a lovely main item (meat, fish etc) but the veg and potatoes/chips/rice very basic so overall food is only a 5-6 out of 10 for myself but sardines so much nicer fresh!
Potomau nice and included a trip to the gypsy market but overall struggled to spend the whole day there but it is a nice walk along river and only about twenty minute walk along roads.
Lagos was much nicer than expected along with Alvor (bus from Portamau) but can get but there from few hundred yards from hotel.

Room Tip: Just ask for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank neil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Hotel is located in a very good area, just across from the beach and at the quite end of the strip and is excellent value for money. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were basic and very clean. I did not eat in the hotel because Praia da Rocha is full of excellent resturants,my favourite being the Safari resturant.All in all i enjoyed my stay at this hotel and if i went back to Praia da Rocha i would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brianstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Great location, accross the road from the beach and few minutes walk from the shops, bars and restaurants. Hotel was extremely clean, breakfast was good and the facilities were adequate. Overall very good value for money but the hotel lacked any warmth or personal touches at all. The downside...I found the beds were very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank karenm2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Hotel is located in a very good area. Just accross the street from the beach -which is in my opinion definitely one of the best and biggest in Algarve !
Liked - 1) Location - right on the main road ,however not too noisy at night ! if you close the window and put aircondition on you cant hear anything at all ! 2) Staff- extremelly helpful and friendly -5 star hotel treatment!. They really did a lot for us and were always happy to help especially Andrea Manuel - very pleasant and really helpful girl. 3)breakfast- not a big choice hovewer have everything you need - fresh fruits, cereals, ham, cheese, different type of breads, English type breakfast -for those you cant go anywhere without them ! 4) good views- amazing view to Atlantic Ocean ! I would recommend you book a room with sea view! 5) Room - simple but had everything what you need . Some people were complaining about hard beds- well I cant say I found beds hard at all !
Dislike- no Wi-Fi internet. However there is access to the computer in the reception area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Aiste M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.1 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
983 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
980 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
279 reviews
0.8 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Catarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Catarina

Property: Santa Catarina
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Catarina 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Catarina Algarve, is a new 3 stars hotel very well located in the first line of the beach (Praia da Rocha) in front of the Casino, at about 4 km from the center of the city and 60 km from Faro's international airport. It has 69 rooms, sea and land view, 6 suits, restaurant, bar, living room, and a panoramic lift with an excellent view for Praia da Rocha. The rooms are all well equipped with balconys, private bathroom, hair dryer, telephone, tv, minibar, air conditioning, heating and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Catarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Catarina Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Santa Catarina Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing