We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Santa Catarina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Catarina
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We visited this hotel in April this year and had a fantastic break. We requested a room with a sea view and this is exactly what we got. Al lthe staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms were cleaned every day to a high standard, with the towels being replaced every day as well. There was always plenty of choice for breakfast and again, the staff were only too happy to help and were always clearing tables and topping up food.
The only negatives were the room was a bit small so moving around was tricky. The pillow my partner had was a bit lumpy but mine was fine! Also as it was only April the air conditioning hadn't been switched to cooling so it was warm at night but keeping the balcony door open kept it a bit cooler. Overall this was fantastic value for what we paid and the friendliness of the Portuguese people every where we wnt really made this holiday

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawnio16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

Well we are off to this hotel for the fourth time. I just know it will be great. We love the location, the views are out of this world. Will let you all know if it is still as good but gosh we do recommend it

Room Tip: Always ask for a sea veiw it is really worth the extra. Also try to get a room high up as the veiw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Davison879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Good, clean accommodation with comfy beds. Fresh towels daily. Nice breakfast and very friendly obliging staff. Great beach front location. No WiFi inn the rooms for ipad or phones just cable for laptops.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We would definitely stay here again if I ever return to the Algarve in Portugal. The staff were very nice. The rooms were very clean and a beautiful view of the beach from the room we had. Breakfast buffet was very extensive for the size of this hotel, great variety. Good value if they could have controlled the weather they would have. We had alot of rain in March this year

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane-marie-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We spent two nights in this hotel and not impressed. We found three roaches both nights in the washroom. We went to complain and show the staff and even took pictures to show them and all they did was apologize and said they will tell their housecleaning staff to clean. You cant get rid of them just by cleaning! We asked to speak to manager but the manger was never there for some reason. We asked if we can get some discount for next time or discount for our stay and they said no. We were very upset as this hotel is so expensiove and we didnt expect roaches there. Also they didnt provide us with signs to be put on the door to "not disturb" or "to clean our room" so every time the housecleaning staff just walked in on as we were sleeping, no knock or nothing they just assume nobody in the room and just open the door with their key and walk in. Very unhappy. The only good thing about the hotel was the breakfast. But will definetly not go back here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kppk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

well we were very pleasantly surprized and only having 3 nights, left wishing it had been more,
buffet breakfast very good and lovely views of the beach and the atlantic,
would recommend to anyone, the service was exceptional, the rooms were spotless the position was ideal

Room Tip: we just asked for what we wanted & got it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank stacey dolphin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Hotel and rooms are immaculate, great buffet style breakfast with excellent choice. Outstanding value - located right on strip across from beach. Stayed a few times, and wouldn't hesitate to stay again. If you are looking for a good value hotel with great location I thoroughly recommend. Hotel doesn't have a pool, this personally doesnt bother me as I prefer the beach anyway.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank pamliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
298 reviews
1.1 mi away
Flamingo Residence
Flamingo Residence
#15 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Jardim do Vau
Jardim do Vau
#5 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
322 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smartline Amarilis
Smartline Amarilis
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Catarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Catarina

Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Price Range: £30 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Catarina 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Catarina Algarve, is a new 3 stars hotel very well located in the first line of the beach (Praia da Rocha) in front of the Casino, at about 4 km from the center of the city and 60 km from Faro's international airport. It has 69 rooms, sea and land view, 6 suits, restaurant, bar, living room, and a panoramic lift with an excellent view for Praia da Rocha. The rooms are all well equipped with balconys, private bathroom, hair dryer, telephone, tv, minibar, air conditioning, heating and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Catarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Catarina Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Santa Catarina Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing