We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for sleep only”
Review of Santa Catarina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Catarina
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for sleep only”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Location is excellent, best beach I've been on to be honest,staff are eager to help and pleasant. Room cleaned, towels changed daily. On the downside, you have to stay out, only BBC 24hr news in English on TV. No tea/coffee facilities. Wifi in reception sitting room only. Wired connection in room. No bar but several nearby. We didn't book a sea view but they gave us one free, definitely worth having. Overall, a spotlessly clean place, very quiet and relaxing but close to bars/restaurants etc. Try a drink in Croke Park and listen to Aaron, great guitarist, singer and funny guy :-)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    98
    34
    13
    5
See reviews for
38
106
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

A pleasant hotel to stay in....near to shops, pubs and restaurants ..but not in the noisy area of the resort so at least you can hope to sleep at night.
It is very much a 3 star hotel but it is very clean and the staff are very helpful.
The choice of food in the evening is limited but what is there..is tasty and hot. Always olives and sardine pate followed by soup, a choice of two hot dishes and a basic salad. I can se how the choice can get boring if you've opted to stay for more than a week, but for a short break, it was okay. Desserts could have been a little more imaginative! I grew out of fruit and jelly when I was 5 years old!
We stayed in room 310..- a suite consisting of 2 bedrooms, a bathroom and balcony with a seaview....basic but clean. The only downside...there was a terrible sewerage smell when we arrived. So bad that we thought we'd ask to change to another room. We decided to cure it ourselves..all plug holes were closed and drainage vents in the sink and bath, blocked up with tissue. It worked!
If you're there for more than a week consider a bed and breakfast option.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Juliana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I stayed at Hotel Santa Caterina for a few days while meeting some friends for some golf. The hotel is well situated in Praia da Rocha with easy access to all the amenities in the area. The breakfast was just ok but the dining room was quite warm,The room was large with a nice view and the staff were very nice all in all not bad for a place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

first time in portugal and was pleasantly surprised with the hotel and its position,5 mins over the road you were on the excellently clean beach same time as to town centre .Room 201 has disabled facilities if required ,towels &toiletries replaced daily,the bedroom itself more than big enough with 2 single beds, sheets &pillows changed every 2nd day,large balcony to sit outside
The breakfast room was busy depnding what time you went it was buffet style and plentyful.Restaraunt only opened at night and was reasonable.
The staff from the manager down were very helpful and pleasant nothing seemed to be a problem.the hotel is a good 3*and hopefully we will return in the future
The only downer was trip to Gibralter15 hrs on coach with 4hr visit

Room Tip: sea or marina views worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WEEQUINTIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Pleasant surprise,we enjoyed our stay at this Hotel ,good view of sea and street view was also a bonus.Room had lots of space,large bed , and the Balcony was a nice size as well,Staff were very helpful ,breakfast was good value for money ,all in all good stay in a great location .

Room Tip: One with sea view is very good ,it is quiet in this Area anyway so street view is good also .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We booked into this hotel expecting a three star hotel and that is what it is. It is not posh but it was very clean. The room was cleaned everyday, very well considering how much sand we seemed to take back with us. The room was comfortable but basic. The staff were mostly friendly and helpful especially the girl on the breakfast desk. The breakfasts were possibly geared more to the europeans but the fresh melon and pineapple was lovely. It is only a 5 minute walk to a lovely beach and close to restaurants and shops.

For a cheap holiday in a warm place this was ideal. Some of the other guests were rather noisy but that could happen in any hotel and I believe that they were asked to quieten down.

The best bit was the panoramic lift

Room Tip: Go for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetJohn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Chose this hotel for price and location. Situated at the quiet end of Praia da Rocha. I was some what surprised as how good it was at the price. Good size room with balcony that had a view of the sea. Large bed, plenty of wardrobe space and fridge. The only English speaking channel I found on the TV was news but we did not go to the Algarve to watch TV In all other respects the accommodation was fine. The bed a little hard perhaps. Maid service daily. Staff friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast provided with hot and cold selection. The hotel restaurant serves lunch and diner. Outside of those times you have to find refreshments away from the hotel. This does not present a problem as numerous eating places within yards of the hotel. The Casino is opposite. Snacks and drinks in the casino is very cheap and their restaurant does a good meal in the evening from 30 Euros and on Tuesdays that includes a floor show. There are a number of tours that collect and return to hotel. Be warned if you take the Gibraltar trip be prepared for a long trip. We did this in May, collected from the hotel at 0500hrs and returned about 2200hrs.a long time to be in the coach. A couple we met this time arrived back at hotel at 0100hrs. They were shattered. One trip we took, takes you to Sand City an amazing display of sculpture sand. This year it had a musical theme. On the way back we stopped at a restaurant and had a very good meal. There are wide variety of trips including boat trips of various kinds. I have stayed at 4 and 5 star hotels at Praia da Rocha and although the Catarina lacks the frills of these hotels it would be hard to beat for value for money. It shares the same location as the 4 and 5 star hotels at about a third of the price. I would certainly consider a return visit. If you like to make a drink in the night take a travel kettle. Tea and coffee making in the room is not so common in Portugal for some reason.

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KilkennyPoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.1 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
983 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
980 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
279 reviews
0.8 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Catarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Catarina

Property: Santa Catarina
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Catarina 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Catarina Algarve, is a new 3 stars hotel very well located in the first line of the beach (Praia da Rocha) in front of the Casino, at about 4 km from the center of the city and 60 km from Faro's international airport. It has 69 rooms, sea and land view, 6 suits, restaurant, bar, living room, and a panoramic lift with an excellent view for Praia da Rocha. The rooms are all well equipped with balconys, private bathroom, hair dryer, telephone, tv, minibar, air conditioning, heating and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Catarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Catarina Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Santa Catarina Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing