We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In and out”
Review of Santa Catarina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Catarina
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Reviewed 9 April 2014

As mentioned by other reviewers, this hotel is great for sleep only. The location is amazing, near the beach and right in front of the Casino. The staff is great, the hotel is clean but that's not a beautiful hotel. Internet connexion is poor and if you want to increase your chances to use the wifi you have to go to the reception sitting room. Restaurants near the hotel are amazing and beach is also really really great! The breakfast is.... ok! (clearly not more than just ok). You should clearly go out even for breakfast :) Overall, that's a great place to stay if you don't want to spend a lot of time in your room (tiny tiny room by the way)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abeauchesne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Location is excellent, best beach I've been on to be honest,staff are eager to help and pleasant. Room cleaned, towels changed daily. On the downside, you have to stay out, only BBC 24hr news in English on TV. No tea/coffee facilities. Wifi in reception sitting room only. Wired connection in room. No bar but several nearby. We didn't book a sea view but they gave us one free, definitely worth having. Overall, a spotlessly clean place, very quiet and relaxing but close to bars/restaurants etc. Try a drink in Croke Park and listen to Aaron, great guitarist, singer and funny guy :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

A pleasant hotel to stay in....near to shops, pubs and restaurants ..but not in the noisy area of the resort so at least you can hope to sleep at night.
It is very much a 3 star hotel but it is very clean and the staff are very helpful.
The choice of food in the evening is limited but what is there..is tasty and hot. Always olives and sardine pate followed by soup, a choice of two hot dishes and a basic salad. I can se how the choice can get boring if you've opted to stay for more than a week, but for a short break, it was okay. Desserts could have been a little more imaginative! I grew out of fruit and jelly when I was 5 years old!
We stayed in room 310..- a suite consisting of 2 bedrooms, a bathroom and balcony with a seaview....basic but clean. The only downside...there was a terrible sewerage smell when we arrived. So bad that we thought we'd ask to change to another room. We decided to cure it ourselves..all plug holes were closed and drainage vents in the sink and bath, blocked up with tissue. It worked!
If you're there for more than a week consider a bed and breakfast option.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Juliana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I stayed at Hotel Santa Caterina for a few days while meeting some friends for some golf. The hotel is well situated in Praia da Rocha with easy access to all the amenities in the area. The breakfast was just ok but the dining room was quite warm,The room was large with a nice view and the staff were very nice all in all not bad for a place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

first time in portugal and was pleasantly surprised with the hotel and its position,5 mins over the road you were on the excellently clean beach same time as to town centre .Room 201 has disabled facilities if required ,towels &toiletries replaced daily,the bedroom itself more than big enough with 2 single beds, sheets &pillows changed every 2nd day,large balcony to sit outside
The breakfast room was busy depnding what time you went it was buffet style and plentyful.Restaraunt only opened at night and was reasonable.
The staff from the manager down were very helpful and pleasant nothing seemed to be a problem.the hotel is a good 3*and hopefully we will return in the future
The only downer was trip to Gibralter15 hrs on coach with 4hr visit

Room Tip: sea or marina views worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WEEQUINTIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Pleasant surprise,we enjoyed our stay at this Hotel ,good view of sea and street view was also a bonus.Room had lots of space,large bed , and the Balcony was a nice size as well,Staff were very helpful ,breakfast was good value for money ,all in all good stay in a great location .

Room Tip: One with sea view is very good ,it is quiet in this Area anyway so street view is good also .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We booked into this hotel expecting a three star hotel and that is what it is. It is not posh but it was very clean. The room was cleaned everyday, very well considering how much sand we seemed to take back with us. The room was comfortable but basic. The staff were mostly friendly and helpful especially the girl on the breakfast desk. The breakfasts were possibly geared more to the europeans but the fresh melon and pineapple was lovely. It is only a 5 minute walk to a lovely beach and close to restaurants and shops.

For a cheap holiday in a warm place this was ideal. Some of the other guests were rather noisy but that could happen in any hotel and I believe that they were asked to quieten down.

The best bit was the panoramic lift

Room Tip: Go for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetJohn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.1 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,047 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
652 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Algarve Casino
Hotel Algarve Casino
#16 of 75 in Portimao
922 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#6 of 75 in Portimao
2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Catarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Catarina

Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Price Range: £30 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Catarina 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Catarina Algarve, is a new 3 stars hotel very well located in the first line of the beach (Praia da Rocha) in front of the Casino, at about 4 km from the center of the city and 60 km from Faro's international airport. It has 69 rooms, sea and land view, 6 suits, restaurant, bar, living room, and a panoramic lift with an excellent view for Praia da Rocha. The rooms are all well equipped with balconys, private bathroom, hair dryer, telephone, tv, minibar, air conditioning, heating and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Santa Catarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Catarina Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Santa Catarina Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing