We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with stunning view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caramulo Congress Hotel & SPA
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caramulo
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The room was spatious and comfortable and we had a very enjoyable stay. The bar is very nice and ideal for a drink in the evening with stunning view over the valley. The ideal place to getaway and rest.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank PedroVasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

still on the rally from London to Lisbon this was a very interesting place to stay. The hotel is a little jaded now, needs to be upgraded - but that really only added to the charm. The car museum opposite was truly wonderful as was the art gallery and if you are visiting these are a must

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Caramulo is a great place to go for a couple of days: enjoy the mountain views, fresh air and quietness.
The museum, across the road, is well worth a visit, especially for thr automobile and toy collection. Your little ones will enjoy that, as well as the old style tin toys in the museum shop :)
Hotel facilities are fair, confortable and well decorated.
Breakfast is fair but could improve some things like the ham and add some variety too. The breakfast room is very nice, for the large windows especially in sunny days.
The indoor swimming pool was nice, at 29C and with large windows plus a translucent ceiling that let the sun shine in.
BEWARE of the very loud live music at fridays and saturdays night!! Our room was on the third flor and it felt like they were singing just below.
It was half past midnight, but it wasn't until we threatened to file an official complaint that they stopped the noise.

Room Tip: Definetely ask for a valley view room. Also, try to be as far from the bar area as possible to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntM_PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This hotel in Caramulo is fairly close to my hometown so, if it were not for a business meeting held the hotel, I would most likely just take the short drive and stay at home. In general the hotel is cozy and I can imagine that during the cold winter days, reading a book by the fireplace or just relaxing and admiring the amazing views of the southern valleys is well worthwhile. Furthermore, some of my colleagues mentioned that the SPA and large pool facilities are a definite must during a longer stay.
I would very much like to give the hotel a good or excellent rating but to be fair I must simply give it an “average” rating. The reason is simple: the hotel is rated as 4 star but due to the worn out aspect the must undergo a thorough renovation process it feels much more like a good 3 star. Maybe if I tried out the SPA or other hotel facilities I would be tempted to give it a better rating but since I did not have a chance to try them out… I will have to rate it as “fair”.
The rooms are large and simple (maybe too simple) but, during my stay, they were very silent and proved to be great for a good night’s sleep. The bathroom, similar to the rest of the hotel, does require major renovation to meet 4 star expectations. Breakfast and restaurant quality is good! It you are going to be staying at this hotel, you are most likely to be arriving by car and if that is the case, the hotel does possess a large parking area right in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room facing the south. I think all of them do have a nice balcony from where you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biscas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed in this Hotel a few times, on short family breaks.

This Hotel is located in Caramulo, a village founded shortly after the 1st World War to host sanatoriums for tuberculosis and other respiratory diseases. A few decades later medical advances made these sanatoriums obsolete, and Caramulo was successfully transformed into a touristic mountain village. The whole village preserves a peculiar architecture, since many buildings were jointly designed by some of the best Portuguese architects of those two eras. Gardens are well preserved and the whole village is austere very relaxing. There is also a very good museum of old cars.

The Hotel is a few decades old and keeps a nice old fashioned character (furniture, carpets, dark stone floors), despite a few improvements of the years (e.g. A/C in the rooms). Rooms are comfortable, quiet and spacious, but some may complain about the limited number of TV channels, the absence of WiFi in the rooms (available in the lobby), the small size of the safes or the relatively small size of the beds (OK for Portuguese standards, though).

Hotel facilities include a small outdoor with a beautiful view over the valley and a large indoor pool which also has views over the valley. There are also other SPA facilities (sauna, a very good gymnasium, massages...), as well as rental mountain bikes. A few trekking routes depart from Caramulo and cross lovely landscapes.

Continental breakfast is good.

Overall I recommend this Hotel based on its character, the available indoor and outdoor activities, and value for money (outside peak season). It does not excel on any of these items but the overall mix is very attractive for short family breaks.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the valley (south) have balcony, more sun and a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john2008a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

we noticed that it was a high standard hotel some years ago but some areas need some attention now. We stayed in a room with view to the museum not to the mountain wich is amazing. We have that view on the outside pool and it is breathless.the interior pool is also good and we also loved the sauna and turkish bath.the massage and body scrub was divinal as well as the food in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VillaBatalha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Caramulo is an interesting mountain hamlet, located in a remote part of central Portugal, and I enjoyed my stay at the Hotel do Caramulo there. My room was large and reasonably well appointed. I had only a single bed and, as is often the case in Portugal, I'm not sure if the hotel has any double beds, let alone queens or kings.

The restaurant was outstanding. One night I had the fixed-price dinner, which came with a regional egg-based dish with mushrooms served steaming hot in an onion soup-type dish. That was extraordinary. I believe it was there that I had a doce de bolacha for dessert. That, too, was something you can't find in the United States and a culinary delight.

The included breakfast was excellent.

Another nice touch is that the hotel has a functional Internet-ready computer for which it doesn't charge.

The common rooms on the ground floor are very pleasant. They're reminiscent of what you might find in an English country manor, an atmosphere contributed to by heavy rain and cold weather during my stay.

Quibbles: the water isn't hot, only warm, and it took five minutes to arrive at the bathroom sink in my fourth-floor room. The room lighting was dim. The TV set has no international channels.

While in Caramulo, you should, if you're the outdoors type, hike the five-mile-long Rota dos Caleiros, which takes you over thousand-year-old medieval stone roads on which you can see the ruts left by centuries of wagon wheels. The route is hard to follow, so bring a GPS receiver and download the route from the Internet onto your device.

The other thing is the museum, the Museu do Caramulo, located across the street. I suspect that this is one of Europe's better unknown museums. It has an excellent art collection and I imagine its automotive collection will appeal to car buffs. Most exciting for me was to discover there what may be the world's first mountain bike (or, to be precise, mountain-style bike). Built in England in 1891, this bicycle, the Quadrant, has a full suspension and a suspended seatpost. Only five were made (or maybe it's that only five currently exist). For me, an avid mountain biker, it was exciting to stumble across this historical artifact.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the Museu do Caramulo, and they're fine, but the ones on the other side of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mtnbiker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caramulo
14.8 mi away
Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa
14.2 mi away
Montebelo Viseu Congress Hotel
16.8 mi away
Grande Hotel de Luso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Hotel do Parque - Health Club & Spa
Hotel do Parque - Health Club & ...
#1 of 4 in Sao Pedro do Sul
73 reviews
16.8 mi away
Bussaco Palace Hotel
18.3 mi away
Curia Palace Hotel Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caramulo Congress Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caramulo Congress Hotel & SPA

Address: Rua Doutor Abel Lacerda, Caramulo 3475-031, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viseu District > Caramulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caramulo
Price Range: £39 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Caramulo Congress Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever Caramulo - Mountain & SPA is a charming hotel, situated in Tondela, Viseu district, at an altitude of 1076.57 meters, and the mountain destination that enchants the heart of all of those who cross it. With it's very own microclimate, mainly due to the vegetation and topography of the land, it was once considered the senatorial destination of the Iberian Peninsula: the best air in Portugal! Here, the water is crystal clear and the vegetation is truly green, people are genuine and the customs are centennial, the architecture is delighful and presents well maintained gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caramulo Congress Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing