We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food with nice people”

Restaurante O Gafanhoto
Ranked #23 of 119 Restaurants in Ericeira
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Pomezia, Italy
Level Contributor
140 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Good food with nice people”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We went in this restaurant an August evening. We were walking around in the city, looking for some restaurant suggested in the guide, but they were full and expensive. Of course, Ericeira is a famous sea town for fish. But, while walking, we saw a sign for this restaurant indicating a small road. So we followed it and arrived in front of this small restaurant, few tables, not in a crowded road, and after a quick glance to the menu, we decided to enter.
Good choice, because the staff was friendly (we asked a translation for fishes name and they helped us bringing the (raw) fishes directly!) and the food ok. The bill at the end too!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aragorn983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    61
    14
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice small restaurant”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Very good dishes (portuguese cuisine), for a very good price. The restaurant is rather small so it's better to make a reservation first.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank tiago_ribeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Portuguese food at a good price”
Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

As a local, this is the place I visit the most for lunch. Don't expect a fancy restaurant, expect very good service and good food in a quiet street.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plopes_pt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We had to wait more than 30 min to get in, but it was worth it!”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

You have to queue to get in to this small and typical restaurant. The rabbit stew and the pork with clams (never tried this combination) were simple but nice and tastefull. Friendly staff, one of them speaks a little bit of english.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kurt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
329 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Most memorable meal of trip”
Reviewed 23 October 2010

This tiny restaurant on a quiet back street was filled with locals having a good time this Friday evening. The grilled swordfish was excellent as was the green wine and port. We thoroughly enjoyed the atmostphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AcePortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante O Gafanhoto also viewed

Ericeira, Lisbon District
 
Ericeira, Lisbon District
Ericeira, Lisbon District
 

Been to Restaurante O Gafanhoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing