We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor WiFi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vila Gale Ericeira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vila Gale Ericeira
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ericeira
Certificate of Excellence
Modiin, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Poor WiFi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

The hotel is located by the sea. Very reach breakfast. Friendly staff.
I was surprised to find out that the Wi-Fi provided by the hotel is way below the usual standard in other hotels in Portugal: The free Wi-Fi is free only in the lobby area. For Wi-Fi in rooms there a EU5 charge. Also the free Wi-Fi does not support cell phones' connection to the net.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oded M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments as we feel very happy to know that we've provided you a nice stay.

We experienced some difficulties with our wy-fi that, in the meantime were corrected.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Vila Galé Ericeira.



Best Regards

José Miguel Oliveira Martins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    299
    76
    19
    10
See reviews for
204
278
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly situated, very clean, staff are helpful & polite, breakfast is good with a wide selection, the rooms are nice with the best views, you will find it hard to get a better view. The town is such a great little fishing & surfing town. Restaurants are perfect. We travel a lot and are fussy, I would challenge anyone to find a better place for such good value! I'd recommend this hotel and area to anyone. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Mr. Carlos,

Thank you very much for your review on the Vila Galé Ericeira.

It is very gratifying to know that your stay with was up to your expectations, we have no words.. .

We are waiting for your return.


Best regards

José Miguel Oliveira Martins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
160 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

If I could give 0 points I would do it. The main reason is the parking situation: the hotel has approximately 30 parking spaces but the hotel has 202 rooms. The city is not reachable by train so you can assume that at least 80% of the people come by car.

So the parking lot is continuously full without any (again any!) car moves. So they tell you to find parking in the city which is impossible due to Ericeira's great beaches and of course many visitors. The parking in the city is for free but you will have a very, very hard time to park your car anywhere because you will see tons of people cruising through the village looking for parking.
They will also tell you the situation changes after 6 pm when most of the day visitors leave. Forget about it. Exactly nothing changes. You will hardly see any parking space become available and if so someone else is already there.
There is paid parking across the street but I couldn't figure out how much it costs per pday

So unless the hotel takes this issue seriously I would not recommend to visit this place.

Now the hotel itself: The rooms are dated but fine. The AC works very well because they have separate room units and no central cooling (central cooling us usually slow and not cooling/heating well). The walls are paper thin and you can heary everything from the other rooms.

Be careful when booking: The non-seaview rooms face something like a fun fair which is noisy (loud music) until late at night. The seaview rooms on the other hand are mixed with balcony rooms and smoking rooms. So if you get a room above a balcony you might very well face a lot of cigarette smoke (even if the balcony room is non-smoking because on the balcony smoking is permitted) because in Spain/Portugal it is very common to smoke. Additionally the sea view rooms face the pool area which is noisy as well. So I would recommend the non-sea view rooms because i prefer to open the windows and have no smoke.

The breakfast is very good and service is excellent. They don't have non-salted butter on the buffet but you can ask for it.

The Wifi in the room costs 5 EUR/day

Room Tip: Be careful when booking: The non-seaview rooms face something like a fun fair which is noisy (loud m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank das_ubersoldat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

In fact, the parking is a weak spot we have since the hotel opened in 1943 and is located right in the center of Ericeira so, unfortunately, growing space is not available (not even underground).

Hope to see you again with us.


Best regards

José Miguel Oliveira Martins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
93 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

hounded by time share apartment sales brochures, this hotel looks good from the outside and the view and location next to the beach is nice but inside is a soulless, hard bed. the room decorated for a tour bus of people. the room service was expensive and average. the breakfast was also as bland.
pity really.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank highabove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments and we regret that some items were not up to your standards.

Even so, we look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Ericeira.


Best regards

José Miguel Oliveira Martins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

The location of this hotel is absolutely fantastic and they have a sea water pool too - by the sea! Very professional and friendly staff, excellent breakfast. Beautifull off-season too, like Fall - shame they don't have a fireplace.
Ericeira was originally a very pictoresque fishermen's village and continues to be a place where you can park your car upon arrival and forget about it till it's time to go. Perfect for 'discovery' strollers and photography lovers. And several nice and reasonably priced restaurants and 'tascas' (popular street/neighbourhood inns). A 'must go' 30 minutes north of Lisbon and Sintra. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Definitely rooms overlooking the sea/pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOAO G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Mr. João,

Thank you very much for your comments as we feel very happy to know that we've provided you a nice stay.

We look forward to welcome you back at the Vila Galé Ericeira.


Best regards

José Miguel Oliveira Martins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level Contributor
190 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Situated in a prime location, facing the big ocean, this classic hotel still have that great mystique of a Grand Hotel. The rooms are well kept and spacious, you also have a beautiful garden and 2 pools by the sea. Standard breakfast for a 4 star, small parking lot.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank World S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel.

We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed the stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé on your next trip to Ericeira


Best regards

José Miguel Oliveira Martins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We took a family getaway at Vila Gale inspired by the great reviews on TripAdvisor. If you have not been on a cruise trip, the hotel offers a fantastic seaview. I can only imagine this is why most people review this hotel highly. Yet, I'd agree with a previous reviewer that the hotel could be better managed. Upon arrival, there was nowhere to park the car, as the free parking available is extemely limited given the hotel's occupancy. The hotel staff was not informative regarding alternative options for parking and other guests with cars quickly lined up behind us honking in despair. Then, out of convenience we decided to take their dinner buffet. It was without doubt the biggest mistake given all the great options within walking distance around (cf TripAdvisor). Both my wife and I were sick from the food all night, and as I took a walk outside at 4am, I ran into yet another guest who had been sick from their food, too. The seafood items in the buffet were certainly not fresh, and they looked as canned food. The only things in it that felt alright were the deserts, which the kids ate for the most part. I would hope the management at the hotel pay better attention to the food they serve, as sick guests cannot bring good memories back home. Likewise for the parking, they should make sure their staff can inform of options other than leaving your car out in the very busy streets of Ericeira in the summer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAVillarroel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for commenting your stay with us.

Concerning the parking, we share your feelings but there is only one parking place in the vacinity of the hotel and we are in the center of Ericeira.

As for the food, we were caught by surprise since the hotel was full and nobody else complaint.

Hope to have you again with us.


Best regards

José Miguel Oliveira Martins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ericeira
0.3 mi away
Hotel Camarao
Hotel Camarao
#2 of 6 in Ericeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pedro o Pescador
Pedro o Pescador
#3 of 6 in Ericeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
10.3 mi away
Arribas Sintra Hotel
Arribas Sintra Hotel
#1 of 4 in Colares
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa das Aguarelas
Casa das Aguarelas
#8 of 23 in Ericeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Ericeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Ericeira

Property: Vila Gale Ericeira
Address: Praca dos Navegantes 1, Ericeira 2655-320, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Ericeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ericeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Ericeira 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breath taking hotel is located right on the Atlantic coast above the water offering a stunning ocean view and only 50 meters away from the inviting beach of Ericeira. Connections to the public transport network are to be found 500 metres away and the nearest airport is in Lisbon 40 km away. In the hotel surrounding there are many shops, bars, nightclubs and restaurants. Opened in 2002, the hotel offers a total of 202 rooms spread over 5 floors. Among the rooms 116 with ocean view and 5 junior suites. The hotel includes a lobby area with a 24-hour reception desk, free Wi-Fi in public areas, wheelchair access and lifts, hotel safe. For those arriving by car the hotel offers parking or garage (for an additional fee). In the common areas you will find a restaurant with buffet or a la carte service, 2 bars, a game room, kids playground and business corner. The hotel is fully equipped with event rooms with internet access and multimedia options ideal for meetings and conferences. Younger guests may let off steam in the playground and participate in the kids' club activities. Room, laundry and medical services round up the facilities on offer. The comfortable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. Some of the rooms have balcony access. The outdoor complex offers a freshwater swimming pool as well as a saltwater pool with a separate children's pool, a sun terrace with sun loungers, parasols and a pool- bar. The Health Club with free access for guess is equipped with Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam room and Gym. You may also access the Spa for massages and beauty treatments for and additional cost. Surrounded by the ocean and beautiful landscapes, Vila Gale Ericeira is the perfect choice for those who wish to practice nautical sports, such as surfing. Guests may select their breakfast, lunch and dinner from a wide buffet. Lunch and Dinner may also be selected a la carte menu or from a set menu. Special diet requirements as well as individual-specific dishes may be prepared. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and LoveHolidays so you can book your Vila Gale Ericeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Ericeira Hotel Ericeira
Vila Gale Hotel Ericeira
Ericeira Vila Gale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing