We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vila Gale Ericeira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vila Gale Ericeira
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ericeira
Certificate of Excellence
Bucks, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel is located in a pretty fishing village. The hotel style is I would say old Portugese charm which we liked, however if you like modern hotels you would probably not like it and think it was in need of updating. Right on the beach and close to lots of excellent restaurants, with of course fresh seafood. Very clean and very friendly helpful staff. If you are after a quiet relaxing holiday this is a good place to go.

We were full board as it was only a little extra over half board. In the evenings it is buffet, which is fine but you might get bored if you were eating there every night for a week or so. As we went in July before school holidays it was not hugely busy so there was no buffet at lunch time so we were able to eat from the A la carte menu, which was first class.

There is a little amusement park opposite hotel which our son loved, he went on the bumper cars every day. If you have a room facing this and go to bed early and are a light sleeper this might bother you with the noise, but did not bother us.

Only mild critisim if being picky were the temperature of the pools (freezing!) and the fact that it was not made clear what was included in the full board option, when asked if we could have lunch at the pool bar they said no it was not included but it actually was.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We always appreciate the feedback received and welcome every opportunity to improve, therefore we thank you for your review.

We hope that we can welcome you again in Vila Galé Ericeira or in any other Vila Galé Hotel "always close to you".

Best Regards,

Carlos Alves
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    307
    76
    19
    10
See reviews for
209
279
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altdorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is old, but very classic and is maintained in excellent condition. The interior is a nice mix of wood, carpet and fabric material. This hotel appeared in a many many postcards that it's part of the shoreline of the town.

The staff are very polite and nice, especially in the restaurant, they are very hardworking people trying to help you everywhere. There's 3 pools in the hotel, 40cm Child pool with 2 slides, 140cm salt water and 140cm clear water, both maintained in very good condition.

The only thing we can pick is that the sauna is only max 50 degree which is not very effective for us., and there's smell from the toilet, which is gone once the window is open.

Room Tip: room with a sea view is more expansive, ground floor room with balcony is just next to the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KitHung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We were very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Vila Galé Ericeira and we hope that we can welcome you again on a near future.

Thank you for the time taken to post your review.

See you soon,

Carlos Alves
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is an amazing location situated on the headland like a ship in the ocean. The waves that come crashing by are spectacular from the balcony rooms overlooking the sea. It's a surfers paradise if you like surfing. Ericeira is a quiet fishing village with one Main Street. A holiday for getting away from hustle and bustle to relax. Lovely coastal walk to enjoy the views.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the time taken posting this review.

It was a pleasure welcome you in our hotel and for being able to provide you an enjoyable stay.

We hope that we can welcome you again in Vila Galé Ericeira or in any other Vila Galé Hotel "always close to you".

Best Regards,


Carlos Alves
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in July. Our room faced the ocean and had a balcony and the view was really incredible. There are 2 pools (and a 3rd opening soon for kids) which were lovely and not too busy. The room was very clean and the service was great. They were very good about getting laundry and dry-cleaning done quickly. The location is excellent.

We found the bed to be too hard and didn't sleep super well but being able to hear the ocean waves outside made up for that and was soothing. We did meet friends for dinner in the hotel on the first night and the food was lacklustre. There are a ton of amazing restaurants within minutes of the hotel so I would recommend checking them out instead. All in all, we really liked this hotel and would likely stay there again for the pools and the view.

Room Tip: The oceanfront rooms with a balcony are wonderful for the views and the sound of the ocean at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We always appreciate the feedback received and welcome every opportunity to improve, therefore we thank you for your review.

We hope that we can welcome you again in Vila Galé Ericeira or in any other Vila Galé Hotel "always close to you".

Best Regards,


Carlos Alves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed for 5 nights in the Vila Gale Hotel. Best location in Ericeira overlooking the ocean and local beach. Room was comfortable with sea view and balcony. Great selection at breakfast to suit all tastes and international preferences (although I'm not a big fan of frankfurters in place of a good old pork sausage). Having said that the sparkling cava/wine was a nice touch in the mornings. Staff were friendly and professional and were nice to deal with. Hotel oozed 'old world charm' and had a Portuguese charm to it.

With swimming we were spoilt for choice. 2 decent sized pools, one freshwater and the other salt water. Their 3rd pool is currently under construction and this will cater for specially for kids. It looks like it could be ready in about a week or so and it comes with 2 water slides. There's also a kids playground which got the thumbs up from our 4 year old.

We unfortunately didn't dine in the hotel restaurant during our stay, although their menu looked very tempting. I think having over 40 restaurants to choose from in Ericeira probably doesn't help the hotel too much but from a tourists point of view you are spoilt for choice when it comes to dining out in the town.

Perhaps the hotel should consider maximising their stunning views of the ocean and do an evening BBQ with buffet on their terrace. This might entice guests to stay and dine in the hotel.

If you surf, Ericeira seemed to have some great spots for surfers of all levels. Overall, we were very happy with Vila Gale Hotel would definitely try and return in the future, perhaps when the kids are a little older so we can all attempt to catch a few waves.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for room with sea view and balcony. (2nd or 3rd floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rmcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the time taken to post your review and for the complete description that you have made about our hotel and services.

We hope that we can welcome you back on a near future,

Best Regards,

Carlos Alves
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santarem, Portugal
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel at this place (i mean, before bought by Vila Galé) exists since a looooong time ago. It was an historic hotel and place where the rich and important families from Lisbon passes their holidays in the 70s . They always stay in this hotel for the season and always in Ericeira. It was a 'must' on that time. A glamorous place from other times... Then the hotel was bought by Vila Galé and closed during a while for big re-shaping (to put it up to date with modern life).
This is how you see it now. Not chic , not fancy not 5 ***** service or decoration but calm simple, cosy and relaxing... With a great view over the cold ocean... It is settle on top of the ocean literally. Beautiful surroundings.

Of course that for me, imagining how that place must have been in other times, with all that fancy people going around and parties, etc... it was an extra from mine imagination... But the ocean 'bathing' the hotal and the great views all over the hotel and all the walks in this cosy village , give us a very good 'scenario' for imagination...

The village of Ericeira is very nice, calm and cozy. You have everything you need in there for a small relaxing and calm holidays. Very nice.

Ericeira have good restaurants too. Some expensive places (but with very good see food a great view for the ocean) but also contains good and cheap places as well.

Good and long side-walking for nice and long walks from the hotel to the other side of the village ... always with ocean view as company.

The are also some nice bars and music at night in there.

you must pass a weekend (2 or 3 days) in here.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean side room if you prefer a great view. It is a more noisy side because of the waves b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miguel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the complete description that you have made from our hotel.

The hotel is open since the late 1940's and has you sad is has been visited by many important families and persons related to the portuguese society.

It is an hotel with history and inheritance. It is our commitment to keep up to this legacy.

We hope that we can welcome you again in Vila Galé Ericeira or in any other Vila Galé "Always Close to You".

Best Regards,

Carlos Alves
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogense, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I spent a week at Vila Gale in May 2014. An incredible week. Nice og cosy village, where we spent a lot of time, nice little restaurants etc. The hotel was absolutely first class, the staff did everything to make our holiday a relaxing stay. We are returning in september 2014 again.

Room Tip: You sleep very god in their beds and the cleaning is OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birgit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Ericeira, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your words and we are waiting for your visit in September.

See you soon,

Carlos Alves
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ericeira
0.4 mi away
Hotel Camarao
Hotel Camarao
#2 of 6 in Ericeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pedro o Pescador
Pedro o Pescador
#3 of 6 in Ericeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
InterContinental Estoril
0.2 mi away
Laneez Ericeira
Laneez Ericeira
#5 of 55 in Ericeira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa das Aguarelas
Casa das Aguarelas
#8 of 23 in Ericeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Ericeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Ericeira

Property: Vila Gale Ericeira
Address: Praca dos Navegantes 1, Ericeira 2655-320, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Ericeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ericeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Ericeira 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This breath taking hotel is located right on the Atlantic coast above the water offering a stunning ocean view and only 50 meters away from the inviting beach of Ericeira. Connections to the public transport network are to be found 500 metres away and the nearest airport is in Lisbon 40 km away. In the hotel surrounding there are many shops, bars, nightclubs and restaurants. Opened in 2002, the hotel offers a total of 202 rooms spread over 5 floors. Among the rooms 116 with ocean view and 5 junior suites. The hotel includes a lobby area with a 24-hour reception desk, free Wi-Fi in public areas, wheelchair access and lifts, hotel safe. For those arriving by car the hotel offers parking or garage (for an additional fee). In the common areas you will find a restaurant with buffet or a la carte service, 2 bars, a game room, kids playground and business corner. The hotel is fully equipped with event rooms with internet access and multimedia options ideal for meetings and conferences. Younger guests may let off steam in the playground and participate in the kids' club activities. Room, laundry and medical services round up the facilities on offer. The comfortable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. Some of the rooms have balcony access. The outdoor complex offers a freshwater swimming pool as well as a saltwater pool with a separate children's pool, a sun terrace with sun loungers, parasols and a pool- bar. The Health Club with free access for guess is equipped with Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam room and Gym. You may also access the Spa for massages and beauty treatments for and additional cost. Surrounded by the ocean and beautiful landscapes, Vila Gale Ericeira is the perfect choice for those who wish to practice nautical sports, such as surfing. Guests may select their breakfast, lunch and dinner from a wide buffet. Lunch and Dinner may also be selected a la carte menu or from a set menu. Special diet requirements as well as individual-specific dishes may be prepared. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Ericeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Ericeira Hotel Ericeira
Vila Gale Hotel Ericeira
Ericeira Vila Gale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing