We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confort food”

Tasca Da Boa Viagem
Ranked #9 of 126 Restaurants in Ericeira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$35
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Tipical portugues restaurant - Wild Ocean Fish and Certified National Veal
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Confort food”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We went to this restaurant after reading the reviews here and it wasn't disappointing. The restaurant is in front of the sea and has a rustic ambiance but the food plays the main role here. Tasty dishes in good portions and right prices, what one should ask more of? We had "file de porco preto" (some type of black pork), which was tender and tasty, comes with rice, black beans, potatoes, onions and sautéd mushrooms. And my son had "picanha" (beef cut). Make room for the dessert! We had a chocolate mousse cake to die for and strawberries and cherries dipped in chocolate!!!! All of that with the house wine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theworldismyhomeblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    86
    7
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly service”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Food is simple but very good. Try the several types of grilled fish. Excellent and friendly service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LTAVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent local fish & meat dishes ”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We tried this restaurant because it is owned by the same couple who own our hostel (Ericeira Hostel). The waiters were very accommodating & spoke enough English to facilitate our ordering (as we speak no Portuguese). Their fish is local catch & so we were informed of various options. I had sea bass & waiter brought it out for approval on size before preparation. Excellently prepared & seasoned. Served with roasted vegetables & rice. My husband loved the "Black Pork" which was thinly sliced & grilled chop with black pepper seasoning. Very tasty & served with roasted veggies & black beans. Waiter suggested a Douro valley white wine not on menu. Similar to a Sauvignon Blanc with a bit more heartiness. We enjoyed it.
We shared a delicious house-made creme brûlée for dessert. We declined coffee & so they brought two small glasses if sherry instead. Lovely.
The restaurant attracts locals as well as tourists. A groups of 12 local men were there to have dinner while they watched a soccer championship game projected on the wall (sound off). We enjoyed their boisterous presence & a bit of insight into local culture. But if you were there for a quiet, romantic dinner, then perhaps not the best ambiance. They had 2-3 tables on the sun porch with ocean views otherwise other seating inside. Families with children were dining in sun porch area.
We really enjoyed our dinner and friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank PeregrinoDebora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Without a doubt the best meal I had in Portugal”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Fantastic service, amazing meats and fish, super fresh, 'Happy cow' meat and amazing wines! Thoroughly recommend if you're staying in Ericeira or passing through.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“For those who looking for great meat”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Best my food for last ten days. From Ancora to Lisbon. It's really big problem to find good meat cook around beaches of Portugal. If you are nearby ericeira you have a chance to try perfect beef from Azores.

Helpful?
Thank Глеб Г
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tasca Da Boa Viagem also viewed

Ericeira, Lisbon District
Ericeira, Lisbon District
 
Ericeira, Lisbon District
Ericeira, Lisbon District
 
Ericeira, Lisbon District
Ericeira, Lisbon District
 

Been to Tasca Da Boa Viagem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing