We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disorganized”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ericeira Surf Camp & Hostel
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Accomodation is great except for kitchen, its not a kitchen, just a room with microwaves and toaster, so cooking option are slim. Rooms are nice and clean, living room is nice and free use of computers are nice too. The surf and lesson side of things are very poor. It's very disorganized, no one knows what's going on. Most if not all of the people are beginners and they brought us to a beach with rocky bottom, with locals and in water almost no help to especially the beginners. I've been to surf Camp in Australia and the surf lessons are not even close, they barely teach anything at this camp. Simple as, its more of a hostel service. The guy was nice but as it gets busier he gets very stressed and hard to communicate with. They're very short staffed, he was overwhelmed.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Iantheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

I came here on my own and was quite scared considering it was my first solo holiday! Its really easy to get to by bus from lisbon, amazing central location and the whole atmosphere was 10 times better than I ever could have imagined!

The guys that work here are so friendly and get all the people staying here together for surfing and socialising! I stayed in a 4 bed shared room and it was so clean and nice, not at all basic like most hostels are.

I'd definitely recommend and going again this year!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
Thank sarahrara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We spent a few days travelling around surfing and stopped in Ericeira. The surf camp was exactly what we needed. Rooms were clean and well presented but the breakfast was a little sparse and the price a little high at €25 a night for shared but ok for the central location.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Locol1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

this place was amazing nuno and andre are the nicest most friendly people, they go out of they way to make your stay as memorable as possible.
i could not recommend this place enough it is in the heart of the town 2 min walk to the beach the rooms are big and clean with lovely bathrooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vgeenfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This has turned out to be one of our best holidays with the amazingly friendly and helpful ways of the staff (Andre) who made everything for his guests and even spent his evenings with us to show us some local restaurants! As it is quite a small hostel it was nice and personal! The double rooms are spacious and clean. There is a nice chill out area with TV for rainy days. Beaches are a 5 minute walk from the hostel. I would always go back to this place!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

What an incredible place! I really didn't want to leave - this was possibly the best holiday I've ever been on!! The guys at the hostel made us feel so welcome, the place was spotless thanks to the lovely Isabelle who cleaned the building daily (all communal areas and communal bathrooms), Andre (one of the instructors/managers) is an absolute legend and nothing was ever too much trouble. The hostel is amazingly central to the shops, restaurants, beaches, some really nice bars (jukebox was a regular watering hole for us), and there is also a lovely little market over the weekend, perfect for buying gifts to take home for friends and family, and all practically on your doorstep!

Even though I went with my sister, if you're travelling alone, don't worry!! Andre is fantastic at getting everyone together and providing a real family atmosphere to the group, he really makes you feel like you're a treasured guest in his home. Obviously if you want some alone time then there is nothing stopping you from heading off to explore by yourself and he is more than happy to recommend places to eat/see/visit.

The surfing lessons are great too - I've surfed a bit with friends in the UK but never had the clear instructions and guidance to learn properly before, all the surf instructors are incredibly helpful and friendly and never seem to tire of giving you that all important encouragement. They're just as happy as you are when you get the hang of it :)

If you've got a bucket list, ESC should most definitely be on it! I'm so excited to go back again next year and have done nothing but recommend it to people since I got home. The place totally grips your soul and the people at ESC make it the truly incredible experience it is - see you in 2014 guys!! :)

Room Tip: They're ALL amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Had a great week at the ESC. The hostel is located in the main street of Ericeira, really close to everything you need. The rooms was really nice and clean. The staff was amazing, everyone was super nice and friendly and I felt included form the first day. It was a great atmosphere there and it was easy to get to know the other guests. Simple but nice breakfast was included. I would love to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AastaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ericeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ericeira
Vila Gale Ericeira
#1 of 6 in Ericeira
705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Camarao
Hotel Camarao
#2 of 6 in Ericeira
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amar Hostel & Suites
Amar Hostel & Suites
#8 of 23 in Ericeira
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Community Surf Hostel
The Community Surf Hostel
#19 of 62 in Ericeira
14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa das Aguarelas
Casa das Aguarelas
#7 of 23 in Ericeira
91 reviews
0.7 mi away
SoftWater Hostel
SoftWater Hostel
#13 of 62 in Ericeira
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ericeira Surf Camp & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ericeira Surf Camp & Hostel

Address: Rua Doutor Eduardo Burnay 28, Ericeira 2655-370, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Ericeira
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Ericeira
Price Range: £43 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ericeira Surf Camp & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel has 9 rooms with private bathrooms, 3 rooms with shared bathrooms and a small chill out terrace on the top. It has a lounge area with cable tv, surf movies, books, board games, and computers. We also offer free Wi-Fi. Our facilities provide a kitchen equipped with basic utilities to prepare your own meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ericeira Surf Camp & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing