We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loving it!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ericeira Surf Camp & Hostel
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I've had a fab week!! The location just perfect, surf lush and teachers just lovely. Have met and made some amazing friends, everyone just so welcoming and friendly. Already missing all of you, guys!! Hope to see you soon again :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lenka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

I spent a week during and staying at the Ericeira Surf Camp (ESC) and had an amazing time. We surfed twice a day with consistent swell all week (in summer) and the surfing was in general safe, well organised and fun.

The hostel was clean, full of people keen to surf and hang out, and was run by an amazing local crew. They drove one couple to the airport at 4 am when their lift fell through at short notice!

The town itself is beautiful, perched high above the ocean with its cobbled streets, and small enough to retain its charm.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidlockhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had a great time! It is a beatiful place with an amazing staff. The location of the hostel is perfect, right in the middle of the village. The surf lessions were really good. The teachers were great. It could nto get any better! Thanks everybody, hope we will se you again! Patric and Karl

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karlsva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had quite an amazing week at the camp with lots of good emotions and managed to improve our surfing level despite some tough seas at times. People in the camp really enjoy surfing and helping other people to learn to enjoy it - and that is repeatedly said to be the main goal after staying safe. Which is not unreasonable. If a lot of people surfing it is hard for instructors to divide attention to everybody, so expect sometimes things moving a bit slower. But again, safety first. Nevertheless, the guys there approach everybody individually and those showing more skills and willing to do more work are getting green light going further than white water line. Accommodation and breakfast are fairly simple, but there were absolutely no issues with that and all the guys are very helpful. So, Rui, Andre, Rita and others - thanks for all the great fun and hard work, keep it up!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_Art85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Surf camp hostel in Ericeira is a very good choice.
Located in the center of the town, right next to the shops and restaurants and short walk to the beach. Walking distance from the bus station.
Very clean, tidy rooms, nicely designed, shower with hot water and good pressure.
Amazing breakfast included in the price. From my previous experience in most of the hostels I was usually getting white toasted bread with marmalade and coffee. In surf camp hostel you will also get delicious, Portuguese bread, ham, cheese and many more.
There is spacious common room with lots of pillows, large tv and 2 computers.
On the top floor there is terrace, so you can catch breath of fresh air.
You can also arrange surf lessons here, surf coach is always somewhere around so you can ask him about anything, he is really fun guy. He's checking weather conditions in the morning and the group is getting to the surf spot by van. They are also providing you with the wet suits, the lesson is 2h long and cost 25euros (we were group of 4).
We've had really good stay in surf camp hostel and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: wifi works only in common room. You can hear some noises from the street, so it's better to hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kmietka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

From the moment I was picked up in Lisbon airport by Nuno til dropped off again one week later by Rita the friendliness and passion of the team was not only apparent but also infeincludesothing was too much trouble for the excellent team who provided a home from home for the intrepid surf pilgrims. Their dedication to surf takes on almost religious zeal and their pride in their region as a surf hot spot is evident. They are all too willing to share their knowledge and expertise in a supportive and encouraging way. I have to mention Rui who in my mind is a surf guru whosee local knowledge and incredible skills a coupled with a sense of humour coaching style
that makes it almost impossible for you not to engage with The team's mission is to spread the gospel of the surf to those who wish to hear and the watchword is fun fun fun. The hostel is more than comfortable with an amazing staff which
includes surf goddess Rita and the amazing Isabella who go to all lengths to ensure ur needs are catered for and all with a laugh banter and a welcome that I have not felt in any accommodation. I have stayed in. If there is a slight drawback it is the lack of cooking facilities which I believe would make this perfect for me

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kieranmcdonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Accomodation is great except for kitchen, its not a kitchen, just a room with microwaves and toaster, so cooking option are slim. Rooms are nice and clean, living room is nice and free use of computers are nice too. The surf and lesson side of things are very poor. It's very disorganized, no one knows what's going on. Most if not all of the people are beginners and they brought us to a beach with rocky bottom, with locals and in water almost no help to especially the beginners. I've been to surf Camp in Australia and the surf lessons are not even close, they barely teach anything at this camp. Simple as, its more of a hostel service. The guy was nice but as it gets busier he gets very stressed and hard to communicate with. They're very short staffed, he was overwhelmed.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Iantheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ericeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ericeira
Vila Gale Ericeira
#1 of 6 in Ericeira
705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Camarao
Hotel Camarao
#2 of 6 in Ericeira
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amar Hostel & Suites
Amar Hostel & Suites
#8 of 23 in Ericeira
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Community Surf Hostel
The Community Surf Hostel
#19 of 62 in Ericeira
14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa das Aguarelas
Casa das Aguarelas
#7 of 23 in Ericeira
91 reviews
0.7 mi away
SoftWater Hostel
SoftWater Hostel
#13 of 62 in Ericeira
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ericeira Surf Camp & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ericeira Surf Camp & Hostel

Address: Rua Doutor Eduardo Burnay 28, Ericeira 2655-370, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Ericeira
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Ericeira
Price Range: £44 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ericeira Surf Camp & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel has 9 rooms with private bathrooms, 3 rooms with shared bathrooms and a small chill out terrace on the top. It has a lounge area with cable tv, surf movies, books, board games, and computers. We also offer free Wi-Fi. Our facilities provide a kitchen equipped with basic utilities to prepare your own meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ericeira Surf Camp & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing