We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chill Crew”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ericeira Chill Hill Hostel & Private Rooms
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Chill Crew”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Really chill hostel with a great backyard where everyone did just that! Chilled out in the sun!

BBQ was really cool and it's a 5-10min walk to the beach, shops and town centre (where the restaurants are)

The surfing was fun and will have you standing at the end of the week if not on your first day! So agree with the post below and my friend Serhiy!

Amazing town and atmosphere. Lilia the hostel manager was SO incredibly nice and lovely and helped you with everything you needed.

Ricardo and Luis the surf instructors really knew what they were doing and gave really good surfing advice to help you improve each time.

Bus station is about a 5min walk and goes to towns like Lisbon and Sintra.

Hostel is like any other self catering hostel with your own shelves to put your stuff.

Surf classes run Mon - Fri so you have the weekend off to walk around and go to the beach.

Definitely wishing I was back there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
11
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Amazing place! Great facilities, perfect location, wonderful hospitable hosts, amazing atmosphere! A brand new house was added in May 2014, with totally new facilities with high standard. A great place to disconnect. Surfing lessons are fine, although the 10.00 start maybe a bit too early, but not a deal breaker at all. Instructors are fun and will get you standing by the end of the week. Fairy-tale place in a fairy-tale country!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sdekhty04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

It's really easy to give a good word for a Hostel like Chill Hill, because it's not like your staying somewhere foreign, but your at home in Ericeira.
The hospitality in this Hostel is beyond imagination, and I shouldn't even start about the SURF SCHOOL- We Surf. I'm really not a "surfer dude", but they managed to teach me in five days the basics and that I could ride the waves.
In this holidays there was nothing missing- a lot of fun, perfect weather, good friends, new experiences, good food and newly acquired levels of how good Hostels should be.

Looking forward to come back, again and again :)

Room Tip: Dorm bed, or single rooms are nice with the view to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jure27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

A hostel is first of all made through it's staff. 5 stars they earn for sure! Super friendly always happy to show you around and you can ask them anything, anytime! The hostel was super clean when I arrived, even though it wasn't the best time of the year (a storm just hit Ericeira) & they took away every little leaf that was on their chill out place outdoors. Incredible!

There's super great restaurants around (Best fish of my life! Try the sea food!!!) and a burger place to fill up the biggest appetite after a surfing session is a life saver!!

Finally, the surf! You can keep your equipment clean and safe in their hostel. (Water provided and balconies to hang the wetsuits.) The waves are close by and world class! Same as the instructors. They know the best place to take you within whatever the conditions might be (and this was not an easy task on a month like this..). You really can't replace the local knowledge they posses! They showed me exactly the places I needed to be at considering my surf skills and caught some awesome waves because of it. Check it out for sure and a smile is guaranteed on your face throughout the trip!!

Room Tip: If you're not travelling solo, the turquoise room looked incredible! I wish I took my girlfriend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dries C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

A truly relaxed, friendly atmosphere. The hostel itself was very clean, eco- friendly and quite well located. Only a short walk from shops (bigger ones 10 mins walk), town centre (5mins walk) and main beach (20- 30 mins walk.) The bus stop is a 5 min walk away, and takes you pretty much everywhere: Lisbon, Mafra, Sintra etc. And for the more adventurous, you can get from Lisbon airport to the hostel quite easily by bus.

The surf lessons are good, the classes can get pretty big on numbers but it’s a pretty relaxed atmosphere conducive to learning. A bus takes you from the hostel to the beach, although time keeping is not great, the classes are fun. The instructors are friendly and will usually get students standing after a few lessons. A great tip: Booties are a must as there are a lot of rocks and sea urchins, however if you can get hold of your own this would be a plus, as Poceans boots are quite battered.

There’s alot of cool things to see in the area, if you like hiking and wildlife Mafra National park is a MUST. You can also go quad biking and do archery there. If you go hiking you'll definitely see wild boar and deer (and keep your eyes peeled for very colourful spiders!) have your camera at the ready! I did the hard trail, which wasn’t actually that difficult, so don't worry! There is also diving (Seasound), horse riding and yoga within walking distance from the hostel. All round a great holiday, definitely intend to go again- Thanks Chill Hill!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ray_Soraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

It was my first ever trip to portugal as well as surfing.I have never experienced such wonferful hospitality from all the staff from the hostel as well as the surf instructors.This will go down as the best holiday i have had to date.From Doctor Dangerous

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DangerousD10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The hostel is really great. After staying there for just one week all I can do is strongly recommend it. Even tho they don't have much space in there to use, every square meter is lovely decorated and you find everything that you can possibly need or expect in there. I stayed in one of the 6 Bed dorms, which are very spacious with a big balcony and even a shelf for each bed ( something most hostels I visited didn't offer)
Especially the lounge and the outside area made the stay so pleasant, as its so nice that nearly everyone spend their time in there and after just one day being there you felt like being part of a big family.
Martina, the owner is a lovely lady as well who tries her best to make each and everyone feel welcome.
The location is quite good as well, you can walk into the town center or to the beaches in about 5-10 minutes, and from each balcony you can see the ocean.
So all in all a really nice hostel with an even nicer flair and atmosphere which is perfect to forget about your stress back home and chill out for a while- I'll definitely gonna go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123melli456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ericeira hotels
0.7 mi away
Vila Gale Ericeira
Vila Gale Ericeira
#1 of 6 in Ericeira
660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Camarao
Hotel Camarao
#2 of 6 in Ericeira
143 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chill In Ericeira Surfhouse
Chill In Ericeira Surfhouse
#12 of 60 in Ericeira
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Amar Hostel & Suites
Amar Hostel & Suites
#8 of 23 in Ericeira
65 reviews
0.7 mi away
Laneez Ericeira
Laneez Ericeira
#6 of 60 in Ericeira
39 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea U Soon Hostel
Sea U Soon Hostel
#8 of 60 in Ericeira
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ericeira Chill Hill Hostel & Private Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ericeira Chill Hill Hostel & Private Rooms

Property: Ericeira Chill Hill Hostel & Private Rooms
Address: Rua Nelson Gomes Salvador 6, Ericeira 2655-242, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Ericeira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Ericeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ericeira Chill Hill Hostel & Private Rooms 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by surfers and life lovers, for surfers and life lovers, we want to offer a maximum of comfort to make you feel just like at home during your holiday stay on the beach.Located on the hill, in the center of the charming fisherman´s village Ericeira, the CHILL HILL is blessed with a great view towards our beloved ocean and beaches. Most of our rooms have a balkony and face the waterfront.After a long and relaxing day under the hot portuguese sun you might also want to enjoy our garden well-stocked with couches, hammocks a big grill andeverything else you need to kick back, relax & let your soul fly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ericeira Chill Hill Hostel & Private Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing