We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest vacation!”
Review of Magikvanilla

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ericeira
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Magikvanilla
Ranked #2 of 23 Ericeira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Greatest vacation!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Excellent surfing-experience! The crew is so friendly and so much fun! They really take care of you and make sure you have the greatest vacation. The surfing lessons were awesome and the instructers are really patient and great. Awesome place, that I will go back to next summer!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
15
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Magikvanilla is more than a hostel - it's like a family! Everyone just clicked like one big, sunny jigsaw! It's a beautiful hostel in the stunning village of Ericeira. Breakfast was great - fresh bread rolls, ham, cheeses, cereals, prunes, hazelhuts, dried banana, juice, different teas & coffee... Surf instructors are lovely! Was iffy of André the first day but soon realized that he's a fantastic instructor - so helpful! Cheap week! The hostel is about a 6/7 minute walk to Aldi and Lidl. Eating out is cheap too. The indian is AMAZING! (Go for the Korma ;) It was just the best week! So chilled. I met the loveliest people! While I was there, I started planning my return! Wouldn't bother visiting Lisbon again (too easy to get lost!) - Instead, enjoy an extra day in Ericeira, surfing, lounging on the beach, eating delicious ice-cream... Next time, I'll visit Sintra because I heard it's beautiful. I can't praise Magikvanilla enough! Thanks Steve, Susie, André, James, Tess, Angie, Denver and the lovely girl who gave me the fab massage! X

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Ciara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have never written a review on Trip Advisor before but felt like I had to with Magikvanilla. What a beatiful place and what lovely people! The town itself is magical and you can't help but fall in love with it. The beaches are great and the surfing is even better. You will have a fantastic time learning to surf - the instructors are very enthusiastic and encouraging and there wasn't one person in my group who didn't stand up by the end of the week.
Hats off to Susie and Steve who have done a fantastic job with the hostel and got together a great group of people to work there. It is by far the cleanest hostel I've ever been to so big thanks to Ange and Tess for all their hard work.
You have to go and experience it for yourself. Trust me - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zen215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Excellent place to stay, facilities, staff, location..can't fault anything with Magikvanilla. Stayed in a double room which was very nice. Surfing lessons were excellent, instructors are very interactive with you which makes it easier to learn to surf. Ericeira is a beautiful town with lovely bars and restaurants and a very relaxed atmosphere. Recommend this place 100%, you wont find better. Will return here for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daire_odonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Had one of the best weeks holidays in ages. Awesome hostel and the most friendly staff. Surfing was mean, the instructors were so good and very patient. By the end of the week everyone managed to stand up.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamberg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The property is pretty nice and you will miss nothing. Neither a fully equiped community kitchen, TV-/reading-/chillout-/games-room, nor a porch or whatever you need to chill and relax after surfing or in the evenings. Ericeira and its beaches are an awesome place to surf or even to learn it (as i did) - or to stroll through the little alleys - and of course, have a (few) beer in the little and nice bars. Cool and experienced instructors make the lessons entertaining and successful. The staff is absolutely friendly and helpful. I made a lot of new friends both from the team and visitors.
Thank you Susi, Steve, Denver, Angie, Tess, James, Andre and Pedro for making my two weeks so Magikal.
Hope I'll get days off in september to see you guys again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamikazebbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed at Magikvanilla for a week and would recommend if to everyone. Staff were friendly and very socialable. The house is in a very good location with great space to relax and chill out after surfing. The surfing lessons were great with everyone helping out and cheering you on when trying to stand up for the first time. It is one big happy family and will be looking to go again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ericeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Vila Gale Ericeira
Vila Gale Ericeira
#1 of 6 in Ericeira
683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Camarao
Hotel Camarao
#2 of 6 in Ericeira
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pedro o Pescador
Pedro o Pescador
#4 of 6 in Ericeira
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amar Hostel & Suites
Amar Hostel & Suites
#6 of 23 in Ericeira
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa das Aguarelas
Casa das Aguarelas
#8 of 23 in Ericeira
86 reviews
2.5 mi away
Casa Paco D'ilhas
Casa Paco D'ilhas
#3 of 23 in Ericeira
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magikvanilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magikvanilla

Property: Magikvanilla
Address: Rua da Ribeira da Baleia, Ericeira 2655-350, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Ericeira
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Ericeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House has a great location, it's close to the centre of town and the beach as well as being secluded enough bringing the sense of privacy. You are welcome to enjoy the garden, terraces, sunny balconies, TV room and library - the whole area covered with wireless internet you can access for free. And you can also use the kitchen, barbecue. Everything to make you feel at home;) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing