We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & helpful”
Review of Pensao Fortunato

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ericeira
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pensao Fortunato
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ericeira
Evesham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Friendly & helpful”
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 days & had a really restful break, a balcony room facing the sea which got the sun all day, wonderful. An easy 5 mins from the central square & the same to the beach. The room was fine though the walls are perhaps a little on the thin side, we didn't find that a problem... The room was cleaned & the sheets & towels changed every day by a very capable lady, hot water was always available, as was WiFi. The owner & his son were good hosts, both friendly & helpful, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BTDTevesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    16
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Lonely Planet recommendation. Booked same day by phone without problem in May. The hotel/residencial is at the south end of downtown at the end of the pedestrian central area. 2nd floor, west-facing rooms toward the ocean have a wonderful balcony with great view. First floor rooms toward the ocean are still OK and all rooms can hear the surf. Minimal intermittent street noise at night. Listed at 50E in high season was 35E with no breakfast. Paid with cash, so can't tell if credit cards are accepted. There are 4 or 5 good to excellent pastellaria choices for breakfast on the pedestrian street, the best of which was on the NW side of the main square just 3 short blocks away. Several great fish and pizza restaurant choices on the pedestrian streets as well. Parking 3E extra in garage, but free on street nearby if any places available in busier times. Plenty of places were available in May. Keep your valuables with you, out of the car. Rooms are clean and modern. No art or frills. Tile floors are lovely and clean. Small shower stall but still very good shower with free soap. Free WiFi was new and the 2nd floor modem was not yet working but lobby WiFi was fine. Friendly and helpful father and son combo at the desk with good English and good recommendations for eating choices. The only English channel on TV that we could find was National Geographic, which was fascinating.

Room Tip: Point toward the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveW43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My wife and I just arrived in home (Norway) after another fantastic 2 weeks summer holiday in Ericeira. We have spent 1-2 weeks in this facinating Portuguese village for more than 20 years, tha last 17-18 years in Pensao Fortunato. This family hotel gives you the absolute best value-for-money when it comes to service, room standard, view (most rooms), breakfast etc. As "junior" takes over more and more of the administration, "senior" can relax and be the service manager for the guests. He speaks both English, Spanish and French, and he understands much of e.g. Italian. Remember - this pensao does not try to be a "5 star hotel", only to give you the best of what they have. Charm and service are the two key words. We will be back in a top floor room, with fantastic view and ocean view, also next year!

Room Tip: All rooms have their advantage, just ask for what you want: Ocean view, "quiet room", smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Frode K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latvia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2009

...to the world and travellers...
the host was old, smiling, but did not speak english much. rooms were from the last century, furniture was adjusted badly but bed and linen was neat and tidy, though smelly from humidity. In the night I had sensation as if i were in space with paper walls: every pick and pack of water drop was heard. but anyway thank you to the Host. In Ericeira living is outside :)

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maijins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2008

Great family run bed & breakfast/hotel. 22 rooms in a very central location. Restaurants and beach within minutes. Breakfast was great albeit basic. Very good value for money with a large ocean facing room. Spend the extra and get a balcony its definately worth it. Parking is also available for 2 Euros a night.

  • Liked — Amazing View and location was brilliant
  • Disliked — Parking can be a bit tight but is a neccesary evil
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Rawkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2007

We were greeted here by the kindly gentleman owner with the Cokebottle spectacles and his friendly daughter (or granddaughter?) who has all the English. Up a tiny lift to the third floor, she opened our door to reveal a huge room with a large bed and a terrace overlooking the magnificent Atlantic Ocean, all for an incredibly cheap price.

The room was clean; the terrace really is worth the extra cost. Everything in the town is within an easy walk.
A word of caution, however: the hotel was surrounded by several construction projects that they don't show in the photos on the web site. Several upscale hotel/condo projects are underway as of Fall 2007, so you might try to ask about the status. It makes for noisy, dusty conditions and they start work early and go late. Also, this hotel also suffered from a common Portuguese problem of sewer gases backing up into the room from the toilet and shower drains. But a very nice, friendly place for a great price. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank iith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ericeira
0.3 mi away
Hotel Camarao
Hotel Camarao
#2 of 6 in Ericeira
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Ericeira
Vila Gale Ericeira
#1 of 6 in Ericeira
661 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pedro o Pescador
Pedro o Pescador
#4 of 6 in Ericeira
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Quinta dos Raposeiros
0.2 mi away
Casa das Aguarelas
Casa das Aguarelas
#8 of 23 in Ericeira
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laneez Ericeira
Laneez Ericeira
#6 of 60 in Ericeira
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Fortunato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Fortunato

Property: Pensao Fortunato
Address: Rua Eduardo Burnay 7, Ericeira 2655-368, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Ericeira
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ericeira
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing