We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great seafood at reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Serrao

Casa Serrao
Ranked #11 of 312 Restaurants in Matosinhos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great seafood at reasonable price”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

A very busy restaurant filled with mostly locals. We had the shrimp açorda (a bread stew) which was perfect comfort food, as well as fried sardines and grilled octopus. Everything was delicious, and the service was efficient, friendly and considerate. The prices were all reasonable, and we felt we had a typical Portuguese night out.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pomodoro49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    164
    43
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
norwich
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent fish restaurant”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We visited in March on recommendation from the guesthouse we were staying in. It was Tuesday and the restaurant was busy with families and business guests alike. We had the starters they placed on the table which were little parcels filled with minced fish or vegetables and grilled tiny peppers. You don't have to eat what they tempt you with, you can say no and order what you like, but we thought they looked so good we had them and even ordered more!
For mains we had Dourada and Skate which came with wonderful steamed greens and tasty chips and we had a good salad on the side. With a 3 beers and a very good glass of house wine we were full and rolled out into the fresh night air to catch our train back to Porto. For 39.90€ we thought it was good value. Do visit this unpretentious restaurant you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank norwichman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced and well cooked, tasty food”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We both had fish, him golden bream, me skate and both were delicious and very well cooked.

Like many restaurants in Porto, they bring you food that you haven't ordered. If you haven't encountered this before, you should know that if you eat it, you will be expected to pay for it. They don't take offence, however, if you turn it away. Generally though, it was very well priced so we just had everything and enjoyed it!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EofClanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh fish at a very good price”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The principal specialty of Matosinhos is fresh fish. At Casa Serrão you can find all kinds of fish, mainly grilled on coal. We also had a plate a fried green peppers “pardon” and delicious deserts. The service was quick and very friendly.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nini_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
367 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“portuguese seafood restaurant”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Went there in early November and the food was tasty and very filling. The restaurant is located in the Matosinhos area near the port on a stretch with a lot of other restaurants. We walked up and down and around and came back to this restaurant because the decor was nice.

We don't speak Portuguese and our server didn't speak English but this was absolutely no problem. She went into the kitchen a few times and brought out some fish on a plate to show us when we didn't understand. Really friendly service.

We started off with the traditional caldo verde (cabbage and potato soup) and the vegetable soup of the day. The soup hit the spot because it was rainy and cold out. We also tried the fried and battered bacalhau (salted cod fish), which was quite tasty too.

Then, we moved on to the mains, which consisted of large piece roasted bacalhau with a side order of homemade french fries and a huge pot of seafood paella. The portions here are huge. We could have shared one main.

We are true gluttons and even managed to squeeze in desserts of chocolate cake and flan.

We waddled out of the restaurant very content.

The placed filled up fast for lunch. You may want to make reservations. We were the only tourists in there that day. All other customers were locals.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nouglytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Serrao also viewed

Matosinhos, Porto District
 
Matosinhos, Porto District
Matosinhos, Porto District
 

Been to Casa Serrao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing