We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good choice.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Urban Hotel Amadeos
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Matosinhos
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I changed the hotel, because there was no laundry service and no restaurant available in the hotel and the breakfast was very poor. There was no flexibility from the hotel and they charge me also the extra nights that I wouldn't use anymore.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Travel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MktMHA, Gerente at Urban Hotel Amadeos, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2015

Dear Client Travel S
Your opinion is very important to us, thank you for your comment. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for your experience in the name of the other management and add that it was the made a large-scale renovation in 2015 because there was a change of owners and management in this same year.
We hope to have the opportunity to receive you in a near future and enhance your appreciation.
We are looking forward to your visit soon.
Best regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

Very good value. Rooms were spacious and very clean. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. Good location if you don't want to stay in Central Porto, close to the metro station (didn't hear the trains) and 10 minute walk to the beach and to lots of excellent restaurants. Parked in free public car park right next to hotel.

My only criticism was that the hotel didn't have a sign with its name, just a sign saying Hotel, so look out for this. The fridge didn't work but this wasn't an issue for us as we didn't need to use it and bought our drinks from the reasonably priced vending machine in the lobby.

Very happy with our stay at Hotel Amadeus!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MktMHA, Gerente de relações públicas at Urban Hotel Amadeos, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2015

Dear Client Sandra G
Your opinion is very important to us hence our thank for your precious comment. The property is dated 1995 and we would like to take this opportunity to say that it was the made a large-scale renovation in 2015 because there was a change of owners and management.
We are looking forward to your visit soon.
Best regards
The Hotel PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

I have just got back from this hotel and I can only say it is one of the cleanest, tidiest, immaculate hotels I have ever stayed in !!! All the windows sparkled, the rooms were spotless not a speck of dust/grime anywhere.
I normally stay in 5 * hotels and we booked this, as over a week we had plans to go to St Johns Night in Porto, onto Lisbon for 3 nights and end our holiday by the beach. So 3 hotels in all. I left this booking to my partner as I was organising the rest. When he told me the price for 3 nights....I was not impressed as it seemed too cheap. The 3 nights cost what I would pay for one night elsewhere.
Anyway I decided to go with the flow....upon arrival (it was late at night) I just wanted my bed. The reception was friendly, I was thirsty. They have vending machines for drinks and chocolate bars. Not overpriced. A bottle of ice cold water is only 50 cents.
The room is no frills but so welcoming and cosy. Satellite tv ( I did not expect that) so able to watch English shows (which is good when you want to chill out for an hour or 2). One thing, when we arrived there was no remote control for tv. My Partner went to recption to be told it was broken and so no remote. Next day we asked somebody else and immediately got a remote control.
All my time there, there was always a lovely smell of clean and fresh. Great hotel...HIGHLY recomended for the cost.
Now the resort....yes it goes to sleep at 10, so no food after that. We learnt that lesson as we like to eat late and ended up in a Japanese Sushi restaurant (as it was the only place open) neither of us like raw meat or fish but just ate the deep fried starters. Next night we went into Porto on the train across the road (which is not noisy from your room).
The beaches vary day to day. It can be windy with sand blowing everywhere. It can also be milder and more calm (depends on the weather) but I do love that breeze from the Atlantic Ocean that Portugal has to offer....you never feel boiling hot but a nice sunshine with a breeze to keep you cool............HIGHLY RECOMENDED

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaydo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MktMHA, Gerente de relações públicas at Urban Hotel Amadeos, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2015

Dear Client Jaydo68
Your opinion is very important to us hence our thank for your precious comment. The property is dated 1995 and we would like to take this opportunity to say that it was the made a large-scale renovation in 2015 because there was a change of owners and management.
We are looking forward to your visit soon.
Best regards
The Hotel PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Great location for morning jogging! It sets by the tram station that leads to Porto ((25mins). Simple and handy for me.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1980winetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Enjoyed this hotel. Friendly staff. Very clean, opposite camara Metro, 25 mins from Porto downtown. Hotel has satellite, big bathroom, fridge and a reasonable price. However, what the previous writer didnt say was more about the location. Its a very safe environment that would suit families. However the bars and restuarants shut early, theres very limited night life and it didnt really suit us, though we made the most of it and forced some of the local places to let us stay till after 11pm!. The beach is very large, but the Atlantic wind is biting and the sand flies everywhere. This is a very Portugese area where little english is spoken and menus are rarely translated. But the locals were very friendly and welcomed us like they had never seen a tourist before. Porto itself is far more touristy and well worth a visit. However its a great place if you want to escape from everything and not be found by anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danny100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Great location. Walk to the beach and the all the restuarants and bakeries (so good!!). For nightclubs, deff had to take a cab back to the hotel, but cabs are very cheap. The room was great, LOTs of room, and across the street from the tram that takes you to the city (porto and all the touristy areas). There is also a supermarket accross the street from the hotel, but buy your fruits in the shops by the restuarants(go to "frutaria matosinhos" GREAT little shop! great prices and selection!), far better quality and price. The bathroom was what you get for the money, not perfect. The radio in the room didnt work either and when we called the front desk to fix it, they came up, tried to turn it on, it didnt work, and they kind of just shrugged their shoulders lollll But all in all GREAT hotel for the price!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MashkaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulotapia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matosinhos
0.7 mi away
Hotel Porto Mar
Hotel Porto Mar
#3 of 7 in Matosinhos
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Senhor de Matosinhos
Hotel Senhor de Matosinhos
#2 of 7 in Matosinhos
116 reviews
1.5 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
#14 of 111 in Porto
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
TRYP Porto Expo Hotel
TRYP Porto Expo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Matosinhos
349 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor
Holiday Inn Express Porto-Expono...
#1 of 1 in Leca da Palmeira
273 reviews
3.5 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 111 in Porto
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Hotel Amadeos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Hotel Amadeos

Address: Rua Conde Alto Mearim, 1229, Matosinhos 4450-036, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Matosinhos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Matosinhos
Price Range: £12 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Urban Hotel Amadeos 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1995, Hotel Amadeos saw its turning point in 2015, by the hand of a new management. Completely refurbished, both in a physical space and in services, this hotel unit combines design and comfort needed for a business trip or a family holiday near the beach. Currently, this hotel offers 50 spacious and modern rooms. The bar and lounge are also a reference area where guests can sample snacks, cocktails or fresh bebibas, taking advantage of work or to relax. This space is also open to the general public. Privileged for its central location, Hotel Amadeos is just about 5 km from the airport and 2 km from the Exponor. The beach is right next door! If you want to get out of town, you will easily find access to the center of Porto and neighboring areas, both by car and public transportation, as the subway is located right in front Hotel Amadeos presents renovated and with a dedicated staff that make you feel at home. This new management plan is to make this a reference site in the town of Matosinhos, directed both at the corporate sector as a tourist. We are looking forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Urban Hotel Amadeos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing