We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Hotel I once knew”
Review of Helin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Helin Hotel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Craiova
Timisoara, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not the Hotel I once knew”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Hotel Helin a few years ago. It was one of the best hotels in Craiova.
Now I was amazed the room was not at all cleaned. Dirt on the carpet.
The Mini bar refrigerator did such a noise I had to unplug it.
I was disappointed.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank adicroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    4
    2
    7
    3
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The hotel is located on the main road between downtown and the city airport. It is in front of the main city commercial mall.

It is a new building with good furniture in the rooms.

The wifi is pretty good and works in all the places.

In the restaurant several traditional and international dishes are available.

The personnel is nice and available.

The only negtive point is that in Romania as well as in the restaurant room smoking is still allowed.

Room Tip: Remind to ask for a smoking free room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bido01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

The room didn't look very clean, the toilet was broken and I had to close the water so it didn't flow through the night, the elevator doesn't show which floor you're at. The breakfast was mediocre and the water was just undrinkable.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ponoranf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Craiova hotels

Bratislava
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I have been travelling through Romania for one week and i have stayed in different towns in 4* hotels and this has been the worst one.
Rooms - dark and cold, but clean.
Reception/lobby - missing.
View - none.
Service - ok i suppose, we didn't stay there for too long.
Parking - none. the are parking spaces in front of the hotel, but considering that there is a night club in the hotel, all parking spaces were taken.
Breakfast - poor.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel neither for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: there is a night club in the hotel so always ask for rooms on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EFVMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucuresti
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

- ugly room
- double bad but right next to the wall
- small covered windows
- bad light with neon
- old system to increase the temperature (we had to ask at the reception how we can do this)
- strange flyers for promoting the hotel with striptease ladies!!!
- thin toilet paper and soap disposal equipment like in public WCs (the toilet paper was fixed on the wall opposite to the toilet!!!)

The only good things: the bath robe and slippers.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oanap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2010

We were on a business trip recently. The hotel has two types of rooms. The large ones with panoramic windows are nice, the small ones are not that much. The lighting is awful since they have only coloured lamps in the room. Really difficult to work or read. Fast wireless internet connection is available. The restaurant is o.k. If you happen to be in this city, this is a fair choice.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bergamo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Craiova hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Craiova
Hotel Royal Craiova
#2 of 20 in Craiova
82 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rexton
Hotel Rexton
#3 of 20 in Craiova
49 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oltenia Hotel
Oltenia Hotel
#7 of 20 in Craiova
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
La Rocca Hotel Boutique
La Rocca Hotel Boutique
#6 of 20 in Craiova
12 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Craiova
Ramada Plaza Craiova
#1 of 20 in Craiova
73 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Relax Craiova
Hotel Relax Craiova
#10 of 20 in Craiova
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helin Hotel

Property: Helin Hotel
Address: Calea Bucuresti Street, No. 88, Craiova, Romania
Region: Romania > Southwest Romania > Dolj County > Craiova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Craiova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Helin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Helin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing