We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located, value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Royal Craiova
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Craiova
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Centrally located in walking distance to the city center.
Front fascade of an old building; back building is modern, rooms are to today's standards or above, i.e. the futuristic shower cabin ;)
Private parking not available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing towards the main street if you are sensitive to traffic noise (but not rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Werner B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

After many unpleasant experiences in Craiova I found myself a decent place to stay.
Downtown, nice building, nice decorations, clean and pretty quiet.
The room I stayed in (202) was not so big, but it was clean and comfortable.
Although it was a hot summer day when I got there (and the room is on the penthouse), it was pretty cool inside . And the A/C was off.
The bathroom is also nice. Small towel and slippers included.
I left early in the morning so I can't say anything about breakfast.
I will try it next time, because I intend to visit the place again on my next business trip.
Didn't try the restaurant either.
The staff is friendly and helpful.
Fitness center or a small SPA would make it the perfect place to visit on business trips.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Cippriaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Only one night at that hotel but I would come back again there. 800 meters from the pedestrian street, very nice and welcoming staff, very spacious rooms, with all I needed for rest and fun. Maybe because the next day was my birthday I had also my mood lifted up but anyway - I liked very much the hotel, the bathroom with its radio in the cabin, the easy parking outside, the good quality of the wi-fi signal and speed.
What is a minus is that the hotel is actually on a main street but at the same time my GPS did not find it, so I was lost for a while. The breakfast was quite what I expected.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chavdar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Good hotel for a nice price, just outside the city center. nice rooms with a good bed, the breakfast is also good. not the most luxury breakfast but all components are there.In the neighbourhood nice restaurants and bars. just towards the city center yeSorno, great louche bar. a little bit futher the italian restaurant la dolce vita.

Room Tip: 211 is a nice room with a own cauch, minibar and a decent bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t0mmyt0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Becoming a regular in craiova so done my fair share of hotel hopping. This is my favourite. The hotel has a wonderful ambience with marble stairs and 19th century decor. You are greeted by warm and friendly staff. I stayed in the cheap rooms, one room was spacious and comfortable although had single beds, the shower was like something from outer space. Jets from all angles, a radio and adjustable lighting. The second room i thankfully only spent one night in had a double bed and paper thin walls, also not spacious. The food is average but the staff are really wonderful. Especially louisa who looked after us.
Just found out my team have moved to another hotel. Feel a bit sad. Maybe i'll go back here instead:-)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deltashad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Great location, nice clean and spatious rooms, wi-fi, parking available very close, good service and good food at the restaurant. The building of the hotel is impressive, and old building fully renovated. We'll be back here for sure !

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danis007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I’ve been in Craiova for almost a week and I stayed in this hotel; is in the town centre, close to University and other points of interest. The room was more than ok, spacious, clean with all the facilities and with breakfast included in the price. The staff was very nice each time I made a request or put one or two questions. Unfortunately, almost all the city centre is under construction and this affects the services one or other hotel might offer to a client. So, the noise that was a problem for me at Royal Hotel can be found, I think, in other places. In the end, this was clearly only a bad timing and that it’s why what I will remember of my first encounter with Craiova will not be that inconvenience, but what I found walking on its streets and the touristic attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicoletatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Craiova hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Craiova
Ramada Plaza Craiova
#1 of 20 in Craiova
77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendid 1900
Hotel Splendid 1900
#4 of 20 in Craiova
19 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rexton
Hotel Rexton
#3 of 20 in Craiova
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Golden House
Hotel Golden House
#6 of 20 in Craiova
30 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Rocca Hotel Boutique
La Rocca Hotel Boutique
#5 of 20 in Craiova
14 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Relax Craiova
Hotel Relax Craiova
#9 of 20 in Craiova
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Craiova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Craiova

Address: Str. Romania Muncitoare 88, Craiova 200000, Romania
Region: Romania > Southwest Romania > Dolj County > Craiova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Craiova
Price Range: £38 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Craiova 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a 19th-century building in the centre of Craiova, Hotel Royal is just 150 metres from Craiova University. It offers free Wi-Fi, a hot tub, and a balcony overlooking the city in each room.The elegant, air-conditioned rooms include a flat-screen satellite TV, a minibar, and a tea/coffee maker.Hotel Royal Craiova’s restaurant serves both Romanian and international dishes, with an elegant and intimate style. The wine cellar offers Romanian cuisine accompanied by wine and other beverages.Free parking is available on site. Craiova Train Station is 1.5 km away.Numerous parks, night clubs and shopping centres can be found close to the hotel. Craiova Airport is 10 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Royal Craiova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing