We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality for high expectations !”
Review of Le baron

Le baron
Ranked #58 of 94 Restaurants in Craiova
Cuisines: Romanian, International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Craiova, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Poor quality for high expectations !”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The terace is amazing, but sadly this is the only good point. The management in horrible. Those who run the restaurant should know that is more important to take care of the customers instead of friends. The money came from customers not from friends at the " family " table. The food is not quit impressive as it should be. Poor staff, badly trained. Overall if you want to payfor the arrogance of the management team go for le baron restaurant !

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Le Baron - June 13”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Very nice for 'al fresco' dining, just been refurbished and on a warm summers evening a very relaxing evening with live background music (the modern kind!). New chef served up some great meals, although the menue is not that extensive I think that contributes to the quality. reasonably priced, but on a busy evening service is a bit hit and miss. Saying that one of the best in Craiova and we will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Incredible atmosphere on the terrace, great music, incredible food, exemplary service!”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We were searching for a terrace with restaurant and we finally got here after some missfires! It was recently renovated and it looks amazing. The food was way over what we expected, magnifique, with a superb service. Big plus, the prices are more than acceptable!
We recommend it for anyone who visits Craiova!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiova, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great Cook!”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Had lunch there a couple of days ago. Very surprised when I get the "specials" menu with two cooks listed and told which one was on duty.

The steak was yummy. Waitress very friendly and accommodating. Outdoor patio very pleasant but in need of a remodel.

Will definitely visit again to try another delicious dish.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“bad management”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

16 at a table,booked in advance garden was wonderfully clean and tidy extremely pleasant spent 1120,30 lei approx 275,- €. food a-la carte well presented and very fresh and tasty. the waitress had approximately 30 people to serve all a-la carte!! our meal took 1H 40 Mins to arrive and when we asked to see the manager the girl returned to the table with tears in her eyes,as to why we can only guess!!! Eventually the manager came after most of us had received our main course and when asked why 1 staff member for so guest said" this is how it is" The girl did not only have to take the orders for drinks but prepare then and serve them as well and the kitchen was miles away. the design of the crockery only enabled her to carry two meals at any one time! When asked why extra staff were not availeable to serve such a large number of a-la carte meals(16) the female managers response is this is the quiet period of the day and we have only minimum staffing levels( which is fine the staff that are working including the manager pull thier resources and work as a team) further to this the managerin then had the affront to put the blame on us the guests ofr having ordered a-la carte meals in an a-la carte restaurant????This was further annoying because the managerin had been sat at a table with friends taking her seat at a tableabout 10m away from ours making us wait to place our drink and food order insisting she and her friends be served first and afterwards going into her office, knowing full well that we were unhappy about the delay and that the very nice and pleasant waitress was no longer able to cope with the volume of a-la carte client orders! Further to this we recieved No apology from the managerin or compensation for our patience! We informed her that instead of sitting eating and drinking with her friends or scratching her behind in the office, that it might have been better to help her staff as she was fully aware of the circumstance being only a couple of tables away from ours!!With this idea she was also none receptive and told us this is not her job???!!! At the end of the meal we tipped the waitress 25 € and the manager for her unfriendly and unprofessional behaviour becomes a comment on tripadvisor! so to close this short message food good, staff hard working and unappreciated, management a waste of space needing to be educated on service industry professional behaviour and customer respect! ps i still have the bill to prove my visit and many of my party are also going to post comments on other sites!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le baron also viewed

Craiova, Dolj County
Craiova, Dolj County
 
Craiova, Dolj County
Craiova, Dolj County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing