We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and clean”
Review of Hostal Playa Sur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Playa Sur
Reviewed 19 September 2012

A double private for the same price of a 7 bed in a hostel. Very good, very kind staff, available free parking nearby, 6 min. walk from the sea. Rooms are perfectly insulated acoustically, but the street is very silent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

The owners are very nice and ready to give you any sort of tips. The rooms are clean and detailed, but a bit small and dark. No fridge in the room, no common space available, no open space to dry anything after a day at the beach. The price, honestly, 56 E/night for a double room is a little bit high for Coni and for the accomodation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa_fox85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dnaspain, Owner at Hostal Playa Sur, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

It's a shame, they were a nice couple but sadly expected a bit too much from a 1 star budget Hostal for 56 euro per night at the end of July. We don't have any of the facilities mentioned in their reviews nor do we offer them in our website/advertising description. What we do offer is clean comfortable good value accommodation. Strange as when I asked them why they choose our Hostal, they said "Because you were the cheapest".
p.s. communal fridge and washing/drying service available :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

What a warm welcome from Alan and David! They were extremely accommodating and friendly, with plenty of recommendations for food, drink and beaches. Our twin room was astonishing value at €25/night - I was half expecting a grotty room but not at all - you definitely get more than you pay for! Very clean, charming, great shower, comfy beds, air-con, tv - it really was fantastic. The hotel is located just outside of what is called the "old town" but Conil is only small and so everything is a very short walk away. A fantastic little hotel not to be missed, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We spent a wonderful week at Hostal Playa Sur. Our room (4) was comfortable with en suite shower and toilet. There is also a flat screen TV in all bedrooms. The owners, Alan and David, have been running this little gem in Conil for nearly 10 years. The boys also live on the premises and are available to answer questions and give great advice on places to eat and places to visit in the region. The room was cleaned daily and towels changed daily. Alan and David were very accomodating when we wanted to check out later than the official check out time. The overnight rates were superb value at €28 for the room. We were directed to local tapas bars and restaurants. Lots and lots of fish!!!!!!!!!!! Ask the boys to recommend good breakfast places. Conil is incredible value for money. David also recommended great beaches. "Rota Norte" (Cadiz) is one of the best beaches I have ever been to. The local beach in Conil is excellent also. David told me that guests can bring their dogs but they can't be unaccompanied in the hostal during the day or when they go out in the evening. The lads have their own dogs at the hostal.
We highly recommend Hostal Playa Sur for a relaxing break or as a base to explore the region (Cadiz, Seville, Jerez and the magnicient countryside and beaches)
Thanks Alan and David. We will be back.................................. PJ and Ken

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJHogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank felicuco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank JAVI V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mdbielsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Conil de la Frontera hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tres Jotas
Hotel Tres Jotas
#24 of 26 in Conil de la Frontera
32 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hostal Los Rosales
Hostal Los Rosales
#14 of 33 in Conil de la Frontera
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Flor De Lis- Lojo
Hostal Flor De Lis- Lojo
#9 of 33 in Conil de la Frontera
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Extramuros
Hostal Extramuros
#11 of 33 in Conil de la Frontera
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Costa de la Luz
Hostal Costa de la Luz
#11 of 58 in Conil de la Frontera
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal La Fonda
Hostal La Fonda
#5 of 33 in Conil de la Frontera
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Playa Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Playa Sur

Address: Calle Cervantes 10, 11140 Conil de la Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Conil de la Frontera
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Conil de la Frontera
Price Range: £22 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Playa Sur 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small, friendly and comfortable Hostal is near the beautiful, wide sandy beach of Conil in the Costa de la Luz, one of the most beautiful natural beaches in Spain.We offer the choice of 8 rooms in total, 4 doubles, 2 twins and 2 triples. All rooms, vary in size and have everything you need including private bathroom facilities, television and air conditioning. Situated in the heart of Conil in a quieter part of the town but only minutes away from cozy bars and restaurants to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Playa Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Playa Sur Conil De La Frontera, Spain - Costa De La Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing