We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hostal with nice owners!”
Review of Hostal Playa Sur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Playa Sur
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hostal with nice owners!”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I had to book this hostal as my friend got sick and we could not extend our stay at our other hostal, but we felt extremely welcomed by Alan and David! We got a slight reduction (a 3-bed-room for the price of a double room) for our room, which is very cosy and nicely decorated. It's a short stroll to the centre of Conil and to the beach (about 5 to 10 minutes). Public parking spots can be found nearby. We had a quiet, good night as the street was not very noisy and the room is well isolated.

I very much recommend this hostal for a stay in Conil de la Frontera!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellersenjoy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    11
    6
    0
    9
See reviews for
2
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trieste, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2012

A double private for the same price of a 7 bed in a hostel. Very good, very kind staff, available free parking nearby, 6 min. walk from the sea. Rooms are perfectly insulated acoustically, but the street is very silent.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The owners are very nice and ready to give you any sort of tips. The rooms are clean and detailed, but a bit small and dark. No fridge in the room, no common space available, no open space to dry anything after a day at the beach. The price, honestly, 56 E/night for a double room is a little bit high for Coni and for the accomodation.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_fox85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dnaspain, Owner at Hostal Playa Sur, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
It's a shame, they were a nice couple but sadly expected a bit too much from a 1 star budget Hostal for 56 euro per night at the end of July. We don't have any of the facilities mentioned in their reviews nor do we offer them in our website/advertising description. What we do offer is clean comfortable good value accommodation. Strange as when I asked them why they choose our Hostal, they said "Because you were the cheapest".
p.s. communal fridge and washing/drying service available :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

What a warm welcome from Alan and David! They were extremely accommodating and friendly, with plenty of recommendations for food, drink and beaches. Our twin room was astonishing value at €25/night - I was half expecting a grotty room but not at all - you definitely get more than you pay for! Very clean, charming, great shower, comfy beds, air-con, tv - it really was fantastic. The hotel is located just outside of what is called the "old town" but Conil is only small and so everything is a very short walk away. A fantastic little hotel not to be missed, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We spent a wonderful week at Hostal Playa Sur. Our room (4) was comfortable with en suite shower and toilet. There is also a flat screen TV in all bedrooms. The owners, Alan and David, have been running this little gem in Conil for nearly 10 years. The boys also live on the premises and are available to answer questions and give great advice on places to eat and places to visit in the region. The room was cleaned daily and towels changed daily. Alan and David were very accomodating when we wanted to check out later than the official check out time. The overnight rates were superb value at €28 for the room. We were directed to local tapas bars and restaurants. Lots and lots of fish!!!!!!!!!!! Ask the boys to recommend good breakfast places. Conil is incredible value for money. David also recommended great beaches. "Rota Norte" (Cadiz) is one of the best beaches I have ever been to. The local beach in Conil is excellent also. David told me that guests can bring their dogs but they can't be unaccompanied in the hostal during the day or when they go out in the evening. The lads have their own dogs at the hostal.
We highly recommend Hostal Playa Sur for a relaxing break or as a base to explore the region (Cadiz, Seville, Jerez and the magnicient countryside and beaches)
Thanks Alan and David. We will be back.................................. PJ and Ken

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJHogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Conil de la Frontera hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tres Jotas
Hotel Tres Jotas
#24 of 26 in Conil de la Frontera
30 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Oasis Atalaya
Hotel Oasis Atalaya
#18 of 26 in Conil de la Frontera
54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Extramuros
Hostal Extramuros
#10 of 32 in Conil de la Frontera
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Los Bateles
Hostal Los Bateles
#23 of 32 in Conil de la Frontera
14 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel San Vicente
#18 of 32 in Conil de la Frontera
28 reviews
3.7 mi away
El Celemin de Conil
El Celemin de Conil
#4 of 32 in Conil de la Frontera
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Playa Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Playa Sur

Property: Hostal Playa Sur
Address: Calle Cervantes 10, 11140 Conil de la Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Conil de la Frontera
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Conil de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Playa Sur 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small, friendly and comfortable Hostal is near the beautiful, wide sandy beach of Conil in the Costa de la Luz, one of the most beautiful natural beaches in Spain.We offer the choice of 8 rooms in total, 4 doubles, 2 twins and 2 triples. All rooms, vary in size and have everything you need including private bathroom facilities, television and air conditioning. Situated in the heart of Conil in a quieter part of the town but only minutes away from cozy bars and restaurants to suit all tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Playa Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Playa Sur Conil De La Frontera, Spain - Costa De La Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing