We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with Style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hipotels Gran Conil & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This hotel is really in every sense great!!!
If you like good food this is the right place for you, and my suggestion is to take HB or FB because you are going to be sorry if you just take Breakfast.

Large two sided Buffet with every day many different kinds of fresh meat, fish, see food, and more different food prepered direct in front of you at your own style (till you are waiting for your meal some cooks are goig to sing some old spanish song for you ;)), and of course large choice of desserts will make you to like this hotel.

For sport fans there are a number of different posibilities(Swiming pools, gim, tennis, table tennis, squash, beach in 5 min. walk...)

In short sentence you have to go there and make it happend, because almost everybody will find out something interesting, like we find it for us.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the south side they are quieter, not so many people are passing by and opening - clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chresi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (829)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 829 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

This a modern hotel well furnished, lovely rooms, large (if somewhat soulless) pool and friendly staff. But, there are a few negatives. We discovered it is primarily set up for packaged holidays, presumably with meals included in the price. As independent travellers, we prefer to try different local restaurants. On arrival we were offered a 'special' evening meal price of €18.20 each (which proved to be the normal price) and decided to give it a try. We were disappointed to find the hotel had no 'a la carte' restaurant and that with wine and coffee (the latter not available in the restaurant) we ended up paying €60 for a buffet meal available in most hotels for half the price. We used the hotel for breakfast at €8 each but were surprised you had to pay €2.80 extra for a glass of fresh orange. In spite of previous write ups, the hotel is NOT on the beach. You have to walk along wooden boards and a concrete path down a cliff through scrub and a wood to the beach and the only 2 restaurants within easy reach of the hotel. I presume this area is outside the control of the hotel as the lighting has been vandalised, there is lots of graffiti and dog fouling. The problem is returning back in the dark from the restaurants. I wouldn't want my daughters walking up there alone. The 'happy hour' in the hotel runs from 16.30 to 19.00, and is a 2 for 1 arrangement. However, it only applies to 2 specific cocktails. Having said that, the drink prices in the hotel are pretty fair.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Uppermilden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed here 6th to 20th September and enjoyed every minute of it.
The hotel is situated on the outskirts of Conil and is right on the beach. The town centre is a fifteen to twenty minute stroll away and can be reached by road, the boardwalk or by descending to the beach and going that way ( there are plenty of bars / restaurants to make the seashore a good choice ). The beach can be reached from the hotel by way of a zig zag path that starts just outside the hotel pool deck, very handy. It's easy going down but reasonably steep coming back up, could be a bit difficult if you have mobility problems but not too bad. It isn't lit at night so a torch is a good idea.
The hotel itself is modern and laid out well, it's in the shape of a U with the two legs facing the sea,these hold most of the rooms. Only about 20 rooms have a full sea view, the rooms on the inside of the legs have a good side sea view and also look out over the pool( which is large, freshwater and has a duty lifeguard from 11am to 7 pm) and sunbed decks,the sunsets seen from our room (3110) were great. The rest of the rooms have a garden aspect. All the rooms are a decent size with plenty of storeage and space to move around. There is a safe (2€ per day) and mini bar. The bathrooms are large with 2 sinks, hair dryer and a good size walk in shower. The rooms were serviced very efficiently everyday and bedding changed regularly. The aircon was easy to use and worked well.
The main entrance, reception, restaurant and bar/ lounges are at the base of the U shape, all in all it's laid out thoughtfully and very well. There are a few car parking spaces right outside the hotel but these are highly prized and you have to be lucky to get one, their underground car park is available at 6€ per night but the best bet is a public car park opposite the entrance, it's about 50 yards away and we never had a problem finding space.
There is a good sized supermarket about half a mile away where we filled up on bottled water and lunchtime items although we didn't really need to buy extras.
The meals at the hotel were excellent, we were half board but went with the intention of eating out several times, we didn't do this, the food was so good we stayed at the hotel every night (boring) , the breakfast buffet was immense with everything you could need, even cava if you wanted it, there was a station for cooking eggs and omelettes to order, Laura and her accomplice were always cheerful and their singing helped start the day well as they fried away. Cold meats, cheeses, salad items ,fruit,cereals and various breads and pastries were all available and plentiful. Coffee was brought in pots to the table but tea and other drinks were always available.
The dinner buffet was as good if not better, again there was show cooking,generally 5 or 6 meat and fish items on offer,this was on top of the 6 or 7 ready cooked hot items, there was a choice of soups and cooked vegetables,the salad bar strained under the weight of items, every night there was a different section for specialities and Andalusian dishes. The quality of the food on offer was superb and we never heard of a complaint all the time we were there.
All this was brilliant but what really makes the place so good is the STAFF, they are great. From the reception staff, to the housekeeping staff, the waiters and waitresses,the bar staff and the entertainment team were all excellent, always with a smile, a waive and a cheery 'buenos dios', it helped make our holiday a bit special.
I can't find any British tour companies running packages here, the other guests are predominantly German and Spanish, all very well behaved and no bun fight for sun beds as at other hotels we've visited, we got on very well with our fellow holidaymakers.
To sum up this is a classy hotel but with a laid back feel that makes for a brilliant relaxing holiday

Room Tip: Getting a room on the left side of the U shape lets you see the fabulous sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MGDSEDGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

the last time I was here the hotel was relatively new and was a good quality hotel, now I noticed some items were even better than before! the staff are exceptional! that goes from reception, bar and waiters/waitresses, dining staff and never have I had such a pretty chambermaid with a warm smile and a sense of humour! plenty of sunbeds, pool bar that does snacks also, some poolside entertainment including for the children. shows in the evening, once inside and another night outside on the terrace, very relaxing. food up to the previous high standard, plenty of variety and you can start off with a glass of Cava even for breakfast! underground parking at 6 euros/night is very cheap for a hotel of this quality. the walk down to the beach from the pool area is nice but maybe a little steep for people with walking problems, at the bottom of the walkway is a nice restaurant and a beach bar serving a good variety of fish and other food. bedrooms spotlessly clean and comfortable beds that help you get a good nights sleep. one of the best hotels on the coast!

Room Tip: most rooms face either east or west, studios cost more and are the best to have
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iberia9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We managed to sneak a quick weekend in at this hotel during high season in August, having only stayed in the area before during the quieter months of October and May. It's not cheap in August but we are so glad we decided to stay there.

We were welcomed with a glass of cava and check in was straight forward. We heard the reception staff speaking excellent English and German. Our room looked out over the pool and to the sea, it was baking hot in the day but a great relaxing space in the evening. The interior design of the hotel is contemporary throughout and we had fun exploring the different facilities: gym, indoor pool, padel courts, poolside restaurant (we ate here both nights through laziness).

The main thing that struck us was just how friendly all the staff were - especially compared to those in other nearby hotels. It must be a Hipotel thing as we've commented on this when we've stayed in their Flamenco hotel. Everyone from the chambermaid to the receptionist, pool attendant to the barmen had a smile and nice word to offer everyone. One male receptionist was particularly charming with a great memory - he remembered our room number when we checked out three days later without even looking us up!

The hotel was very busy but we were not disturbed at all in the night and enjoyed the family atmosphere. The breakfast was great - huge selection of meats, cheeses, salad, cooked breakfast, cereal and juices. We didn't try the main restaurant for dinner but will next time (we've already booked to go again in October).

Location wise, the hotel is about five-ten minutes walk from the beach down a sloping path and ten minutes walk into town. Take a torch for the way back as it's not lit and I was a little apprehensive as we crept back in the dark!

Parking is extra, safe is extra (I think the latter should be included, especially at August rates) but all in all a fantastic hotel in one of our favourite spots to visit in Spain. Gutted I have to wait til October to get back there!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool with full sea view if you can stretch that far. Some of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EsteponaCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed here for a week at the end of a family touring holiday of Andalusia (2 adults, 2 teenagers). It suited us perfectly - lovely rooms (the most comfortable beds ever!), fantastic friendly staff, and great food - especially the breakfasts. The pool area is lovely and it is just a short walk down hill to a beautiful sandy beach - good for walks, surfing and body-boarding.

We have no complaints at all, other than it was very busy, particularly with German tourists, but it was nice not to be in a typical 'British package' hotel. Would definitely return, particularly off-season.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Having not been to Conil before we were a little unsure what to expect. However we need not have worried; the hotel lived up to the reviews. We found it to be very good in all aspects, and whilst there is not an a la carte restaurant we went into Conil every evening to try different restaurants, so it wasn't a problem. I agree that to ask for payment for the room safe is mean, but otherwise would recommend.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank neilgleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conil de la Frontera
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz
Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz
#2 of 26 in Conil de la Frontera
1,707 reviews
0.4 mi away
Conil Park Hotel
Conil Park Hotel
#8 of 26 in Conil de la Frontera
356 reviews
4.9 mi away
Royal Hideaway Sancti Petri, part of Barcelo Hotel Group
Royal Hideaway Sancti Petri, par...
#3 of 10 in Novo Sancti Petri
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Costa Conil
Hotel Costa Conil
#14 of 26 in Conil de la Frontera
135 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hipotels Flamenco Conil
Hipotels Flamenco Conil
#5 of 26 in Conil de la Frontera
235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pradillo Conil
Hotel Pradillo Conil
#3 of 26 in Conil de la Frontera
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipotels Gran Conil & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipotels Gran Conil & Spa

Address: C/ Pleamar, 2, 11140 Conil de la Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Conil de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Conil de la Frontera
#1 Luxury Hotel in Conil de la Frontera
#1 Romantic Hotel in Conil de la Frontera
#1 Family Hotel in Conil de la Frontera
Price Range: £58 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hipotels Gran Conil & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to HIPOTELS Gran Conil, a 4-star hotel with a spa ideal for families in Conil de la Frontera, Cádiz with special discounts for golfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hipotels Gran Conil & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hipotels Gran Conil & Spa Conil De La Frontera, Spain - Costa De La Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing