We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so..”
Review of Garbi Costa Luz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garbi Costa Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed at the Garbi Hotel on Saturday night (29th June) with my wife and three year old child; all inclusive package.

Important to emphasize that the hotel is not on the front line (beach); a 200m walk during low tide and at least a 400 walk during high tide. The beach is FANTASTIC though not part of the hotel..

Buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner was not great - variety was poor, quality not great and the queue(s) to get a table was ridiculous; 20 minute wait (at least).

Was unable to get a WI-FI signal in my room hence had to go to reception every 30 minutes to load up e-mails, etc. Not good!

Children's facilities are good - kids club, pool(s) including indoor and mini disco :-)

Staff were good but definitely under pressure with the number of occupants during our stay.

Stayed at number of hotels in Costa De La Luz; this one I will not be repeating.

Room Tip: Bring your own beach towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rakesh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

All facilities and rooms were great except the ridiculous wi-fi which just drops out unles you sit in reception. Room and bathroom very clean with small but nice balcony, good a/c and really everything you need.

Interesting that someone said breakfast was terrible, this was not the case for us, lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, toast, hard boiled eggs and fried breakfast available - the options were extensive and everything I ate (except the scrambled eggs) was good.

Pool area was excellent, clean and as everyone says lots of free sunbeds and shade if you need it. We purposefully went after the children went back to school however there were a couple of Spainish kids there who were not well behaved and allowed to run riot screaming which ruined it for quite a few of the guests including us.

All in all a good hotel, a little bit out of town but the views are great and the beaches at that end of Conil are fabulous.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeEmmGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Great hotel. Freindly staff ( except for the ones behind the bars ) food good. lovely pool, great position near the sea and access to an amazing beach
Wifi only works in certain areas but so what - you are on holiday

Room Tip: I would avoid a room facing the pool as it can be quite noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkyG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Just returned from a fortnight stay at the Garbi Costa Luz and it was fabulous. The room, pool, restaurant and public areas were spotless. The food was plentiful and very varied, giving you the chance to try out some authentic Spanish dishes. There was always plenty of free sunbeds around the pool, so we never experienced the scramble to reserve beds that you sometimes get. In fact for most of the day the pool was almost empty (and this was the last 2 weeks of August) , probably because the hotel is located a few minutes walk to one of the best beaches we've been on, with compact golden sand (the sort you can play ball on but also makes a mean sandcastle) and rolling waves. The hotel is quite a walk out of town so a car is a good idea and this will also give you the chance to get out and about - this region is beautiful, and Seville, Vejer, Arcos, Cadiz, Jerez and Tarifa were highlights.

Just one thing to note: if you prefer to be surrounded by other Brits, this may not be the hotel for you. We found about 80% of the guests were Spanish, 20% German and we were the only English people in the hotel....and that suited us fine!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nichola011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights to catch the last of the Costa De La Luz summer. Loved Conil and the beaches, as is the case everywhere on this breathtaking coast, were stunning.

The hotel really wasn't great. Breakfast was terrible, possibly one of the worst I've had in any hotel anywhere. There is also a terrible musty smell in the corridors. It's also a fair bit away from the centre of Conil so you will need to use taxis to get in and out of town if you don't have a car.

Enjoyed Conil, not so the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7ericcantona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

One of the most comfortable and relaxing hotel stays in one of our beach holidays. The hotel itself is situated above a cliff to the Atlantic. The serene pristine beaches close to the hotel, reachable in about 5mins of walk. Rooms, service, cleanliness and overall ambiance was excellent. Located slightly outskirts of the town of Conil, but easily reachable if you have your own car, or rented bicycles or even relatively cheap taxi rides. Being away from the town adds to its charm.

We were on half board, although food was excellent the dining room atmosphere was somewhat too lively for our taste (we were on a romantic/relaxing couple holiday). If you are in for happy discussions all around you and people bustling and enjoying food you would fit right in. Dinners are sometimes complimented by Live music performance/shows afterwards: a nice touch and opportunity for the couples, young and old alike, to dance to Spanish ballads.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shokks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

I reccomend Garbi Costa Luz because is the kind of hotel which someone never wants to leave. Not only for the good food and excel·lent service but also for the stunning location: from my room I only could see the sea! Moreover, the rooms are big, clean and modern. I'm looking forward to go back to the great village of Conil and be as lucky as the last year to get a room in Garbi's Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juli71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conil de la Frontera
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz
Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz
#2 of 26 in Conil de la Frontera
1,724 reviews
0.9 mi away
Conil Park Hotel
Conil Park Hotel
#8 of 26 in Conil de la Frontera
359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hipotels Gran Conil & Spa
Hipotels Gran Conil & Spa
#1 of 26 in Conil de la Frontera
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pradillo Conil
Hotel Pradillo Conil
#4 of 26 in Conil de la Frontera
268 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hipotels Barrosa Garden
Hipotels Barrosa Garden
#7 of 10 in Novo Sancti Petri
353 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Loto Conil
Hotel Apartamentos Loto Conil
#9 of 26 in Conil de la Frontera
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garbi Costa Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garbi Costa Luz

Address: Carretera Fuente del Gallo s/n, 11140 Conil de la Frontera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Conil de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Conil de la Frontera
#6 Luxury Hotel in Conil de la Frontera
Price Range: £57 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Garbi Costa Luz 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), Stayforlong S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Garbi Costa Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garbi Costa Luz Hotel Conil De La Frontera
Garbi Costa Luz Conil De La Frontera, Spain - Costa De La Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing