We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best ever food and the nicest people you will ever meet”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sitar

Sitar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$21
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
faro
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“best ever food and the nicest people you will ever meet”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

from walking into the small dinning room to tasting the wonderful food to chatting with the family you will not e disappointed. go and enjoy the best Sri Lanka can offer

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseasandFaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    15
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fab food!”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

A real change from tapas and hotel food. Food was great, freshly cooked and very tasty. Attentive service without being obtrusive. Find it next to Alfredos in San Pedro. Worth a trip out from Marbella, if you like Indian food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Winstoncat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A pleasant evening”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

A bit worried by last review and agree with some of it. My Chicken Vindaloo had no potato but my wife's Prawn Sag was very good indeed.

Portions are smallish but just right.

3 curries, 2 Nan, 1 rice, 3 beers and couple of Cokes came to 44 euros.

Tricky to find as they are on low side of road.

We will go back as great antidote to endless tapas, etc.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not authentic”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We visited Sitar last night and have slept a night so that I would not be hasty with my review. The meal was cheap - €59 for 4 curies, 2 naan breads, 1 rice, 1 onion bhaji and drinks. First came the free of charge poppadums with relish. This was fine. The service was fine as was the rice. The onion bhajis were about 3 cms in size and flat and round - never seen them like that before ! They tasted (just) ok. My main problem was with the curries.... i LOVE a tikka masala and have honestly never tasted one like this. The sauce was really sweet as if made with sweetened condensed milk. The chicken korma tasted like a pina colada ! very sweet with a pineapple taste to it ! The lamb rogan josh was ok. All the curry dishes had only 6 small square pieces of meat. The meal was inexpensive but if you're looking for a real, british type curry, this is unfortunately not the place,

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ck1cindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and lovely people”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I have been going to this restaurant for almost 13 years. Hazeem and his family are delightful and the food is outstanding and excellent value. I used to live in Mumbai and the food produced here is authentic and the best I have had on the Costa del Sol. It puts most of the Indian restaurants there and in the UK to shame. The breads they produce to complement the food are also superb. The décor is comfortable but not fancy and you can see the food being freshly prepared for all the meals. This is not pre-packaged or pre-prepared but fresh and tasty. Don't miss it if you are in San Pedro and like Indian food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cymru_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sitar also viewed

San Pedro de Alcantara, Costa del Sol
San Pedro de Alcantara, Costa del Sol
 
San Pedro de Alcantara, Costa del Sol
San Pedro de Alcantara, Costa del Sol
 
San Pedro de Alcantara, Costa del Sol
San Pedro de Alcantara, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Sitar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing