We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Globales Cortijo Blanco
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Cortijo Blanco

After reading recent reviews I was slightly concerned about returning to Cortijo Blanco. With some reservations I gave a very favourable review of it after visiting last year.

First impressions are that it is a very long way from Malaga unless you have a private transfer: Two hours with the many stops we had on a shared shuttle. That said, you do get to "see what you could have won" in some of the other resorts.

On arrival Scottish Joyce was behind the desk and as ever staff there are friendly and helpful. There is free wifi in reception and it is available for 25 euro a week in the room. We had asked for two rooms together and in the quieter tennis court area. We got exactly what we asked for (and on the top floor which means no scraping tables and chairs above) and with a balcony overlooking children's pool and tennis courts. Good size, very clean and with air conditioning. The rooms stay cool as long as you use the shutters.

The food is fine. I really do not understand what some people complain about. Its nothing special...you wouldn't choose it as an evening restaurant but if you look at how much you paid it is certainly adequate. The breakfast is excellent. You may not like the type of bacon or sausage but i think this is standard in Spain. You do have a choice of boiled, fried, scrambled eggs and spanish omelette too. No choice for children? - they don't generally have nuggets and meat cut in teddy bear shapes but there is chips with most meals and pasta too. I do accept that sometimes it is not hot by the time you get it to the table (due to the trays being out a while) but otherwise there is a good salad selection and always good soups: fish and gazpacho at lunchtime and vegetable in the evening on our first day. The hot mains had a couple of Spanish fish dishes - dogfish, hake and mussels, as well as spicy meatballs, chicken, pork, squid rings, breaded chicken and rabbit casserole. One plus which no-one has mentioned is that you can eat healthily here too thanks to some good salads. Something which wasn't on when we visited last time is the barbecue area - a large paella there on one day and a BBQ with sangria the next. The things I chose were fine. If you want pies, steak or "British" food - meat and two veg - you won't get it or if you do it won't be as nice as at home. Desserts are poor in a continental way. Good fresh fruit but then custards and jellies and creamy confections. Red and white wine, water and fruit juices are on tap. The waiters I found worked hard and cleared plates away very quickly with a smile. One tip is that if their is a queue in the main restaurant, there is hardly ever a queue at exactly the same selection in the snack bar. There is also a toastie maker in the snack bar area for those difficult-to-feed children.

The bar area is also very efficient. Free local spirits, sangria, machine-created over-sweet cocktails and beer. There is also a tea, coffee and hot chocolate making machine as well as tea bags including camomile and mint tea. The evening entertainment is a bit ropey sometimes, especially the Sunday night games evening but they are entertaining a mixed crowd. There are good numbers of Spanish, French and British as well as Belgians and Italians. If you relax into it you will be fine and the sight of 12 people of varying nations passing balloons between their knees is inoffensive. I will recommend the multilingual bingo as a very funny piece of entertainment - actually carefully crafted and delivered in the same way whichever of the crew is delivering. The main quiz evening is good fun, the Lionel Ritchie act is fine, flamenco is pretty good but the Russian dance evening was not for me. The second quiz was poor - consisting of questions about the group hotels and being little more than an advertisement.

Entertainment during the daytime tends to be of the darts and pool variety. Not complicated but something which adults and kids join in - certificates are handed out before the evening show. Cortijo Blanco is not one of those all-inclusive resorts where you are going to get entertainment everywhere, every day. Tennis and table tennis is available just by putting down a deposit for the equipment. There is also an organised football tournament which was dominated by competitive tikatak Spanish players when we were there. It is just good relaxing fun if you are in the right frame of mind.

If you want to leave the hotel there is a free bus to Puerto Banus and back. The market in San Pedro is on a Thursday and is a mile walk away through the back of the town. You can catch a bus into Marbella from the stop outside the hotel at reasonable prices. Coming back is a bit tricky as the stops are all a few hundred yards walk. I recommend the stop before the footbridge as it is flatter. The beach is 400 yards walk thought the quiet streets. It is quite gritty and nothing to write home about. Along the sea front are some exercise stations if you like an early morning jog or walk.

The main pool is generally very busy. The sun beds are packed in here and there is a further sun terrace above. The area by the children's pool at the back is quieter and you can normally get a subbed and some shade from and umbrella, trees or buildings there if you want it.

The downside is still the sweary British and Irish. This tends to be by the main pool or at the volleyball or table tennis. I'm sure the other nations do swear as well but I understand the English words and so do the children. It's not excessive and there can be noise when the party animals come home but closing the second door in the room at night makes a big difference.

The hotel is run very well in my opinion. In a morning there are plenty of people out scrubbing the paths, repainting areas that need it and doing the gardening. They carry on through the day but every morning the hotel looks clean and ready for a new day.

Cortijo Blanco is not a culinary, cultural or luxury destination but it is a relaxing, fun, clean, European destination that is incredibly good value. Even though we went at a slightly different time of year we saw some familiar faces from last year...if not Brian and Ponti...which does speak for itself. Choose carefully on the buffet by trying some local food, rather than loading up on everything, and you may even enjoy that too.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
8  Thank Justaukcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,127 - 1,133 of 2,451 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

we stayed here for our honeymoon in june for 10 days, this is the second time we have been to this hotel and i have to say we enjoyed it even more this time round, take it for what it is, a cheap hotel in a fab location, the food is average but you wont go hungry. we didnt really hang around the hotel during the day, we went out and about so cant really comment on the rumours of rowdiness around the big pool although when we were there we saw no evidence of this, there is a quieter pool across the car park which was much better. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, we had a room looking over to the stage so at night we sat on our balcony and watched the entertainment from up there. The bus stops right outside the hotel and come about every half hour, there is a bridge over the main road to catch the bus going the other way. All in all a fab hotel which is great to use as a base, i wouldnt hesitate to recommend it at all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Hi hope this will be helpfull info stayed for 8 days in July can.t fault the cleanliness of the hotel only problem is that if you decide to go all inclusive be prepared that it is after all a 3star hotel not 5 star it may be helpful to most people that you take the b&b as this was by far the best meal of the day bacon sausage fried bread beans toms eggs Boiled scrambled toast tea coffee juice .dinner and evening meals were not so good so said by me an others. There is a lovely restaurant next door called buddies brill food very cheap and a very good service from the staff me my partner and son went there for 3 nights .average spend for 3 adults per meal with strongbow .heineken .30euro free bus to porta banus in Marbella .car hire shops just as you get off the bus from 100 euro ford focus 2 days drove up to Rhonda .also Gibraltar.best beach with cafe would have to be in estipona
There are 3 pools from babies to adults if I ever went again b&b is the way to go . ola

toast

Room Tip: Around by the tennis courts away from the rd.s
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anthony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We had a really lovely holiday in July. Okay food was a bit hit and miss but you can always find something to eat. Room in new block was clean and spacious. All the staff were polite and very hardworking and Joyce on reception was very helpful. The location is excellent for exploring and near local bus stop. All in all, this hotel gives excellent value for money and don't believe the moaners! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Room by Tennis Court are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gilbernBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Just returned from a four night stay. I have to say that we were pleasantly surprised at the standard of the hotel and its surroundings for the peanuts we paid for it.
We went full board not all inc as just needed a base near to Puerto Banus.
The rooms are basic but clean. The maids do visit every day. Why oh why do people do people complained about this? Use the do not disturb sign you find in every hotel in the world and you won't get an early morning cleaning wake up! Simples.
The breakfast and evening meals were a bit basic but it didn't kill us and honestly what do you expect when you are paying £35 per night for dinner bed and breakfast in the most expensive resort in Europe ? That said the food policeman did catch us sneaking in for a crafty lunch. He wasn't impressed. My advice? Go to Pedro's beach bar instead in Banus and live the dream. Also unless you are stood at the door salivating as meal times start you won't find a massive que. The pool was lovely and mostly people were well behaved but again you ain't going to attract the Rod Stewart and the Princess Royal at the cheapest place are you? So expect a bit of banter and liveliness especially after everyone's refuelled on free booze. But again it wasn't the frat party I've read about (unfortunately)
The only problem we had was a bit of drunken door knocking from the people next door to us one night. I suspect if we had complained the reception would have moved us the they were all very helpful. Especially the Scottish lady.
Taxis to to the port ranged between €5.50-£8.50 depending on time of day and drip off point.
So to summarise: Great values as a BASE for the port. Food ok but nothing more. Rooms clean and chilled. Fellow guests mostly lively and like minded. Champagne lifestyle on Lambrini budget!

Stayed: July 2013
5  Thank ewhite101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This was our second visit to Cortijo Blanco. Our September holiday was great, no complaints at all so thought we would go this year taking my partners boy. However, this visit was a bit different. I think the hotel had maybe taken too many bookings than it could handle. Breakfast, lunch and dinner was a total nightmare. Queues were far too long! I am not even going to write a review of the food as it wouldn't even be classed as that over here. We were told by another couple that the chef had actually been off sick. No-one at the hotel cared to mention that though. As we were there with a child we mostly had to wait till the snack bar was open at 9.30 to feed him even then it was like eating frozen chips. Cleaners would show up some days really early then a few days we had a cleaner in at 5 in the day? Bar staff were a nightmare. As its a 2 per person drink they expected 2 of us to be up every time to get 3 drinks. Come on! We never even drank alcohol so it's not as if we were taking the p! Pools were chaos far too many people. Last but not least, on checking out we were thrown a key across the desk not told what it was for. Another guy waiting told us to put our bags in though and finally after checking out not once were we even asked if we enjoyed our stay. I was very disappointed after having a great time last year. My advice - go later in the year less people, better service.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Lovely hotel.Very clean.Staff very friendly.Its a bit like paradise until you visit the restaurant! The food is shocking! Really bad.Almost everyone complained while we were there, June 2013.The entertainment was also incredibly bad apart from one night.We had a tribute band on and they were great.,the rest was bingo and karaoke. yugh! The Thomson's rep "Lynn" was fabulous and is doing her best to get the hotel sorted.She has a lot of great ideas and will be implementing them very soon.The hotel is in a good place. Plenty of nice walks and a great beach.The bus stop outside takes you to almost anywhere.Would only go back if food improved.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms by tennis courts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShirleyTennant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro de Alcantara
0.1 mi away
Globales Pueblo Andaluz
Globales Pueblo Andaluz
#1 of 6 in San Pedro de Alcantara
622 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel NH San Pedro de Alcantara
Hotel NH San Pedro de Alcantara
#2 of 6 in San Pedro de Alcantara
604 reviews
2.6 mi away
Globales Playa Estepona
Globales Playa Estepona
#8 of 34 in Estepona
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#13 of 70 in Marbella
1,518 reviews
0.9 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
2,318 reviews
1.8 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Cortijo Blanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Cortijo Blanco

Address: Avda Jose Luis Carrillo Benitez s/n, 29760 San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > San Pedro de Alcantara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in San Pedro de Alcantara
Price Range: £49 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Globales Cortijo Blanco 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globales Cortijo Blanco is situated in San Pedro de Alcantara, Marbella, in the Costa del Sol, in a tourist area that still preserves traces of its colonial past. The area has many luxury residential areas, golf courses and magnificent beaches. Just 3km from the hotel is one of the most glamorous sport ports in the world, Puerto Banus. It was built in 1962 and over the years has undergone many renovations over the years the last of which was in 2014, however it still retains its pure Andalusian style with white walls decorated with forged iron, typical balconies, grassy areas shaded by trees - the perfect place for a relaxing and unforgettable holiday. Enjoy the cosmopolitan and fun ambience of the hotel, with the best value for money hotel offer in the Costa del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Globales Cortijo Blanco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortijo Blanco Hotel
Hotel Cortijo Blanco
Cortijo Blanco Marbella
Blanco Cortijo Hotel
Globales Cortijo Blanco San Pedro De Alcantara, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing