We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location but entertainment is a let down.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Globales Pueblo Andaluz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Arrival - We arrived at the hotel at approx mid-night an the man on reception was lovely and helpful. We were told we could get a drink from the bar and that they would prepare a plate of cold food for us in the restaurant. I thought this was a lovely touch and a great start to the holiday.
Rooms - The rooms are pretty basic but nice and clean. They were cleaned every day and we were provided with plenty of clean towels.
Hotel - The hotel grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Very pretty with all the baeutiful flowers and I love the layout which gives it the feel of a little spanish village.
Pool - Brilliant sized pool and the kids pool is also a good size. Again, it is very clean and well maintained.
Food - Couldn't fault the food at all. There was plenty of choice and something different every day. We travelled as a party of eight and we all enjoyed the food.
Entertainment - My only gripe for this hotel is the fact that it is very much orientated for the French guests. ALL the evening entertainment is in French so we ended up going elsewhere on an evening. It's a shame though as our children would loved to have joined in but because we are English we felt completed excluded. I also found many of the french holiday makers (not all but most) very rude and ill mannered. One of them even told our children to be quiet by saying 'Shushhhh, Shushhhh, Shushhh!!!' when they were playing on the childrens playground!!! I find this completely unacceptable especially given the fact that if he wanted peace and quiet he shouldn't lie right next to a playground!! All other hotels I have stayed in previously have managed to cater for all their guests regardless of what language they speak so I struggle to understand why this hotel can't do the same. Don't get me wrong, we still had a great holiday and the hotel on a whole is very good but the entertainment left us disappointed.
The location of the hotel is great and there are a few bars around the corner and a supermarket which is useful.
The area is lovely and only a short distance into Peurto Banus which is well worth a visit. The market is also very good.

I would definitely go back to San Pedro but would probably look at staying in a different hotel purely based on the entertainment. It's a shame because everything else about the hotel is brilliant. If they could find a way to cater for guests other than those which speak french then for me it would have been the full package.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

167 - 173 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Only got back for the third visit and again it was amazing, the staff although mainly frencn were good. if you are British or Spanish you have to ask for Marco who is very good. But if you like eating out San Pedro or Peurto Banus is only a short walk We hope Marco stays with this hotel as it was our third time and my wife and I cant thank him enough for taking us through the Thai Chei every day.
The food is very good but if you miss being served San Pedro or Peurto Banus are only 20 mins walk either side.(Both very interesting in different ways !!!)
Patki, Maria ang Gorg are very very good in the hotel bar and will look after you well.
We miss it already.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
4  Thank Gordon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were disappointed from arrival: they gave us a dirty room (mistake) and no welcome of any sort. They have two categories of how they treat guests: French (very well) or anyone else (not worth attention). Apart from one person, receptionist Jose Miguel, who is an educated, polite person, everyone else will ignore you unless you are French and have paid for their 3000 club. The French reps are so rude. The club is made up of 8 people who behave like clowns around the hotel, screaming and shouting in French only, including the dining area where people are having a quiet dinner. Night entertainment is all in very loud French till small hours. We booked through Thomas Cook but had nobody to contact. The hotel has a whole building for kids except kids are not allowed in if not French. There is one rude man called Marco who is meant to be a rep for ALL OTHERS (that is how they refer to us) except he has two days off in the week, and he lies around the pool incognito since nobody tells you that he exists, he picks who he wants to contact (busty young girls seem to fit the bill). I spoke to five other British groups on our last night and nobody knew that Marco worked there. Again spoke to four Spanish families that didn't know of him. Eventually we found out he has a schedule for the day on a board by the reception area but then he told me he only works with MEN not women or children! Clearly a lie so he spends the days drinking and the hotel is under the impression that the guests are not interested in doing the activities! The hotel must inform guests on arrival of what is on offer. We pay for his wages and I find a scandal that such a person is allowed to act in such an unprofessional manner. The hotel must review the attention that is deflected from other guests to the French and remember that is located in Spain and it is not a French exclusive hotel. This is not a cheap hotel; we paid 600 pounds for one week for our son and he wasn't even allowed to take part of a single activity because he is a child, according to Marco. For the first time in our lives we couldn't wait to go home. We travelled 2/3 times per year but had never seen such a strange and discriminatory set-up in a holiday hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9  Thank Eunice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very helpful and friendly staff at reception and dining room,
our room was a good size and had free air con which is a massive plus. We had room 203 which overlooked the pretty courtyard.
The pool was massive, very clean and could also get a sun bed anytime.
The food and dining room was very good with a wide range of dishes available, also FREE water which is another huge plus for this hotel.
The but be aware for this hotel is the fact that 95% of the the hotel guests are French and all the entertainment is for them. It wasn't an issue for us but it could be for some people.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank laughingboy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Visited this hotel with boyfriend, brother and his girlfriend in July for a week.
Very friendly staff in bar, reception and restaurant always warm and friendly, room were kept very clean, with plenty of fresh towels daily, if your room was empty to be cleaned they would always leave loo rolls and fresh towels but come back later and clean, bed were abit hard, but not noticeably bad. Food was lovely, good choice, themed nights were very good! The bar had a good choice and great staff to advise. Pool area is across a small road, very big nice area where a lot of the entertainment takes place. The entertainment is really all in French but then most of the other guests are French so is understandable. We didn't get involved with 'club 300' the entertainment team much until nearer then mid part of the holiday, the boys played football and water polo a lot and then the staff became more friendly and the language barrier wasn't too bad.
Walking to the beach takes around 15 minutes, however we only went the once, spent time in the day in Puerto banus which is lovely and about 25 minutes walk or a short taxi away!
Overall fantastic and would go back, no complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Y_xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

one of the best places I have stayed. Lovely food, not too big, clean and friendly staff. I liked the fact that the pool and entertainment was in a different part which meant you could go to sleep anytime. Baby pool was perfect for toddler. 10 minute walk (no hills) to the beach.
The area is a little quiet if you are looking for night life and shopping but only 10 minute from San Pedro.
Wifi is in the reception area only and not in the rooms
Other holiday makers are mainly french but fantastic and warm people. Very friendly towards kids.
Would defo go back

Room Tip: Everything was great but no real balcony to sit out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Diane381281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We actually stayed in this hotel late spring 2013, but we're going back this year because we couldn't pass it up!

PROS (+):
- we could not get enough of how beautiful the grounds of the hotel are. We often wandered around just looking at all the flowers and hanging trees. The whitewashed buildings and tiles make you instantaneously feel like you're on holiday!

- our room was always clean as a whistle with clean towels though we don't mind keeping the same for several days. We loved our teeny balconies over the "plaza central".

- without a doubt, we had the best shower we've ever had in a hotel. I wanted to take it home with us - very powerful, hot, great pressure.

- the staff were all civil or even friendly, except for the dining room staff who were LOVELY. The man who staffed the plancha (grill) for the meat and fish always explained a lot to us and was smiley. Maria in the bar was also nice, had good chat and introduced us to honey rum, which is *delicious*!

But who really stood out for us was Monica! Always a big smile, she was amazing. I have a food allergy and she checked with the chefs every meal if I had any questions - and the chefs themselves would come out to confirm things for me. She even picked up on something which wasn't safe for me to eat which I hadn't realised myself. When we left, we tipped the comedor staff and she gave me a hug. The loveliest lady. I hope the management know what a gem they have in her!

- we found the food great and we were happy to see them cater more towards a Mediterranean diet; we don't go on holiday to Spain to eat British/American food! Desserts did seem to go quickly, but this seemed down to fellow guests having eyes bigger than their stomachs and wasting food rather than miscalculations by the kitchen staff. The variety was amazing - take advantage, because when we went home and tried to buy bream ("dorado"), we realised just how expensive it is in the UK - 4 quid per filet!

- we never had a problem getting a sunbed, but a few more umbrellas would be helpful - although they are so large, I could see it being a problem fitting them in.

- the 2 drinks at a time on AI was not a problem for us at all, though we heard others complaining. The bar is about 20 steps away from the pool, for goodness' sake!

- on the whole, the other guests were very nice. Yes, they were mainly French, but it was more of a language barrier and focus on their families which kept them from being chattier. As an interracial couple, this was the first place where we have seen a large number of mixed-race families (mainly French) and it was the most comfortable we have ever felt on holiday in this regard, let alone in Spain. This was honestly wonderful for us.

CONS (-):
-the beds could be a bit more comfortable. We were in a 4-bed room, so we took the bedspreads off the other two and put them under our sheets. This definitely helped.

- the biggest con for us was just kind of bizarre. The first night that we arrived, we were exhausted after a long trip (a transfer which took over 2 hours!) and as we dragged our suitcases past the bar, we saw that the entertainment (Club 3000) that night was an "African" dance night...which meant that at least one of the male performers was *in black face*. We really were just gobsmacked, especially when we saw afterwards just how multi-cultural and multi-racial the clientele are. We hope that this practice will cease...

- proper, espresso-based coffees are excluded from AI, and you are only allowed to have those from the vending machine at the bar. Given that the average "solo" or "cortado" throughout Spain costs between 1E and 1.50E, this seemed a bit mean.

- it's not that the beach is *so* far away (10-15 min. walk), but the walk is incredibly dull, given that you're walking down a road lined by high-walled private residences.

- paying not only a deposit for towels to use at the pool, but an actual daily rental fee. If you have the baggage space, bring your own.

- if you are arriving late, write ahead (res.puebloandaluz@hihotels.net) and see if they will save you a plate of dinner/something to eat. We were told this could be done, but we didn't get to. We were also told you can get packed lunches if you are heading off on day trips, but we didn't get to try that either.

- there is a fairly good-sized supermarket nearby, if you walk past the Cortijo Blanco, up on the pavement along the motorway layby/access lane, where you can buy any supplies which you end up needing, like shampoo, sun cream. This is much less expensive than the small shops along the hotel's lane, although these are not excessively priced for being aimed at tourists.

- perhaps the bus station has been finished now, but there was a roundabout about 15-20 mins away which had a ticket kiosk and multiple stops. We used this to go on a day trip to Ronda - which is absolutely gorgeous and breath-taking - and it cost a fraction of arranging a tour.

- make the effort to learn and use some Spanish. It will be very much appreciated :-)

All in all, a really marvellous option, which you will not regret. As stated just below, if you want relaxation, chilled-out-ness and zero effort - go here! We will again, without a doubt!

Room Tip: Ask to be in a room not facing the road, so you can avoid noise from the pool, a nearby disco and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank LyssieHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro de Alcantara
0.1 mi away
Globales Cortijo Blanco
Globales Cortijo Blanco
#4 of 6 in San Pedro de Alcantara
2,487 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel NH San Pedro de Alcantara
Hotel NH San Pedro de Alcantara
#3 of 6 in San Pedro de Alcantara
659 reviews
1.7 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#18 of 69 in Marbella
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
2,410 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
0.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Pueblo Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Pueblo Andaluz

Address: Avenida Jose Luis Carrillo Benitez s/n, 29670 San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain (Formerly Hi! Pueblo Andaluz Hotel)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > San Pedro de Alcantara
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in San Pedro de Alcantara
Price Range: £48 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Globales Pueblo Andaluz 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surroundings where we can enjoy all the beauty of the south, nearby Seville, Granada, Cordoba and Marbella make this the perfect destination to share sensations with friends and family. Located between San Pedro de Alcantara and Marbella, just 24 km from Estepona, and 45 km from Ronda and just 3 km from the famous Puerto Banus. Refurbished in 2008. 211 rooms with air-conditioning (on request), safe rental, bath, shower, toilet. 1 adults pool, 1 children’s pool, pool bar, buffet restaurant, snack bar, Themed Dinner three times a week, Flamenco Show, a magnificent offer for both children and adults. Great additional local amenities and wonderful for golf lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Globales Pueblo Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Andaluz Hotel San Pedro De Alcantara
Globales Pueblo Andaluz San Pedro De Alcantara, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing