We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Montana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Montana
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Basic facilities, has everything you need. Includes a decent breakfast. Given the price. I would stay here again. Apparently they have a pool, but I didn't see one.

Only bad thing is that it is a bit further from the beach than others.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asdf201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    38
    27
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
59
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

I booked to stay here as was looking for a cheap place to stay as a solo traveller.
Good location near to San An bus station and a 10min walk to the West End.
Stayed in a single room which was clean and came with a fridge and a fan.
Due to it being very hot the fan wasn't enough to keep the room cool enough which I though would be the case.
Other than that a pleasant stay, nice cheap bar and the sister hotel has a nice pool available to use.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank evolution86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed in Montaña during our first trip together to IBZ in 2010 and we loved it. So we decided to return.

For all of you who are looking to stay in Ibiza under a budget, but like good service, look no further. Both Montaña and Marino are family owned, and located just two blocks from each other! If you stay in Montaña you have access to the Marino swimming pool.

Rooms are clean and spacious. Which is all you really need as a base. Our room had a balcony, a minibar and a fan, and two beds. The minibar is great to store a few bottles of water and some food. Please keep in mind that is a "minibar" and not a fridge. And although is not big in size, it serves the purpose more than well. We don't like AC and slept more than comfortably with the fan on and window open. In fact, we got cold a few nights. Then again, we live in a place with warm weather, so your experience may differ. Our room rate included a small breakfast in the bar, which consisted of coffee, juice, a small piece of bread with butter, a slice of ham and cheese and a pastry.
What we really love about this hostal is the location, which is perfect if you want to enjoy Ibiza (Or Sant Antoni) but being able to sleep comfortably as well. Carrer de Roma (where the hostal is situated) is a backstreet in Sant Antoni, therefore you do not get any of the noise and screams that you may find in the harbor or central area. In fact, you will be staying in the middle of a quiet neighborhood. To us, that was perfect. We were able to party when we wanted to and then get some much needed sleep. In addition, you have a supermarket 3 blocks away and other little shops (including a bakery, a general store, a library full of different newspapers and more) So we were able to buy all of our supplies right there at a great price. Another bonus, you are just 8 minutes away from the bus stop. And if you rent a car (we did this time) you have plenty of parking around the area.

Besides the location, another thing that keeps us coming back is the service. Mari at the front desk is just FANTASTIC and provides truly 5 star service (I have worked in hospitality many years, including the first 5 diamond resort in the Caribbean, so I know what I am talking about) As soon as we walked in she remembered us, although she saw us two years ago! That was just amazing and made us feel *at home*. They also placed us in the same room we had in our previous visit! In addition, she provides great recommendations for restaurant, beaches and everything in between.

Her mom, one of the owners, works in the morning with the housekeeping service. And trust me, if the owner cleans your room, you can be certain that it will be thoroughly cleaned!

All in all, considering the great value, location and excellent service, we know we will be returning every time we visit our beloved Ibiza. We absolutely recommend it to those traveling in a budget but looking for a nice stay.

Room Tip: Book online since during season they tend to be pretty full. Also, books in the back of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NDita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We stayed in a nice room with air conditioning, tv, mini bar, all the we needed. The price was great and location was perfect. Would stay there again for sure!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naramb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

we stayed here for 2 nights, we booked the better room with aircon and the HUGE terrace that had 2 sunloungers plus a table with 2 chairs, the terrace was a bit bigger than the bedroom, The aircon is definately needed when it was 37 degrees outside,
We paid 70 euros for 2 nights, it was extremely clean and tidy, towels changed everyday if needed, room cleaned and bed made everyday,
Continental breakfast is included in the price, which consits of a plate brought out to you, with a bread roll on it, with a cheese slice,plus a meat slice,and either a crossaint or a pastry, you also gets a glass of fruit juice, and a cup of tea or coffee, if you want more tea or coffee you have to pay for it, but at just over 1 euro its no big deal.

All the staff were friendly from reception to cleaners, all in all a lovely experience, we will definately go back

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

I was a little disappointed on arrival to find that this Hostal didn't have a pool as i expected. The Hostal Montanamarino website shows the same photos for both residences and so they appear to be the same. HOWEVER, this didn't really matter because the Hostal Montana is just paces around the corner from it's sister Hostal Marino and shares it's facilities with the residents of both. In fact it was nice to go back to the quieter of the two to shower, change and get ready to go out again or just go to bed.
We had a lovely stay and the owners are very friendly, kind and helpful. I would go there again but i suggest you read the ad carefully to avoid disappointment and note there was also no air con as i thought it said there would be, just a fan, in our room.
The location is a short walk to the shops/stalls, beaches and main bus station so everything is at hand.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caseysewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal, ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

my husband and i stayed there for 4 nights in august 2011. to be honnest, i was very worried being that we had never stayed in a hostel before (never less than a 3 star hotel), but ibiza is such an expensive island, that we had no choice but to try a hostel.

i had reserved a room with AC and that was a must being that it was 40 degrees every day.

location: in a quiet street in San antoni. near all the craziness but far enough to be able to sleep and not hear the noise from outside. 10 minute walk to the san antoni bus station, with is a big advantage to visit the rest of the island. Good for someone that want to stay in San antoni (if i had to do it again, i would stay in ibiza town...to many young and loud germans there)

rooms: room was ok. i guess we had the best room in the place as i saw other rooms and they were tiny. room was clean, but very old looking. the worst part was the bathroom as the shower curtain looked old and stained as well as the towels (i used my own that i had brought). the room size was pretty good and we had more than enough room for all of our things.
Beds were not very comfortable but ok to sleep on.

staff: that was the best thing of the place. the staff was amazing...always there to help and the answer all of your questions with a smile.

all together, and for the price we paid it was a good place in san antoni.

Room Tip: ask room with AC and on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rheanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sant Antoni de Portmany hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Puchet
Hotel Puchet
#6 of 105 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Mari
Hostal Mari
#24 of 105 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gran Sol
Hotel Gran Sol
#1 of 105 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Poniente Playa
Apartamentos Poniente Playa
#37 of 105 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Purple  By Ibiza Feeling
The Purple By Ibiza Feeling
#1 of 47 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Residencia Adelino
Hostal Residencia Adelino
#2 of 23 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Montana

Property: Hostal Montana
Address: Calle Roma 8, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Montana 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This friendly, family-run hotel is located in a quiet area of San Antonio, allowing you enjoy the fantastic beaches and world-famous nightlife of this charming Ibiza resort. Spend your day on the nearby sandy beach or around the Montaña’s own outdoor swimming pool, just 150 metres away. Here you can lay back in the Mediterranean sunshine on a comfortable sun lounger. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Montana Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing