We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely owner and staff but,,,”
Review of Hostal Marino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Marino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Had a nice small room with a great bath but unfortunately the previous occupant had been a smoker! Can't stand that. The owner offered another room but we stayed. In the evening we found that the AC was not working well so we left the patio door open on a lovely night. Unfortunately between the street noise (typical of small town Spain) and the music from the hotel bar...not much sleep.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

I kid you not when I say that this hostel is one of the top three of my experiences when it comes to the 50+ countries that I have travelled. Like many have said, the staff is stupendously courteous and very attentive to guest's needs and request. When I first arrived I had my doubts but within 30 mins, any apprehensions I had were quickly dispatched. Let's start with the owner, Miki. A true spirit in all his business dealings with guests and the constant profession. For those of us from USA, you know the saying that goes "the customer comes first", well he truly lives by this creed. I found myself constantly (and in a very good way) being reminded that I was truly the "king" of this place. I went places with Miki and had a few drinks with him (okay, so we had a lot of drinks). Constant laughs, small talk and yes, deep conversations--you really feel like home at Hostal Marino.

The rooms are very well maintained and modern for the price paid. Amenities are plenty are good too--with the only negative being the choppy internet connections. But I am guessing not everyone is doing as much business as I was doing while I stayed here. The food at the restaurant is perfectly priced and I always made sure I ate before I ventured outside the hostel--one will feel violated when you compare prices with other establishments. I recommended to Miki to have a dancehall type establishment in the nearest future because if that was present, very few visitors would feel the need to venture outside the premises. Truly more of a hotel that the advertised hostel. Do come! I certainly are coming back within the year.

Miki and staff, you guys are the best. Thank you for making my 5 day stay a splendid one. Keep up the great spirit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fungagap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is an excellent base within San Antonio. Close enough to the bars of the West End but far enough away to be peaceful. Pool area lovely (although we had rain for two of our five days here) with plenty of room to chill out. Room not that big but suited our needs - lovely balcony which caught the sun (when it shone!) from early morning to late evening. Ate at the restaurant twice - 3 course menu with a drink for 10 euros probably the best value we found in the area. Miki and his staff are so welcoming - complimentary drinks and tapas on arrival. We organised our transfers through Miki which worked out cheaper than any other I could find - 50 euros for return trip for up to 4 people. Great all round service. I would recommend so long as you are not expecting luxury but want value for money.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor overlooking the pool. Not sure if all rooms have balconies so if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMB71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I stayed there for 4 nights, the bedroom is nice, big bed, good TV (not that you are gonna watch it that much) but if you are a single traveler I would not recommend this place. There is a bar but there is no gathering of people to talk, the Internet is terrible, I could not connect to it on most of the times, and the atmosphere is cold.
So if you are not alone and are looking for a quiet place to sleep you may consider this place, but if you want more action I would suggest finding some other place.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank odairtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This hostal is a cracking find, clean, comfy and friendly management. Very close to the strip but far enough away for peace. Lovely wee pool only critisism is the uncomfortale poolloungers which need a matress of some sort. Great cafe for food, snacks and drinks. I would recommend and also return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lzanxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I travelled solo during my time in Ibiza and I enjoyed my stay at Hostal Marino, right from the beginning till the end. The staff were absolutely commendable for their top-notch service and wonderful attitude. I arrived at 10pm and was greeted with a welcome drink, mingled around with a few locals and the bartender for that night. Overall, the bartender delivered an excellent service, he was very friendly and warm and we had a lot of drinks on the house :)

On the next day, I met Miki - the owner of this place. He's a really friendly person and what I liked about him is that he trusts his customers a lot. I don't know if it is a culture here but no staff ever asked for me to pay up, I always had to remember.

As for the room, it was clean and comfortable. I had a balcony with a pool view. Facilities wise - it was more than adequate. They have a pool, a fitness centre and also a bar & restaurant as I have mentioned. The location is great as well, 5 minutes walk to the nearest beach, and a little further more to reach the town with everything you probably need.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dwongg89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Incredible staff very helpfull generous friendly faboulous food nothing hip nothing pretentious just plain goodness very home feel and the locationis the best on the island close to all the amazing coves

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Eric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Antoni de Portmany
1.1 mi away
Hotel Puchet
Hotel Puchet
#9 of 96 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Mari
Hostal Mari
#20 of 96 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
323 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hostal Talamanca
Hostal Talamanca
#10 of 10 in Talamanca
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Parot Quality Apartments
Parot Quality Apartments
#35 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Poniente Playa
Apartamentos Poniente Playa
#42 of 96 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
348 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Playasol Maritimo
Hotel Playasol Maritimo
#26 of 51 in Ibiza Town
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Marino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Marino

Address: Del Mar 34, 7820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range: £41 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Marino 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hostal Marino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Marino Hotel Sant Antoni De Portmany
Hostal Marino Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing