We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem in Ibiza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset Point Resort, Sportsbar & Apartmentos
Barkingside, essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Ibiza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Had an excellent 5 night stay at Sunset Point with a group of 12 other guys on a stag. Alan & Marie treated us as members of the family.... Great value for money and would most def come back again this time with my wife & baby. Mo Parmar

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mohinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Just arrived back from the Sun Set Point Resort this morning and had to write this review straight away! There were 12 of us girls going for my Hen do! Like every one else has said the owners Alan & Maria were so accommodating and made us feel at home straight away! It is a small hotel with only 10 rooms so we did take up the majority of the place but it had such a homely feel we were actually the only ones by the pool 2 of the days it felt like we had a private vill - Maria offered to make all 12 of us omelettes when we first arrived at 1.00am, they arranged taxis for us each night we went out and to take us to the airport, my friend even left her passport at the hotel and they drove back out to the airport to give it to her, on our last night they bought us our four bottles of champagne and arranged some entertainment! They even offered me 2 free nights to come back with my husband when we are married. I just can't rate this hotel enough! They value each customer and there priority is to make sure you are ok. asking if we want the music turned, up or down if we need any water etc they just can't do enough to help you.

The hotel is slightly out of the way but it wasn't a problem at all for us. In fact it was perfectly situated just far enough to not be in the centre of the night life but close enough to get there and back freely. There was a lovely English pub next door were we went for dinner/lunch twice and then the main shops are just down the hill, it is about 6 euro is a taxi to main San Antonio or a boat leaves from the harbour every half an hour for 2.50 euro each.

The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. Free air con and safe's available at a price but to be honest it felt like such a safe and secure hotel it is the only time I have stayed some where and not got a safe. It has the feel of staying in some one else's home with out feeling you are out staying your welcome, the opposite in fact they didn't want us to go! The owners made this place and they play a very Motherly Father role, you won't be able to help but respect them and we cleaned out our rooms so they were spotless before we left and made sure we were quite when we came in.

Over all I have never said I would go back to the same hotel price but this time I will (not just because of the 2 free nights I was offered) but because I absolutely loved and feel like we made friends with Alan and Maria.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Sunset Point is a hidden gem and a haven of tranquility in San Antonio Bay. Staying here feels like being a house guest - everything you need you're helped with, but you never feel intruded on. The location is great - just off the main Av. de San Agustin running through Cala de Bou. The views are lovely. I always hire a car in Ibiza as I travel around the island a lot, but you could easily manage here without one as per other reviews. There's easy and convenient car parking opposite the hotel.

Arrived at an antisocial hour of the morning and Alain was still up (with Golfo !) to welcome me and see me safely into my Apartment. 'Check-in' formalities deferred 'till later that morning - very civilized !

The pools and chill-out areas are lovely and there's wifi too. Really good value - had a comfortable, clean air-conditioned Apartment which could have accommodated 4 with useful fridge, kitchenette (if I'd needed it) and balcony.

I'd booked 2 nights including my night of arrival as I had some business on the island, but as business turned to pleasure was delighted to be able to stay on a couple more days. Ibiza being Ibiza, I was out partying 'till daylight every night and was always happy to come back (quietly !) to this peaceful haven of tranquility for some rest before heading out to take full advantage of the beautiful countryside and coasts from noon every day. Loads of exploring, hiking and a little bit of wakeboarding notwithstanding all the nightlife !

Just wish I could have stayed a week and had more time to spend enjoying the beautiful setting of Sunset Point.

Alain and Maru make this place really special - there's no other place I know of like it on the island. A hybrid of house guest, Apartment and hotel - you really get a lovely balance of bits of all those worlds. There's a feeling of the 'old Ibiza' here, one of freedom, tolerance and mutual respect that's sometimes sadly crushed under the sheer expansion of mass tourism in some parts of the island. Identifiable in an instant to those who remember Ibiza as it was years ago, it's a welcome breath of fresh air to find it still alive and well here.

I was very grateful to Alain for letting my keep my stuff in the Apartment beyond check-out time before my original departure was scheduled, and then trusting me to settle my account after departure when I stayed out partying all my final night and had to head straight to the airport on Sunday before anyone was up ! He also kindly printed out my tickets for me after my plans changed.

Alain also waived the cancellation fees for myself and a colleague when a subsequent trip had to be unavoidably cancelled at the last minute for business reasons, which he didn't have to do, and we were very grateful for that.

There's a proper 'grown-up' attitude here and it's telling that you don't see reports of badly behaved guests at Sunset Point. The way it is and the way it's run, I hope it stays as it seems - that no-one could bring themselves to be anything but respectful of a very special place.

Would love to go back here out of season for a few days to concentrate on some watersports.. when other Ibizan temptations are not so numerous !

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

We've been to Ibiza a few times before - but this is the real thing guys. Sunset point is a cool, quirky place set up on the hill with the most amazing sunset views- watched over by the beautiful poolside Buddha - and of course 'Golfo' the dog. Alain and Maru and team are lovely welcoming people who really made us feel at home during our stay. The apartments are spacious, comfortable and have great air-conditioning which is a must in July. High speed wi fi all around is also a massive bonus, particularly for our teenager who wanted to download all the top sounds he'd heard in Ibiza. Sunset is nicely off the beaten track, away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Cala d' Bou and San Antonio, but a boat ride away when you feel like it. Great and varied sounds to chill out to at the pool all day and into the evening with new friends. Entertainment too, but if you want to veg out with a book in the shade or surf the net, the super comfy chill out tent is the thing. We hired a car which is nice if you want to get around easily, but is not totally necessary. We will definitely go back and hope to try an off season trip too, to do some biking in the lovely surrounding countryside. Great for sporty surfing cycling or running folks, but if you just want a relaxing break in a lovely place Sunset Point is also the place for you.....thanks guys and hope to see you again soon from Jeannie, Andy and Rory, Edinburgh, Scotland xxx

Room Tip: All rooms have a sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puppetize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

I went here on a stag trip with 12 other guys.

After the initial worry of it being a bit out of town, that went away when we found how easy it was to get cabs from the end of the road, or just ask the owners to order them up. Once in the cab, it is a few minutes and 6 euros to get into the centre of San Antonio.

The rooms were nice n clean, but the main thing that struck me was just how caring the owners were for our whole group. 12 guys, all ravers - things got messy and weird, but they were there to take care of us with chilled music, cold drinks, ice cream, smokes, whatever we needed they were there to help. Even giving us free Paella when they could see we were in pain from the night before!

The location is really chilled with a lovely pool and a nice chilling area. I would have no hesitation in going back again, and likely will do for my own stag event if that eventually happens.

One thing - as we left really early in the morning the owners forgot to wake up and give us back our deposit for the AC remote and the safety deposit key so I have had to chase that up after leaving.

Apart from that, this place is really really cool and chilled, just what you need to recover your brain after a few days raving!

Highly reccomended!

Room Tip: The rooms I saw were all fairly similar and has a nice view of town and the sea in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christocar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

The time we spent here was fantastic, close enough to the night life and beaches but far enough away to relax. The owners are very welcoming and friendly and go that extra length to help you. The rooms the swimming pool and lounge are all kept clean and tidy. Its a very warm welcoming and cool place to stay . i would definatly be going back in the years to come !! laura x

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southernfairy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

This was a last minute holiday ,very good value but as we haven't been to Ibiza before we didn't know what to expect.Well,we had a very nice surprise,the hotel is situated in a quiet location ,you can admire San Antonio bay from your balcony without the noise!!!!The rooms were very clean ,the bed was very comfortable ,so comfortable that my husband is looking for a similar mattress now!
As we have stayed there during the Easter holidays it was very quiet.
Alain and Maru ,the owners,are extremely helpful and kind,our son was very happy to meet their dog ,Golfo-very big but very friendly-and he also enjoyed playing pool table ,trying the two trampolines ,the swimming pool and the basketball court.
The only thing that we haven't done is rent a car which would have been very useful as it is easier to go to all the nice beaches.
All in all it was a brilliant holiday ,the price was incredible and we would definitely return there anytime!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex01Wigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sant Antoni de Portmany hotels
0.1 mi away
Florencio Hostal
Florencio Hostal
#38 of 105 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Marino
Hostal Marino
#33 of 105 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marian Apartments
Marian Apartments
#53 of 105 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Orvay
Orvay
#40 of 105 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunset Oasis Ibiza
Sunset Oasis Ibiza
#2 of 47 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hostal Nicolau
#15 of 23 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Point Resort, Sportsbar & Apartmentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Point Resort, Sportsbar & Apartmentos

Property: Sunset Point Resort, Sportsbar & Apartmentos
Address: C/ Cantabria 48 | Cala de Bou, 07829 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sunset Point Resort, Sportsbar & Apartmentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Point Resort, Sportsbar & Apartmentos Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing