We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place”
Review of Hostal Balearic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Balearic
milano
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Place”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

This place is located in the center of San Antonio close to many bars such as Cafe del Mar.
The staff is really kind and friendly.
The rooms are essential but very clean.
The only negative point for me could be the parking as it's in the city center and could be difficult to find a parking spot near to the hostal specially in high season.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank francesco3dv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    65
    24
    13
    10
See reviews for
9
84
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I feel I should start by saying that I'm by no means the type of person who demands luxury, but I do expect a comfortable night's sleep in reasonably pleasant surroundings, and I certainly did not get that at Hostal Balearic.

The first thing I have to take issue with is the way I was charged a 50-euro 'deposit' before I could even get my room key. I asked just what this was for, but the receptionist spoke no English at all and could only keep repeating the word 'key'. I told him I'd never had to pay a deposit to a hotel in my life, but it got me nowhere. I also told him that booking.com, which had arranged to booking and taken my payment, had never mentioned a deposit either. Finally I had to pay up, just to get to my room.

The mattress was so thin that if I tried sleeping on my side, I could just about feel my bones touching the baseboard. The sheets and blankets were too small to tuck in, so they all wrapped round me whenever I turned over. The shower leaked, so that every time I had a shower, both the bathroom and bedroom floors were soaked. There were no drawers and no wardrobe for my clothes and other belongings, just a couple of shelves.

During my four-night stay, the room was never cleaned and neither towels nor bedding were changed.

But the worst thing was the noise. The whole building seemed to act like an echo chamber, so that if people made a noise on ANY floor, it reverberated everywhere.

The only good thing I can say about the place is that my room was clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thebudgetflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iker R, Gerente at Hostal Balearic, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Google Translation
Estimado cliente,
En Hostal Balearic respetamos mucho la opinión de nuestros clientes, entre otros motivos porque nos ayuda a mejorar cada día, pero tras leer su comentario nos vemos en la obligación de contestarle, puesto que hace afirmaciones que no son verdad.
Usted hizo una reserva de una habitación económica para cuatro noches con Booking.com, lo que quiere decir que durante su estancia en el hotel, no le correspondía ninguna limpieza de la habitación ni cambio de toallas, si hubiese elegido una habitación standard le hubiésemos limpiado la habitación y cambiado las toallas cada dos días, pero usted hubiese pagado 4€ más al día. Está explicado en las condiciones de la reserva que usted hizo, al igual que el tema del depósito, que es algo que todos nuestros clientes hacen, lo entregan a su llegada al hostal y se reembolsa a la salida. El motivo de pedir un depósito es la gran cantidad de veces que nos han perdido las llaves de las habitaciones, de esta manera ya casi no ocurre. Usted también dice que su reserva estaba pagada a través de Booking.com, lo cual tampoco es cierto, ya que Booking nunca cobra a sus clientes, lo hace el hostal en el momento del check-in.
De todas formas, usted se hubiese enterado de todo esto si hubiese pasado a la mañana siguiente de su llegada por recepción, como le indico nuestro portero nocturno. En el check-in nos gusta explicar la reserva que ha seleccionado el cliente, las normas del hostal y dar un mapa con unas indicaciones, lo cual por la noche no hacemos para tener un detalle con el cliente y permitirle ir a su habitación lo antes posible.
Respecto a lo que dice de las sabanas y las mantas, tengo que decirle que son las adecuadas para una cama individual y cumplen las medidas standard, es la primera queja que recibimos al respecto. Le hubiésemos agradecido que nos hubiese explicado sus problemas durante su estancia en el hostal, habríamos intentado poner todo nuestro empeño en satisfacer sus peticiones o necesidades.
Por último, decir que todas nuestras habitaciones tienen colchones de muelles nuevos comprados el año pasado, un armario y tres baldas.
Saludos cordiales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Now on our 17th day of 23 days. Hostel Balearic is a good choice, centrally located. Very clean & tidy, towels changed & rooms cleaned every 2 days. Private bathroom with excellent shower. Spacious room with balcony. Communal lounge / diner, with crockery etc available & use of microwave. Lovely relaxing outside area. Use of wifi. Great/helpful staff. All in all, a brilliant holiday so far.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigpete41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Nice rooms even for 2 persons is 3 or 2 beds inside. Also private bathroom, towels include. But there is no lift, and after a huge party it's not nice to go upstairs in early morning. Good to stay in for a bit and 20-30 min driving by car to old town.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank An4ela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinha Grande, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The staff was very helpfull. As we arrive Elena gave us helpfull informations about the island, places visit, the best beaches to stay, and restaurants and bars to go. The rooms are very simple, and very clean. Free wifi, that can be used in the louge area. The rooms do not have air conditioning, which is not important this time of year (May)but in summer I think it would be an asset.
The breakfast is took in the bar next door, a small selection of food, but for the price we can not demand more. The price is incredible cheap in the low seasson, very good price/quality relation.
The ubication of the hostel is very good, in the center of the town of Sant Antoni, 5 min walk from the port. There is a supermarket just across the street, wich is very usefull.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Telmo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sant Antoni de Portmany hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostal Mari
Hostal Mari
#24 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
268 reviews
1.2 mi away
Apartments Blue Star
Apartments Blue Star
#48 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Florencio Hostal
Florencio Hostal
#42 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residencia Horizonte
Residencia Horizonte
#66 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
48 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Red Hotel by Ibiza Feeling
The Red Hotel by Ibiza Feeling
#41 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartahotel Central City
Apartahotel Central City
#47 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Balearic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Balearic

Property: Hostal Balearic
Address: Calle Soledat 37g, 07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Antoni de Portmany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Sant Antoni de Portmany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Balearic 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Balearic is the perfect starting point to enjoy everything Ibiza has to offer. A stylish, quiet, and comfortable place to sleep, the hotel is located 300 meters from Cala des Moro Beach and within a short walking distance to the entertainment district, world famous sunset bars Cafe Del Mar and Cafe Mambo, and outdoor adventures activities such as parasailing, diving, kayaking, snorkeling, hiking, and biking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal Balearic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Balearic Ibiza, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing